Orchid Orthopedics Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where very STRICT rules apply and the boss only cares about themselves.
CNC Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, OROctober 8, 2015
Its pretty much like High school at this place. All the drama, and trouble some of the coworkers throw on you.. The management/bosses only care for themselves and want the workers to work work work! They are BOSSES not leaders and they'll keep pushing you asking 'why aren't MY machines running?!' all the time.. No fun is allowed at this place. This place is unorganized and they hire useless people. Most machinist leave before 2 years after they been used up at this place.
Pros
Once a year events
Cons
Benefits, management, strict policies, grumpy old mans, no fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to end your career.
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Holt MichiganAugust 18, 2015
Overall the Orchid team is filled with great workers and even better Team Leaders. The upper managment team is whats holding this company back. They are continuously making bad business decisions that endup costing employees there jobs.
Pros
Great Health Benefits
Cons
No job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Control
Group Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Arab, ALJune 16, 2016
They will work you to death here. Long long hours and almost every Saturday. Every stressful most of the time. But everybody likes to help anyone needing it. Training is not usually helpful because they give you very little training.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting work place
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chelsea, MIOctober 17, 2013
Number and ballooning of all engineering prints.
·Job router specification set up and entry.
·Job Costing.
·Print dimension conversions.
·Calculating of engineering labor hours/cost.

Job Costing was a new experience for me, as we as the orthopedic world. It was very interesting, and exciting to learn the product. I was also able to watch how some of these products were made.

Most management, I felt, was great to work with. Very realistic. Very much team players like anyone else.

The hardest part of the job was getting the engineers to give me the assignments they needed to give me and explain what they needed to explain. It was too easy for them to trust only themselves and easier for them to think it as easier to "just do it theselves" then train someone, yet they said the needed help.

I enjoyed the challenge of the work.
Pros
a lot of challenges to learn. a good company. interesting product and procedures.
Cons
hard to get hand offs and hard to get training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive stress free workplace
Deburring/Polishing (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Working here was a good experience managers and bosses were great and respectful. They never pressured any employees as long as your completed your duties you were pretty much left alone. I would say that was the most enjoyable part being able to work in a healthy stress free work place. Its a shame they closed down this facility because from what I hear the other facilities are not as friendly
Pros
healthcare, free coffee, vacation pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing environment
Foundry Operator (Former Employee) –  Oregon City, OROctober 22, 2014
poured metal into molds
middle management difficult to work for
graveyard shift was tough to work without a chance to move to a different shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Mess
Private (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIApril 6, 2015
Every person has at least 4 jobs, this keeps profit margins high and employees miserable. High school clique environment is endorsed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something different every day
Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIJanuary 18, 2014
Work with production to remove orders from hold.
Update and design new fixtures, work instructions, molds.
Work with quality to inspect implants.
Modify fixtures and taping method to speed up production time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
IT Intern (Current Employee) –  Holt, MISeptember 2, 2014
I loved every minute of working in the IT department. I wouldn't trade my experiences or knowledge that I learned for anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0

Orchid Orthopedics Reviews by Location