Oshkosh Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 280 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was like the twilight zones
Bid & Proposal Desktop Publisher (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIMay 8, 2017
Extremely sexist. I can't even begin to explain...

If you went to a therapist and described this employer as a significant other, they would say you were being gaslighted and abused.

So many time people would run around shouting and freaking out and the employees would hide in their cubicles like frightens children.

And don't dare try to contact HR, because then you become the target, even if it's done in confidence. It was such a scary and miserable place to work.
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Sexist
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours.
Tubing and Trim Plumber (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMay 1, 2017
A lot of forced overtime.There is no set schedule of pay or benefits. The newest hires have a dramatically different pay scale (advancement schedule) than people who were hired at least 5 years ago. Almost no vaction for the first 3 years.
Pros
Steady Work
Cons
Overtime and no vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lehi, UTApril 16, 2017
The general manager there does absolutely nothing and is very rude and unhelpful to customers and employees. The environment without her around is usually very good, though. Everything is well organized. I loved all of my coworkers, they made it very fun.
Pros
none
Cons
Bad attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCApril 12, 2017
Is a great place with good people not much more to say then that great environment with good people and atmosphere good hours steady pase not to hard to remember
Pros
Great people
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHApril 7, 2017
They love to lie to their employees, Record breaking profits year after year but did away with Christmas bonus after making everyone think they were getting one. They also make you save your vacation days for shutdown week. The Orrville location upset so many people after announcing the companies shutdown that they have to install metal detectors and hire armed guards to deter angry employees. never seen anything like it. 600 people out of a job many of whom have worked there for years and bleed for that company. SICKENING. JLG = jokes lies and games
Pros
20 mins in bathroom every day = week paid vacation per year
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is slowly changing throughout the company
Credit Representative (Current Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIApril 3, 2017
A new push for a People First culture makes Oshkosh a desirable place to work. Not all members in management are embracing the change which is causing those departments to fail.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company without focus
Quality Technician / Inspector (Current Employee) –  Orrville, OHMarch 30, 2017
Just a number, lack of direction, only out for the company, employees bend over backwards for minimal rewards. Relocates product lines a lot which drives turn over rate high.
Pros
N/a
Cons
High insurance cost, live at work, lack of management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine if you just keep your head down.
Welder/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Dodge Center, MNMarch 28, 2017
Worked as a welder for 4yrs and it was good until I moved to a better position in the company and was given roles above my pay grade to which I brought up to my superiors and then let go.
Pros
overtime overtime overtime
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall industry leader
Senior Designer, pumper value stream (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMarch 24, 2017
Exciting problem solving design work with a charismatic product.
Superior management team focused on innovation, performance & customer satisfaction.
Pros
Excellent benefits, great customer satisfaction record/repeat business
Cons
Narrow niche industry
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall
Web Applications Intern (Current Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIMarch 10, 2017
It is a very people first environment. There is a pretty good amount of transparency up to the highest level. From what I saw, they were great at allowing a work and life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JLG Greencastle
Design Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAMarch 7, 2017
I interned for JLG, a company owned by Oshkosh. The people there were great and they trusted interns with meaningful tasks and projects. I never was looking for anything to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment stay away
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHMarch 3, 2017
They are closing their doors in Sept so there is no future a typical day would be to come into a crappie ran like dirt place ,the company onlyou cares about making money for the corporation they make you work 7 days a week after they tell you they are closing the facility down,stay away from this place
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for.
Director of Continuous Improvement (Current Employee) –  Dodge Center, MNFebruary 11, 2017
Overall Oshkosh is a good company to work for and they do a lot to be a people first company. The leadership works to listen to the people and make changes to improve the culture.
Pros
People first culture
Cons
Changes do not make it down to floor level at times causing trust issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy work place
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Bradenton, FLFebruary 1, 2017
Most of the workers are lazy and complain. I feel it can be a better work place if the environment was more appreciated by the workers and if they were more motivated. The management is lacking in attention to the workers, tools, and proper production. There is little disciplinary action toward the workers and there misconduct. The attendance is extremely strict with little understanding for medical issues and personal life, but the attendance policy is tolerable. There is a lot of communication between the team leads and supervisors, but most of the communication is either too late, unnecessary, or misconstrued amongst the leadership.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Negative environment
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never worked here
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Littlestown, PAJanuary 26, 2017
never worked here. no idea why INDEED thinks so but it dows.
May be a fine company I have no idea.
I have to fill this out to move on it appears. I need six more characters.
Pros
ok
Cons
ok
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside Sales
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Villa Rica, GAJanuary 13, 2017
I worked as an inside sales rep for McNeilus for may years. I was fortunate to learn a great deal about B2B sales. I enjoyed building relationships and taking care of each business.
Pros
money
Cons
time
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
broadcast systems integrator (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 7, 2017
They are very loyal to the employees. The money is okay. Very good work history building job. It is like an extended family.If I didn't travel 170 miles a day to get to this job, it would be a more profitable place to work for me.
Pros
overtime, stability, fun.
Cons
raises are not great. My commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIDecember 30, 2016
Oshkosh corp is amazing and they care about their people. I would deffinately recommend this place to anyone thats looking for a long term career. They like to promote from with-in so there is plenty of room to expand and grow.
Pros
Everything
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I guess it ok
Welder (Current Employee) –  Dodge Center, MNDecember 14, 2016
The job that I did it really hard labor.
Because everyday you have to face the heat 400 degree right next to the face and object of the part it really heavy no less than 700lb.
I'll have to used the krank to lifted .
I don't feel safe at that position at work it can put you in danger anything can happen as second.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Welder (Former Employee) –  McConnellsburg, PADecember 12, 2016
Safe and fun, great people and great technology. would go back in a second if i had the chance. i miss the atmosphere and would be honored to step back in that building
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oshkosh Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 312 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4