ORIGINS Employee Reviews in United States

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Beauty Advisor/Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 9, 2016
loved working here,
learned a lot
enthusiastic mangers
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help customers
and educating them about the benefits of our products and doing
demos.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COJune 6, 2016
Great company, wonderful products, awesome gratis!

The training is awesome and if you are a go getter you can exceed your sales goals. You cannot be scared to recruit clients, you must make business happen!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAMay 25, 2016
I really enjoyed selling the origins skin care products. It was nice to be able to build relationships with the customers.
Pros
Great working environment .
Cons
The pay could have been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work environment
sales associate, key holder (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 17, 2016
A typical day at work is standing on the floor about 4-9 hours a day, selling to, giving facials to, or calling clients.

I learned great selling skills, people skills, and management skills.

My co-workers are all very large personalities, they can be somewhat competitive.

The hardest part was the grueling retail hours, missing out a lot in my personal life.

The enjoyable part was getting to work with product I enjoyed.
Pros
Good location, good opportunities
Cons
long hours, competitive environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMarch 29, 2016
Great overall experience. Gained a lot of knowledge about the cosmetic and beauty industry and ingredient info. Liked the fact that they lay out your individual sales goals and you know what you have to do as an individual and as a store to meet the day, month, and year sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is very poor
Skin Care Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJanuary 20, 2016
I loved working at the store I did because of the people who I worked with but the management was very poor. The employees were not taken care of well and that led to many people leaving the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Goal Driven Workplace.
Third Key Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 20, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is the service (facials, demo's and makeup consultations), and the most challenging is reaching each new goal.
Pros
Amazing Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat natural skin company lovated in a vibrant small city.
Senior Sales Guide (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 9, 2015
Origins in Harvard Square can give one an opportunity to provide education in natural skin care that really works. It is always a complete pleasure to introduce products that can make a difference in an individual's lifestyle.
Pros
Ability to connect with interesting clientele.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales Clerk
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 4, 2015
I had to learn and memorize all the products and what is in each product and like said before able to interact with new people everyday.
Pros
The discount.
Cons
I do not have any.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 21, 2015
Extensive schooling and training on the product. Very generous with discount and gratis. Rapid advancement in my position.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
slow traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love what I do
Guide (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXMarch 21, 2015
I love working here selling skincare to people and helping people find what helps them and making them feel welcomed and happy when they leave
Pros
good management, great discount, classes
Cons
diff promo each week, a lot to remember
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, ILMarch 4, 2015
I was able to interact with different people on a daily basis. While tending to different clients I was able to learn more about the products and the many benefits with their use.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor senior management
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  New Jersey,NJFebruary 24, 2015
. Lots of turn over
. no effective communication
.discriminatory behaviors by employees
.senior management is heartless
.lack of support
.HR is a joke/ rules are made specific to certain stores
. theft
. Not able to be a salaried manager without being micro managed on a daily basis
must do all advertising for your store
Pros
gratis
Cons
the environment would not be allowed in most corp settings
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing product line
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 13, 2015
Origins is one of my all time favorite skincare lines. The store was amazingly clean, staff was always well trained in product knowledge and the products legitimately did what they were intended to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Snellville, GAJanuary 14, 2015
I had a blast working for Estee Lauder.I've been with te company for 8 years. I made lifelong friends, lasting relationships and I just can't say enough great things about this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Origins
Sales Associate/Beauty Adviser (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 12, 2015
Display a positive attitude and a willingness to assist customer needs
Very strong team player
Excellent communication skills and integrity
Attended manager meetings to discuss sales and marketing strategies, improve quality, and generate additional
business
Pros
loved my team
Cons
far drive
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Fulltime Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 3, 2014
strong selling environment, high sales goals, great store management. lots of one on one contact with customers.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy this job!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Germantown, TNSeptember 11, 2014
I do enjoy working for Origins as a part time sales associate. When i come to work here it is a very relaxed environment with wonderful people. The management here is great in the store, corporate is a bit slow to respond however the store managers do assist in getting things done and taking on things at hand asap. Hardest part of this job is leaving it at the end of my shift, because we have so much fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer service atmosphere
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 8, 2014
The customer comes first and the training on how to connect is outstanding. Days consisted of giving facials and pampering customers, coaching sales team on the floor, sales and creating business to increase traffic.
Pros
very positive company
Cons
the hiring process needs updating
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere but high expectations
Skin Care consultant- Providing clients (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAApril 19, 2014
The traffic at Origins is wonderful. You get to meet new people and help them with their concerns due to their skin, by offering them mini-facials that the company teaches you. You learn alot about the skin care products as well as about your own concerns as well.

The hardest part of the job is keeping up with sales goals and a average dollar per sale (AUS) when the traffic would be slower.

Managment is great but no training at all. There was no training on the products, so your on your own to teach yourself the ingredients etc. Also, in my year of working, I have now had 3 store managers.
Pros
flexiable scheduling
Cons
no training. managment changes too quickly
Was this review helpful?Yes3No

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
4.1