Find companies:
OU MEDICAL CENTER
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

OU MEDICAL CENTER Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN
RN (Former Employee), Center, OKJune 28, 2013
I worked at OU for many years. Devoted most of my family life and believed management when they said they wanted to move me up in the company. However this was untrue. And all was backstabbing in the longrun. There are many late nights, endless phone calls and feelings that you are being watched by managment. Management is consistent throughout the – more... system and will give you false promises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, Exciting
Radiologic Tech II (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 16, 2013
High paced, busy hospital. Lots of trauma, great place to gain experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy pharmacy, poor technician pay and busy, stressful work environment
pharmacy technician (Former Employee), pharmacyMay 4, 2013
Pros: nice co-workers, good teamwork, great educational experience
Cons: parking, overtime, and they will work you to death
Busy pharmacy with more work than you can finish in an eight hour shift. Benefits are comparable to other facilities, however everything else is inconvenient including having to take a shuttle from the parking area that adds about 45 minutes to the work day. Always short of employees and overtime is never ending. You accrue a lot of time off, but you – more... never get to use it so you have to cash it in at 70% of pay. High employee turnover so you are always training a new employee who will leave in a few months and go to another hospital for more pay and benefits. There are no opportunities for job growth or advancement of pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Hospital
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee), Edmond, OKMay 1, 2013
Pros: scheduling, overtime, good co-workers.
Cons: lots of evertimes
OU medical center is a busy hospital, at OU Edmond we have great group of nurses and doctors, we work together to get things done in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Registrar (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 1, 2013
Cons: short breaks
The job is only as hard as you make it out to be. Everyone has a job to do and when someone is slacking and others have to pick up that slack, it makes it hard on them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OU C.S. and Charity Supervisor
Customer Service and Charity Supervisor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 1, 2013
Pros: great results
Cons: job moved to out of state
Most productive results I have had. Turned the units into team players. Moved 52% productivity into 92% within 2 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible organization, horrible people
RN-Labor and Delivery (Former Employee), Okc, OKApril 28, 2013
Pros: co-workers, diversity of patients
Cons: horrible, uncaring management, no work/home-life balance, always understaffed, you have to take too much call every schedule, unsafe work environment
This is truly the worst place to work. Our unit was constantly understaffed and safe patient care became an issue. AWHONN standards were set but Women's Services could never meet them as their turn-over rate is so high. Management has no regard for staff nurses and staff are always "walking on eggshells" for fear of getting written up. It seems their – more... focus is on punitive processes instead of trying to find out why employees are unhappy. The new director stated in a staff meeting, after an employee stated the morale was low on her unit, that she (director) was not responsible for anyone's morale. Basically, the leadership team has zero accountability for unit morale. This should tell you they don't care about the staff.
BEWARE when you apply for a position within Women's Services!!
I would highly discourage it and encourage you to look into other organizations before applying here.
Please know, I'm not disgruntled. I loved my co-workers and taking care of the patients but I work to live and Women's Services motto is live to work. They don't care about your work/home balance like they'll claim.
Good Luck!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching facility
Registered Nurse Supervisor-Women's Services (Current Employee), Okc, OKApril 23, 2013
Pros: teaching/learning opportunities
Cons: busy and understaffed
I've worked for OU Medical Center for 15 years and just recently decided to look elsewhere for employment.
I've served as a staff RN and a Supervisor in Women's and Newborn Services.
It is the perfect place to work when first out of nursing school as the diversity of patients and experiences are priceless.
The con to working here is it is an extremely – more... busy hospital and can be overwhelming at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent trauma center
Respiratory Therapist (RRT/CRT) (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, Ok.April 17, 2013
Pros: coworkers, overtime opportunities, advancement opportunities
Cons: cafeteria not open 24hrs, heavy workload-only the tough survive!
Extremely busy hospital, being the only Level 1 Trauma Center in Oklahoma. Never a dull moment, always on the move and always something new to keep you on your toes. I love my coworkers, they definitely help me get through the tough nights. The things I see that I wont see anywhere else, and the experiences that I get make OU Med Center a desirable – more... place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of professionalism and effort from co-workers
Supply Technician (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 4, 2013
Pros: easy, simple, lots of downtime
Cons: gossip, inconsistent management, unprofessional co-workers
I worked in the OR as a supply tech and the job itself was incredibly easy. However, there were entirely too many chiefs and not enough indians, too much gossip, and an overall lack of professionalism from co-workers. To sum it up, it is an OK place to work if earning a paycheck is the only objective because the job is easy, but I would not recommend – more... this job to anyone if working with numskulls on a daily basis irritates you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I could give less than 1 star, I would.
Staff RN (Former Employee), OKC, OkApril 1, 2013
Pros: some nice co-workers, teaching hospital
Cons: constantly understaffed, terrible management, parking, demanding patients, etc, etc.
Nurses beware. An RN at OUMC is not in an ordinary employed position, as many of the other people who've reviewing the facility. Working with a license is a whole different story. Being a level 1 trauma hospital in downtown OKC, naturally the patient acuities are higher than some other places. On any given day, you'll have at least one RN call-in (most – more... likely because you'll hate your life working here), and most likely you'll just have to pick up the slack for whoever didn't want to come that day. The staff is overworked, underpaid, managed by people who have ZERO business being in charge of ANYONE, and don't ever open your mouth about any of these things or your butt will be canned so fast your head will spin. I saw this happen in more than one occasion. If working for a "for profit" hospital, with an ultra-high patient acuity (1 patient can often be equal to three), mediocre pay, dim wit management, constant micro-management due to the high-liability environment, then have at it. If you value your license and sanity, stay away! The only pros were several very nice co-workers and the benefits of learning some intense medicine in a teaching hospital. Your nursing skills will suffer due to constantly having to cut corners. Oh, and by the way, staff RNs have to arrive about 40 minutes early to work to catch a "shuttle" to the main building because they are forced to park about a mile away. Omg. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outpatient Radiology/imaging
Outpatient imaging/Radiology (Former Employee), Oklahoma City-downtown campusMarch 21, 2013
Cons: no lunch..but they still push you to clock out
Horrible...enough said. Backstabbing buddy system. The manager and techs act like 16yr old drama queens. I learned what not to do in imaging there. jobs are limited in OK..so I'm sure at one point in time if u live here, u will work here. Turnover high..the last meeting I heard it was 28%..and they laughed about it. It's a free clinic and niether the – more... techs or director/manager do there job. I wish I could name-names but if u work there you'll learn them quick. If your a female the manager will hit on you, he has many others. And he'll give you special treatment. The Techs will ultimately talk trash on you if they don't like you...or even if they do like you. They have gotten people fired. OU is an at-will company...no reasons to let u go and they show no shame in doing it. There has been technologist that have had face to face yelling with the manager and it was brushed under rug by upper management. Be ware...money horrible and no raises will be given..even if promised to you at time of hire. It's a free for all. The positive is its a freer for all for employees...the manipulate the schedule to get out early with fake pt's, refuse add ons for personal reasons, push there pt's to other centers to help them get out early. Good luck to all :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching hospital
Dietary Clerk (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: good benifis
Cons: no room for advancement
A typical day for me is completing all diet changes, making sure patients request are processed in accordance with dietary guidelines. What I learned is to listen and provide the best customer service to the patients that I service. During my employment at, I observed how management prioritize tasks, managed employees and ensured patients received premium – more... customer service ensuring their need and wants are meet. I enjoyed working together as a team in completing tasks correctly and in a timely manner. The hardest part of my job accepting thing that are beyond my control. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking a negative situation and turns it into a positive and provides superior customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very inefficient, horrible management
RN (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: insurance, good coworkers
Cons: management, raises, no opportunity for career growth
The coworkers are wonderful, but they have absolutely no input on anything. The place is always short staffed and management doesn't care. They would rather work what little staff they have to death than to hire an appropriate number of people. New employees on orientation are always being pushed to do things by themselves, even if it is not safe. The – more... only thing that matters is that there is a warm body to do the job.

