Find companies:
Orkin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
194 reviews

Orkin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Pest Control Technician (Current Employee), Dublin, GASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: no over the shoulder supervising
Cons: hardly any social life
I have learned a lot about pest control. Co- workers have become extended family do to the fact you see them everyday. Growing to actually become friends with customers on route.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok.
Route Manager (Current Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 14, 2014
Its a good place to work if you do not mind long hours and no life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and have a career
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: the salary base on commision, the ability to manage your own route, meeting people
Cons: the long seasonal hours
A typical day was that everyone greeted each other every morning ready to go, inventorying the trucks for necessary chemical amounts before leaving out for the day, checking to see if anyone needed help during the course of the day also.At the ending of the day making sure that paper work was taking care of, also calling customers for the next day service.I – more... learn that teamwork was the key component to being successful overall, to grow revenues for the business in this field of work, as well as a right attitude and commitment.
Management was excellent making sure that all bases were covered in making sure that we were as successful as we could be at our job with such things as OSHA training. Co-works were as solid and committed as I had ever experienced in my career as a pest controller and that was so important to me. The hardest part was dealing with a customer who refused to be satisfied after bending all the way over to please but yet the customer was always right. The part I enjoyed most was the fact that I could do something that I truly loved doing helping people with a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked independently and responsible for what you have to do
Pest Control Route Manager (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: worked on your own
Cons: was not always appreciated for the things that you do
Take care of customers pest control needs. Enjoyed making customers feel better by controlling the pest they see and the ones they don't see.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Enviroment
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee), Chatsworth CaSeptember 2, 2014
Working at Orkin was a good working experience. They had a great team oriented experience. Everyone was always there for each other every one helped each other out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Route manager and technician (Current Employee), chicago, ilSeptember 1, 2014
Rather not say so lets leave it at that
Some good days and bad
Definitly a dirty job
Good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Termite/Route Technician (Current Employee), champaign, ilAugust 28, 2014
Cons: terrible hours, bad management, pay not worth hours
This is a terrible place to work. Management has no clue what they are doing and believe they should not help their techs. The hours are ridiculous along with the amount of unpaid work you are expected to do. Their sales commission is bad and their expectation are way to high. For any customer who cancels, whether your fault or not, you will be reprimanded. – more... They also will do unmoral and almost law breaking things to get what they want.
NO NOT WORK HERE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Route Manager (Current Employee), skokie illinoisAugust 27, 2014
Management had no consideration of employees personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day of work at Orkin.
Technician (Current Employee), Auburn Hills, MIAugust 23, 2014
Pros: you had one of the largest companies to represent with good pay.
Cons: you worked a lot of hours.
Arriving at the branch at 7:00 am to fill my B&G,Back-pack(Brichmeier) with water and any other items for the services needed for that day including also water for the mosquitoe sprays.We done monthlies,quarterly and every-other month services with tickets on the time of each of the services. The service for monthlies could be scheduled for only perimeter – more... outside treatment of the structure of the house. The quarterly service is an inside treatment and outside perimeter treatment every 3 months. The every-other month is scheduled to do inside and outside every service. We called a lot of the services in advance to let the customer know the time we would do their service. We would do 15-20 services daily plus outside mosquitoe treatments 10 or more in the area you covered that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging workplace due to hours
Branch Manger Traniee (Former Employee), Augusta, GAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: brand recognition
Cons: long hours
Orkin expects employees to work a lot of hours. On the other hand Orkin also takes care of their staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really loved the job very nice and outgoing work environment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Waukegan, ILJuly 28, 2014
Answered inbounds calls from customers to order pest control services, answered any general questions about products and services, processed orders and payments, also set up new customers with services and inspections
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy day
Pest control technician (Former Employee), Hingham, MAJuly 18, 2014
long days hard work great pay and benefits some days are longer than most constant training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Service Rep (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 15, 2014
ok not what I wanted to do crawl around under peoples houses for a living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room to learn
Pest control technician (Former Employee), everett, waJuly 13, 2014
day starts 7:30am and usually gets over around 7pm.
learned about various types of insects and how to deal with them.
manaement needs growth-didnt take care of their people.
co-workers were great.
hardest part of the job was getting all the equipment organized because upper management didnt come through.
enjoyable part of work was going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service - helping people
Customer Service (Current Employee), Covington, GAJuly 13, 2014
Pros: talking to people
Cons: not being able to do more for our customers, the job does have limitations
customer service can be a very rewarding job as helping customers troubleshoot and fix/repair their current problems. The hardest part of the job is telling people that their problems may be fixed overnight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good interaction with people based job
Termite Tech Supervisor/Termite Technician (Current Employee), VAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: customers and vehicles provided
Cons: limited help and lack of balance of work life
The work place cannot function without working as a team Orkin believes in this strongly. The company provides good knowledge the managers are quick to respond to any issues at hand. Its amazing to go to a customers house presented with an issue and solve that problem ( the most rewarding feeling working there) What can be intimidating are the crawl – more... spaces but you get used to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not the job I thought it was going to be. Also, I became allergic to the products I used.
Sales (Former Employee), Peoria, IllinoisJuly 3, 2014
Pros: freedom to set own appointments
Cons: idle promises
I would go to the homes of many people with pest problems. I learned patience with people. My management was very degrading. My coworkers were great people. The hardest part of the job was support from my company who set impossible goals that could not be reached. The most enjoyable part of the job was client interaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great way to learn about insects
Route Manager -Lawn Care Technician (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 29, 2014
Pros: learn about insects
I enjoyed working there because it gave the knowledge to learn about insects that surround us every day and how to get rid of them. Its very interesting in learning how they function and Orkin Pest Control gave me that knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good customer service start
Sales (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 12, 2014
Pros: company truck
Cons: limited pay and no help
Prepare paperwork for route for the day. How to mix chemicals properly. Diagnosing of pest problem and proper treatment.
How to properly mix and treat homes and business.
Management at the time was very limited.
Co workers at the time were not into helping each other out.
Hardest part of the job was retaining customers when prices were raised and there – more... was no negotiation.
Really liked working with clients and building relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales very sporatic
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: great management in beginning, work atmosphere was good, benefits were decent, good working environment
Cons: lack of communication, sales are not distributed properly, corporate first and employee second
Orkin started out to be a great place to work. Had great branch management and sales territories were set in place. After 2 years, the sales boundaries were "blurred" and I did not get paid what I sold. Orkin corporate office decided to franchise this branch out and neglected to tell any of the employees. We all knew what was coming. I resigned once – more... these rumors came to fruition. Now that branch has been closed. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Orkin

When Orkin calls, bugs go belly up. A subsidiary of Rollins, Orkin and its sister companies provide insect, rodent, and termite – Read more