Oregon Health Sciences University Employee Reviews

Found 246 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Transporter 1 (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 21, 2017
Enjoy working with co-workers and excellent management team. Indeed.com is requesting to fill out this portion. Would highly recommend anyone to work here. They are very professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 18, 2017
Very high quality of care and a progressive environment. Always learning and taking part in research and exciting breakthroughs in medicine. Felt valued for my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Environmental Services (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 16, 2017
Managers higher their family members, not allowing others to apply for the position, they are inexperienced and underqualified, very unorganized and lack balance.
Pros
noe
Cons
So many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Sterile Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 14, 2017
I have been there for seven years and their is. Not much room for advancement. People are nice but that will stab you in the back. You give it your all and management doesn't care about you. The only thang that matters is their pay checks, the health care is horrible as well.......
Pros
You can't get fired
Cons
Parking cost too much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work and fun
Medical Assiatant Externship (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 12, 2017
Great place to work. The people ther were so nice and great to work with. Since it is a teaching hospotal everyone was very patient with me since i was learning too along with ither resident doctors. Managemant seemed to be very organized and very helpful with any questions that I had.
Pros
Hour lunches, friendly staff
Cons
Location is a bit of pain to get to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place to Work
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 9, 2017
When people talk about work life balance they are talking about OHSU. It's not a surprise given that OHSU is a medical, research and educational institution.
Pros
Flexible schedule, good pay, nice people, not cut throat
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic and great place to work
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 2, 2017
OHSU is an awesome place to work.
The teams are great and the work atmosphere is perfect.
This place is very dynamic and I learn a lot working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 27, 2017
i came in the morning and checked the rooms to make sure that the rooms were clean and then checked the schedule to see if there are patients arrived. them i check the sick line and adjust the schedule accordingly i Qc'ed the urine machine and made sure that the ekg machine is ready to go. I checked my inbox and the roomed patients and did vitals, POC testing blood draws, injections, immunizations, splinting,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 25, 2017
busy work place not much down time. learned new sterilization methods. proper packaging of instruments.poor management, make poor decisions.do not treat all emploees.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
pore managment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the people I worked with, but the rest of it was unfortunate.
Specimen Processing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 22, 2017
the people i worked with were wonderful, but management seemed to see little more than minions meant to be doing a task. the lab is incredibly busy, and work easily gets stressful. this is not helped by managers who don't know how you do your job trying to tell you that you should do it better, but usually not offering a way to improve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ohsu
Gastrointestinal Technician (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 21, 2017
Because it's such a big hospital, employees are just numbers- but at the same time, there is a lot of potential to move around. It's great for learning because it is a teaching hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, not well compensated
Patient Simulator (Current Employee) –  Monmouth, ORMarch 6, 2017
My work with the Nursing program at WOU has been very rewarding. As a performer, it is not often you get to see your work have a positive, educable impact.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
PACS Administrator (Current Employee) –  Portland, OregonMarch 3, 2017
People from all over the Pacific Northwest look to the specialized medical treatments provided by OHSU.

A lot of things dissolve when you speak with patients and their family and learn that coming to OHSU has saved their life. It makes it all worth while.
Pros
I find the work I do very rewarding.
Cons
There is no perfect job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 22, 2017
I work for a really great professor, which I think is what makes it best. OHSU has been fine, but not necessarily very involved in the work that I do day to day. The school helps as needed but generally not necessary for my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 16, 2017
Great place to work. My workday is typical which is isn't what you would normally find in a postdoc position. I don't have to come in on weekends because I don't work with animals often. My boss is really laid back.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parking Costly
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 15, 2017
Great stability, but short handed with employees and parking is NOT provided, unless you get on a VERY LONG wait list to PAY for parking "nearby."
Pros
Stability
Cons
Costly parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with students and various culture.
Relief Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 23, 2017
I like the opportunity of working with various culture. Helping the doctors out with patient and working the front desk along working the back office.
Pros
they wasn't any pros
Cons
The cons the job wasn't a 40 hrs a wk position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Student worker/ Data entry (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 20, 2017
I enjoyed this job, it was very laid back. My title was data entry, I was allowed to take breaks whenever need be as long as I met my quota by the end of the day.
Pros
Awesome environment, nice staff.
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - if you find the right manager
Family Medicine Data Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 16, 2017
Union positions provide job and financial security. The good managers have functional departments, happy employees, good work life balance, and job growth. There are many areas with much room for improvement. You will never be able to park.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization to work for
Asst Director Diagnostic Imaging (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 1, 2017
Very good organization to work for
If you can be successful here, you can do well anywhere
Great staff and supportive culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oregon Health Sciences University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 247 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9

Oregon Health Sciences University Reviews by Location