Oregon Department of Corrections Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Position
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 25, 2017
They pluck you from the lower ranks and throw you into a management position and then its all about sink or swim. No training until you make a mistake.
Pros
Good Salary and Medical Benifits
Cons
Toxic Hostile Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A short lived Career
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORNovember 23, 2016
I got this position in January of 2015. On my first day my father passed away and between the rigorous training and the difficulty of dealing with that loss led to me having to resign so that I could focus on getting my family taken care of. The higher level staff were amazing throughout the whole process and I would go back to them in a heartbeat if I were still looking to do that kind of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance is not a priority
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Wilsonville, ORSeptember 7, 2016
Can be a negative work environment
Seniority has a big impact on this facility
Good pay and EXCELLENT benefits package
Good career if you are sick of the typical 9-5
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Control Center Officer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 10, 2016
Good company to work for just need to be ready to drastically change your lifestyle as it will affect you and your home life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good department to work for
Correctional Lieutenant (Former Employee) –  Ontario, OregonOctober 4, 2015
I learned a tremendous amount about managing staff and being and leader within my law enforcement career. I am forever grateful for the skills and knowledge I acquired from the Oregon Department of Corrections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical State Agency
Executive Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORJuly 24, 2015
No advancement opportunities. Like to double fill at every level and do not have the right people in the right places to continue their work out at all the facilities. Very top down.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with no staff accountability
Clinic Pharmacy Nurse (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 24, 2015
I worked with the department for almost 9 years as a nurse. Poor management practices since nurses are promoted into management positions without adequate training for managing employees. No accountability for healthcare employees that violate protocols or procedures which erodes overall morale.

No employee motivation to perform well.
Pros
Safe surroundings
Cons
Inadequate management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Office Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORMarch 27, 2015
My Typical day at work was doing filing of documents and charts.

The worst part of the job, was it could be boring. The enjoyable part of the job was it had some benefits and it was full time.
Pros
Included Medical and Dental Benefits
Cons
Temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oregon Department of Corrections
Exchange Administrator (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORJune 2, 2014
I maintain The Microsoft Exchange and Lync systems for 5000 users.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORFebruary 5, 2014
great to work for if not bothered by layoffs every other year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay & benefits, everything else based on seniority
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Ontario, ORSeptember 1, 2013
Good place to work for pay and benefits. Hard on the family life, everything is based off of seniority. Either start night or grave shift and wont see day shift for close to 5-7 years.
Pros
Pay/Benefits
Cons
Schedule/Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady job with good natured staff. Good supervisors.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Lakeview, ORAugust 21, 2013
I supervised convicted felons in a correctional facility. Although inmates are serving sentenances for convicted crimes, they are still people. We treated inmates with respect and required respect in return. The majority of inmates responded positively to this situation. I learned to hone my communications skills. I learned patience.
I worked great staff who would assist me instantly. I would do the same for them. I observed many different types of personalities and behaviors. This enabled me to better deal with o
thers.
Pros
A job, good staff, always something happening to laugh about.
Cons
Benefits, eroding health care, eroding pension benefits, lack of pay increases.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and potential
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Ontario, ORJune 19, 2013
I loved the job very much! great pay and benefits!!! Had an amazing home/work balance and good vacations.
Pros
Government Job
Cons
Union was to crybaby ish as we were already paid more than anyone else in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply a place to work.
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Ontario, ORMarch 22, 2013
Work in this prison was a challenging experience. Working with offenders is challenging and requires good training to be successful. The facility practices for security were well managed. Safety of the staff was often overlooked. Working with some staff is more challenging than working with the inmates and at time it was difficult to differentiate their behavior from that of the offenders.
Pros
job security pay and bennifits
Cons
bad hours, working in negative environment, always behind the fence
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive staff
Office Specialist I/Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORNovember 13, 2012
The work is fast-paced. Working with inmates can be intimidating, but one must be strong enough to handle their behaviors, attitudes and language.

I always felt safe there and never afraid. The facilities' staff members are very supportive and helpful.
Cons
inmates can be scary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oregon Department of Corrections. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2

Oregon Department of Corrections Reviews by Location