Find companies:
Orkin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
186 reviews

Orkin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life
Pest Service Specialist (Current Employee), rather not sayDecember 18, 2013
Cons: no lunch, going into infested houses
As a route manager be prepared to have no life, out the door at 6am, service customers, home by 7 PM if you're lucky, then make calls until 9 pm. Management is poor, any new ideas immediately turned down. No real opportunity for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Inbound Corporate Technical Support (Current Employee), atlantaDecember 12, 2013
Nice people to work with and good place to work.You have to wear a tye and panty hose, but good place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary/Bookkeeper
Secretary (Former Employee), Franklin, NCDecember 4, 2013
Pros: vacations
Cons: being around dangerous chemicals
Answering phone, schedule appointments for service personnel, collecting and receipting monies, bank deposits, bookkeeping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place Managment Undermindes You
Sales (Former Employee), Rockford, ILDecember 3, 2013
Pros: got to take truck home.
Cons: service manager smoking in the office like a chimney.
I wouldn't recommend this place unless you were a huge enemy of mine. I worked long hours to make sales and was never good. Its all about the Magic number. The pay wasn't that good especially with the huge bed bug epidemic, waking up scared that you had brought them home. And the management at the branch I was at was horrible. The branch manager was – more... a puppet for the Branch's service manager. Who mind you smoked in the office and where the chemicals were stored. Any sale you had they had to go out and 90% of the time if they felt it wasn't worth there time or was going to take to much of there time they wouldn't do it. And the constant calling you to see where you were even though they knew because there was gps on the trucks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Pest Control Technician (Current Employee), Davenport, IANovember 30, 2013
good pay long hours. A lot of phone calls to set appointments. Decent management. Very good benifits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company every
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Lawton, OkNovember 23, 2013
Was sad to see owner retire and close company. Everyone was treated like family members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conflict with College Degree
PC Route Manager (Former Employee), Macon, GANovember 6, 2013
Management was changed and one change included my route changing. This change was during my last semester of obtaining my A.S. Paralegal degree so I had to make a choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
pest control route technician (Former Employee), phila paOctober 29, 2013
Pros: bonus checks
Cons: long hours
good comunnication from bosses
how to manage a pest route
help from other coworkers was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold residental and commerical pest control
Customer Service Representative& Sales (Former Employee), Rome, GAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: the pay was great and the team players were super fun to work with
Cons: being the only female at the company
Good place to work for, coworkers very friendly. The down side working at Orkin was trying to close a sale for pest control. It was very competitive until I learned how to become a true salesman, which took me about 4 months. Overall I enjoyed helping the customers with the day to day problems of pest inside and outside their homes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Call Service Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Georgetown, KYOctober 20, 2013
Pros: continual learning
Cons: very competitive
Helping customers resolve pest problems. It is a great opportunity to handle the customer from start to finish. You take the call, help the customer determine the problem and suggest the service that is right for them.
You have the ability to follow up with that customer to ensure that the service has been provided and that they are pleased with the – more... company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive enviorment for those who want carreer
Route Manager/Pest control Specialist (Current Employee), Lorton, VAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: cake on birthdays
Cons: waiting for supply truck befor work
I have learned a lot about the pest control industry. You have to inspect and solve pest problems on a daily basis and at any given time while your on the clock. We mostly work by ourselves, but we all help each if the time comes for with no problem. The staff is helpful if we need assistance, but we are trained to be are our managers while on route. – more... The only hard part is working in winter weather sometimes while driving, but we take our time and stay alert. And we enjoy meeting and making new customer's.

. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lage impersonal compay
Termite Inspector (Former Employee), Florence, KYOctober 15, 2013
Pros: well advertised
Cons: impersonal workplace
Orkin is a large and well advertised company, with a fair training program, They lacked the personal interaction with personal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
pest control tech (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 8, 2013
Pros: making more money was up too you
Cons: treated unfairly by new management
schedule customers. i learned alot about pests. management good at first until they changed to new manager. co workers pleasent.hardest part of jobs was try to get caught up on other peoples routes.fun part, meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my employment and career opportunities there for 17 yrs
Administrator/Manager/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fort Pierce, FLOctober 7, 2013
Cons: did not have adequate break time. due to employee reduction, i was responsible for all duties.
Managed employees in office, billing, posting, customer concerns,audits, scheduled inspections, services, and sales.
Daily posting of deposits to customer's accounts, bank deposits and payroll daily.
Handled customer's service requests,billing questions,new service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work, family oriented
Dispatch & Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 25, 2013
Pros: fun, team, free lunches, great benefits, great pay, etc.
Cons: laid off due to lack of work
I love this place because it became like my second home and The work environment was wonderful. The staff members were really hard workers and as a team there was nothing we couldn't tackle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 hours a week
Pest Control Specialist (Former Employee), San Dimas , CASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: bar b q for holidays, and getting home before five.
Cons: driving 150- 200 miles a day, traffic, bad drivers, and bad weather.
Paid training for a month to learn the basic skills for pest control. I started my work day at six in the morning at the office. I would get all the supply's I needed for the day and go over my service tickets. Make sure my company truck was clean before starting my day out on the road. I would drive to my service locations and when i would arrive I – more... first great the customer in a friendly was asking how the service is going so far and making sure there is no new problems. If so I will ask to be shown the problem area and explain the way I am going to solve the problem. The most enjoyable part of my job was speaking to the customer and them telling me how good of a job i was doing. Avoid drivers not driving safe and being stuck in traffic hours at a time are a few hard to deal with on the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
littil home time
Certified pesticide technician (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYSeptember 18, 2013
little home time a lot of work and management not helpful they hire out side for management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 4 company
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee), Colton, CASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: benefits
Orkin was a great company to work for co-workers were great. typical work day; knowing all services day before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my job
Pest Control Route manager and termite technichian (Former Employee), Moultrie, GASeptember 6, 2013
great job when it was corporate not after our office became a franchise, worked a lot of hours, not much family time, great coworkers, and I enjoyed helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours and abilty to be self emoloyed
Certified Pest Control Inspector (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, pay scale
Cons: some environments, healthcare benefits
Good environment to work in and flexible hours with helpful and enjoyable people to work with in the office and in the field.

About Orkin

When Orkin calls, bugs go belly up. A subsidiary of Rollins, Orkin and its sister companies provide insect, rodent, and termite – Read more