Find companies:
Orkin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

Orkin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Experience
Senior Office Administrator (Current Employee), Charleston, SCMay 4, 2014
Orkin is a wonderful company that allows its employees to gain skills and great real world work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of support around to help with problems.
Field Technician (Former Employee), Forestville, MDApril 30, 2014
On a day to day bases the people are very fast moving and time managers of all projects. they don't give mercy when you mess up. some of the managers are helpful and inspiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating*, job work/Life balance*, Compensation/benefits***, Job Security/advancement,*, Management*, Job Culture***
Techican (Former Employee), Pikeville, KYApril 24, 2014
Pros: paid vacations
Cons: sometimes we didn't get any breaks
Doing services on time, and the way they are supposed to be done. Learned how to treat for a lot of different pest. Didn't see co-workers too much we worked by ourself everyday. The hardest part of my job was working in four different counties. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting different people all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a company that does provide good benefits
Service Manager (Former Employee), Macon, GAApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: upper management
I worked here for 5 and a half years . Great Benefits . I worked in Pest Control, and in the Sales Department. Also served as Service Manager and Safety Director. I won various sales awards while in that department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very organize
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee), Conyers, GAApril 10, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
Very long days
How to protect people from pest
Management was very up and down not stable at all
It was very hard to get out the office
I enjoyed driving around helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation and benifits are good but that's about it
Route Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 9, 2014
A typical work day is about 12-14 a day during peak season but you'll still put in very long days regardless.
You'll learn a fair amount about pest and how to control certain situations.
My management experience was terrible but it depends on the person and the branch.
Co-worker are just there. The job is designed to be dog eat dog so take what you – more... will from that.
Hardest part of the job is never having much free time or recovery after long days/weeks. Usually working on average 65+ hrs a week every week.
The most enjoyable part is by far the compensation. You can make some good money but you'll have to be willing to make a lot of sacrifices for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different and exciting every day.
Route Manager/Technition (Current Employee), Livermore, CaliforniaApril 6, 2014
Servicing from 6 to 10 customers a day, lots of travel. Learned a lot about pest control and how to treat for pests. Responsible for my own route, co-workers are always willing to help out when needed. The hardest part of the job is working in the rain. The most enjoyable part of the job is the interface that I have formed with my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience however..horrible pay and NO ADVANCEMENT OPPORTUNITIES
Technician (Former Employee), MSMarch 29, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: no advancement like they claim
This company is very good on teaching you everything you need to know...you will be very knowledgeable in what you do....on the other hand, I would NOT recommend working for them because all they care about is numbers. If you work pest control you will be running around all day doing between 14-18 stops a day and that's not counting new customers and – more... call backs. Also, they claim you get a lunch break but you are so busy running stops that they tell you to eat and drive. There is no advancement like they claim. Its a "who you know" to be able to advance there. Termite techs are expected to produce a set amount of production per day....with no incentives...the management gets bonuses for the pc techs and termite techs that get the job done. Management rarely helps out. Last but not least they are very micro-managed and will question your every move you make being the trucks have GPS in them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rev
Sales Inspector (Former Employee), Wilson, NCMarch 27, 2014
Freedom was good, car comp wasnt enough. The compensation was well below average
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company
Commercial Sales (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILMarch 26, 2014
Pros: work hard and get paid for it
Cons: there are no con's to orkin
• Presented an average monthly sales award of 145% of quota through 2003-2008
• Delivered influential sales presentations based on the customers needs to resolve any pest control issues they may have had.
• Accurately filled out all appropriate forms needed to verify an agreement for service
• Followed written and verbal instructions, attended meetings – more... and performed other tasks when needed
• Analyzed and addressed territory opportunities by building key customer relationships
• Ensured customer loyalty and outstanding service all with urgency. Built relationships, communicated openly, managed customer needs and proactively resolved all issues they may have had in regards to pest control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Killin' bugs!
Pest Technician (Former Employee), Collinsville, ILMarch 23, 2014
Pros: pay, management, and on the road all day
Cons: occasional long days
Typical day consisted of getting route together and called customers for arrival times. Upon arriving at their homes, I accessed the problem and exterminated accordingly. I learned how to run a route as well as exterminated insects and rodents. Management and coworkers were awesome. The hardest part was working in confined spaces, the most enjoyable – more... keeping people happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Assistant
Office Manager/Customer Relations Specialist (Former Employee), Hickory, NCMarch 21, 2014
I learned a lot about people working at Orkin. Different personalities and moods made this job challenging to say the least. The hardest part of the job was not being able to speak my opinion or ideas. I loved working with the guys that worked there as they were hard workers and received very little recognition for it. I do miss there with everyone – more... and having that connection with people that I do not have at the moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Independence, MOMarch 18, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: na
Good place to work. Great teams make the job fun. A typical day is filled with action at every turn. Love the customers and interactions with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was most interesting to work with the people around the company you can learn alot about people when you work with them
Residential Field Technician (Former Employee), Forestville, MDMarch 18, 2014
Pros: the benfits was wonderful as well as the coworkers.
Cons: timing on schdule dates, not so much help.
I chose the company because it was something new that I never tried before. especially working with pest I did not know existed. in the pest family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress job
Sales Inspector (Former Employee), Waco, TXMarch 18, 2014
A hard place to work, long hours, no breaks lots of pressure on sales. Pay structure hard to understand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Everyday is different
Home Inspection Specialist (Current Employee), Waukegan, ILMarch 4, 2014
I want to start out and say that Orkin/Rollins is a friendly, family orientated place to work. The training that is given is excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big corporation with plenty chance for lateral movement
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee), Various Maryland BranchsMarch 1, 2014
Pros: mainly outside work, could basically run my own day
Cons: business as usual changed quite a bit from year to year.
This company was run by the book ,the majority of its managers were capable but not all! The last years for myself were with an Orkin franchise which ended when the bosses sold it back to corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling and Customer service
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee), Reno, NVFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Traveling 200+ miles per day fighting bugs. I learned about pesticides and which to use for each job. The hardest part of the job was trying to assure a customer that this company valued their business and would fix any complaints where the previous company had failed to do so. The most enjoyable part was being able to interact with customers and the – more... community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to begin a career with.
Termite Technician (Current Employee), College Park, GAFebruary 22, 2014
The management, co-workers, and staff are all great to work with. I learn something new everyday. The pay is great and the best part of the job is meeting new people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Termite Technician (Former Employee), Scott, LAFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: benefits, healthcare
Head to the office. Find out my job for the day. I have learned how to treat a house for termites. The management was great, he cared about his employees. My co-workers were really awesome, friendly, and helpful. The only hard part about this job is crawling under houses. Defiantly the most enjoyable part of this job is making the customer happy and – more... you knowing that there biggest investment is protected from termites. – less

About Orkin

When Orkin calls, bugs go belly up. A subsidiary of Rollins, Orkin and its sister companies provide insect, rodent, and termite – Read more