OSF HealthCare Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSF is the best place to grow Professionally in Healthcare
Business Professional (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJuly 12, 2016
I started with OSF Healthcare as a CNA and have been given several opportunities for advancement. OSF provided tuition reimbursement for my school allowing me to further my education and make myself a more valuable employee. This organization has provided top notch benefits, work life balance and I love the numerous teams that I've been privileged to work with!
Pros
Work life balance, benefits, team atmosphere, learning opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about management and money
RN (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILApril 18, 2016
OSF preaches compassion and love for the patients but they certainly don't treat the staff that way. They promote based on whether they like you and not your qualifications. Most days it was like being in high school with all of the drama. They were not a kind place to work and they continue to take and take from their employees and give nothing in return.
Pros
the patients and providing patient care
Cons
understaffing, uncaring supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes38No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILApril 6, 2016
OSF is a phenomenal organization to work for! Even though I have no medical training, I truly believe I'm part of the mission of providing patients with the best care possible...we all contribute in our own way. The staff and co-workers are friendly and do whatever possible to advance the goals of the mission. I also feel that OSF is a place I can grow professionally and am encouraged to grow. In my position, I also have the flexibility to alter my hours with approval based around appointments. Both the culture and benefits are top-notched. We get great PTO and my favorite benefit is tuition reimbursement in which OSF is paying for the majority of my MBA.
Pros
Company Culture, PTO, Holidays, Tuition Reimbursement, Company Mission, Job Secruity
Cons
Communication can be a challenge because of the size of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes5No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILFebruary 9, 2016
A typical day is greeting patients with a smile, making sure patient is first and foremost concern. In my 20+ years of nursing, I have learned more about compassion and caring. Patients are the most important people and they depend on us to take care of them. My co-workers are phenomenal and so eager to make sure they help in any way they can. Hardest part of my job will always be losing a patient or a co-worker in one way or another. My pride in being a nurse is meeting and getting to know each person and knowing that for 1 split second in their life, I can try to help them make a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to work here
Patient Access Manager (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILApril 18, 2016
What is happening where is the caring for our patient's and for our employees? Corporate you are changing what OSF is suppose to be about. You are letting Directors and Executives make terrible choices at the cost of the patients and the employees. No longer are the patients number one, they are account numbers and dollar signs. The staff are minions that they push each and everyday to do more with less. What is that doing for the care of the patient. I am management and I see it an hear it everyday I am here. What ever don't say anything or you will be gone like the rest who are no longer with us. It use to be a great place but Sisters of OSF no longer know what is going on and if they do they don't act on it. Corporate is running the show at the cost of everyone. Help Sisters take back your organization before OSF doesn't have staff or patients.
Pros
working with the minions
Cons
Listening to management and pushing pushing pushing
Was this review helpful?Yes33No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a company that cares
Recruiting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILJuly 1, 2016
OSF is a great place to work and provides its employees with every opportunity to grow and become who they are truly meant to be! Their mission is to serve with the greatest care and love! Says it all...
Pros
great culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terible place to work
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILMay 24, 2016
No communication from management. Understaffed and overworked. No appreciation for the hard work and dedication put forth to keep our floor flowing without any disruption to patient care.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes16No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Case manager (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILMay 15, 2016
The supervisors and management are a joke...no support for employees..this place is so draining on nurses..they expect too much of their nurses..supervisors need to get off their fat xxxxx and cover visits...............................
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment with great benefits
Distribution Associate (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILJune 30, 2016
I have learned to be detail-oriented, to work independently, have worked with some great people and proud to serve my community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
ED Tech (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ILJune 10, 2016
I have been in the medical field for 21 years, I have never been treated so poorly. Terrible place to work, they rip your soul out.
Pros
None
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be aware, never get comfortable
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  OSFMCMay 16, 2016
My experience with managers and the like in this organization is that they are not there for their employees. They preach to treat patients with "the greatest care and love," but those who actually carry out the mission are left in the dust.