The benefits are great. The insurance is the best I've had and the 401K is a 100% match. Insurance isn't a bad price considering everything they pay either. The raises are really bad though. You could be one of the best employees there, but your raise will still be pathetic.

The teaching environment is really nice and most of the doctors are wonderful. Once you get a job there though, don't expect any kind of job advancement at all unless you happen to win the popularity contest and suck up to management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed working for this company. A great place to work.
Contract Compliance Specialist (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OklahomaJanuary 3, 2013
This is a great place to work. they just moved there business to Dallas TX.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible morning staff
Radiology Supervisor (Former Employee), OkcDecember 17, 2012
Pros: trauma
Cons: short staffed, mgr gets bonus at christmas if hr wages are down.
Staff that works mornings in Radiology, are lazy and pass work on to night shift. There is no team work, er staff will not help upstairs staff etc. They tend to hide. The Supervisor does not have the ability to fire staff. Just ends up doing all the work. Because the minute something goes bad, your the one on the line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment
Volunteer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 13, 2012
The hospital was very attentive to the patients and their family memebers. Any situations were handled efficiently and conducted in a proffesional manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment
Staff Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 4, 2012
High-acuity patients
Good teamwork unit
Supportive management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational place to work for
Nurse Partner (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 31, 2012
I enjoyed working here. I learned so much about healthcare and patient care. The nurses I worked with were very friendly and loved sharing their knowledge with those of us who were aspiring to be nurses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting workplace
CNA (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 30, 2012
Pros: free lunch, rotating weekends
Cons: no raises
Everyday required the typical and normal skills of a CNA. It helped me practice my skills and become more comfortable applying them to the residents. The management was ok. They sometimes showed favoritism towards certain employees. My co-workers were friendly and trained well. The challenge was learning how to deal with the family members and to keep – more... the calm and satisfied.I enjoyed spending time with the residents and hearing their stories. – less

OU MEDICAL CENTER Photos