Find companies:
Ottumwa Regional Health Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Ottumwa Regional Health Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home or Work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Ottumwa, IAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: amazing co-workers
Cons: poor management
Your day starts off with a patient load of typically 6. After getting report and checking all the labs and medications for the day, assessments are done and charted, patients are assisted up for meals and baths.
Medications are due around the clock and physicians start rounding anytime after 7am. I make rounds on each patient with each physician and – more... ensure orders are carried out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized & power trips for those in management
Nurse (Former Employee), ClinicOctober 22, 2013
Cons: too little pay for all the negatives
ORHC is very unorganized & they place individuals in upper management that have no idea on how to complete their job & that have no health or Human Resources background. Especially clinic side. Massive turnover - they have lost some great employees due to incompetence & ignorance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great palce to grow and work and provide great patient and customer service
Director of Nutritional Services (Current Employee), Ottumwa, IASeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great support form hr and the "c" suite
Cons: long hours, when employees called off, my responsibility to help staff to provide quality patient care
Had the opportunity to stablilze the dietary and nutrition department. Created a positive work enviroment for all staff.

Cut budgets by 15% for two years consecutively.

Reduced staffing and laboe costs by percent over a two year period while providing excellent patient carfe and custyomer service.

Received six consecutive violation/no corrective – more... action free local health department inspections.

No findings in dietray department from triennial Joint Commission inspection.

Center for Medicare and Medicaid hospital wide inspection two small findinings of crumbs in toaster.

Created a "Celebratory Meal" for our expectant mothers and a guest complete with linens and faux candlelights while adhering to Medicare guidelines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a Nurse's Aide.
Certified Nurses Aide (CNA) (Current Employee), Ottumwa, IAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: caring for people, helping people.
Cons: graveyard shift, and am constantly running from room to room.
As a nurse's aide, you defiantly get your "workout" for the day in. I am constantly on my feet, moving from room to room trying to assist every patient to the best of my abilities. My "daily duties" as a nurse's aide are to take vital signs, track all Intake and Output for each patient, do hourly rounds, refill waters and chart anything and everything – more... that has to do with the patient. I am constantly learning new things and am willing to learn just about anything. I have learned so much being in a health care position. My coworkers are very helpful and understanding, as I am new to the company and new to Nurse's aide work. The toughest part of my job is trying to be up at night, as I work the gravel yard shift, 7pm to 7am. Even though working the graveyard shift is not the most enjoyable thing to do, my favorite part about my job is that I know I am helping people who can't help themselves at the moment and that they appreciate every little thing I do for them. It really lifts your spirits and makes it just that much easier to come into work when you know that there is going to be someone there looking forward to seeing you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommend
Executive Director (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAJune 27, 2013
Not recommend this company, not organized, management team not team players, staffing unstable, great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work that challenges you on a daily basis.
EXCUTIVE DIRECTOR OF CLINICAL OPERATIONS (Current Employee), Ottumwa, IAJune 17, 2013
Pros: growth of my skills, work - home lif balance
Cons: constant growth makes stability of staff diffucult and turnover
This job has granted me the opportunity every day, to enhance my skills as a leader. It has presented many new challenges that I was able to learn and grow from. It is a growing facility so I was able to grow with it and have really enjoyed my time here. I also was able to fill in as an inteirm CNO for a period of 2 months while our CNO was out on medical – more... leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
support staff
Staff (Former Employee), Ottumwa IAApril 26, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: poor communication, long hours, no support for staff
Horrible home Health Department, Upper management does not care about employees nor do they listen to clients. Strictly about the profits. Very long hours, poor wages very little home time. Most enjoyable thing about job is the patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
progressive, constant change
Director, Business Office (Current Employee), Ottumwa, IAMarch 22, 2013
Pros: short travel, home close
Cons: 99% communication is through email
long hours in the accounting department. high turnover. Very demanding For Profit atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ORHC Cares!
Executive Director, PHO (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAJune 2, 2012
Pros: the great people.
Cons: patient out-migration to des moines.
When I worked there 10-years ago, the physicians and staff were all about caring for the patient and his/her family. They put CARE back into healthcare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Support Associate (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAMay 28, 2012
My first job and most enjoyable one. Loved the responsibilities given to me as a student. Developed a great respect for the medical field.

About Ottumwa Regional Health Center

Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation is creating a legacy by investing in the wellbeing of Ottumwa, Iowa, residents. The not-for-profit – Read more