Managers, with awful employee satisfaction ratings, keep their jobs far longer than they should and they even get promoted, while a peon on "positive discipline" for being minutes late three times in a year will have difficulty transferring to a better department/job.

Don't expect adequate training either. Trainers were educated as nurses or other medical jobs, not as educators. Training convoluted and poorly executed. Between all the departments that have their hands in your training, it's difficult to tell who you need to talk to to get help.

Always remember, like most companies, the HR department might say they want to help, but they are there for the company. This is never truer than it is at OSF.

It's a soul killing organization for a worker, unless you are a nurse or doctor. Notice, the ones who love their jobs are the nurses or HR people reviewing.
Pros
benefits, nice facilities
Cons
training is awful, managers are ill prepared to manage, not a lot of keeping the worker happy
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Doesn't Care About Employees
Janitor (Former Employee) –  PeoriaAugust 19, 2015
Management at OSF could care less about their employees. Some people can sit around and use their phones to check out adult sites at work without reprimand while others clock in a few minutes late and are written up. Team leaders work with groups of employees and some can't get their work done in a given shift yet are allowed to work overtime while others are expected to complete theirs. Priorities are all messed up. Trying to get a day off is like pulling teeth unless you are among the privileged within the department.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes108No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSF Clerk
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alton, ILOctober 21, 2015
This Hospital was not a good work environment at all. There were many violation's that I encountered while being employed. There is absolutely no uplifting of any kind. The management is very discriminatory and there is absolutely no confidentiality kept at OSF SAHC.
Was this review helpful?Yes62No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The tide is changing...........
Polysomnographic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJuly 28, 2015
Once upon a time OSF was THE place to work in healthcare. But deciding to turn over management from the sisters of St. Francis to so-called professional managers has quickly changed the culture around. This unit in particular is somehow "managed" by an uneducated prole who's sole achievement in life is having suckled at the nipple of the medical director. Very dictatorial, not team-oriented in the least. If OSF truly cares about the healthcare ratings they tout then the ship needs to be cleaned of the rats that infest this vessel.
Pros
Salary slightly better than average
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes116No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Biomedical Technician II (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILAugust 19, 2015
This company is a good company to work for. They create a positive work and life balance and provide decent benefits. The management is new, but they are working to provide their employees with the best services they have to offer. The job culture is young, but is developing at a rapid pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever
CNA (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILJune 4, 2015
The staff is not a team player at all. They basically look at CNAs as worthless. I was new to the floor and was so disrespected by my trainer. She complained nightly how much she hated this job and didn't know why she came back to it. The RN was with a patient and said she needed to go to the bathroom but she was a 2 person lift, so I asked if she would help...her reply was I have real work to do, wait for the other CNA. After this and countless FB to say whos admitted and RNs making fun of the patients I left and never will go there again.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes104No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough culture when not in a clinically based position
Exercise Physiologist (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJuly 16, 2015
OSF HealthCare has a top down management structure with a very clinically biased view. The department that I worked in specifically was more community focused than the rest of the hospital. It made it difficult to be taken seriously.
Was this review helpful?Yes49No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Front Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILJuly 15, 2015
A typical day at work at OSF is very busy. We get many phone calls from patients to schedule appointments and to request medication refills. I do enjoy working with my co-workers and enjoy the patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No31
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy fun and hard work
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  rockford illinoisJuly 8, 2015
work well with co-workers the job can be very physical and very stressful but I look at it as if my family is there for care and that puts a smile on my face very day and I enjoy helping people
Pros
helping people
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes28No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
un organized
front office assistant (Former Employee) –  medical groupJune 17, 2015
poor managment, poor communication, the employment physical was brutal, had to take classes that you didnt need. They always preach what their mission is. Catholic environment.
Pros
none
Cons
healthcare atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes69No10

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.5
Culture
2.7