Find companies:
OWENS-ILLINOIS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

OWENS-ILLINOIS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse job ever/union is a joke
Selector (Current Employee), Toano, VAApril 9, 2014
Pros: pay/insurance
Cons: management & union is a joke
Honestly don't know how this plant is still open. Dump glass every day on every shift, reject ware constantly, management has no control over staff, favoritism throughout the plant; promoting unqualified workers instead of hiring outside qualified and educated workers. Safety is a joke. If random drug tests were done, no one would have a job. If you – more... have small children or want to keep your family intact, stay far away from this place! Rotate shifts every 5 days and no downtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmarish
Batch and Furnace Manager (Current Employee), Waco, TXMarch 18, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: long and irregular hours with no real support.
Totally out of control operation that offered little to no support to correct issues. Maintenance was always needed yet usually unavailable leaving the department struggling. Management offered lip service but no support. Union was difficult as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, However location Closed Down
Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee), Constantine, MIMarch 3, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: facility closed
Facility Closed down several years after left organization. However, during my time there, it was a good company to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay, but thats it
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Tracy, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: good pay, paid lunch
Cons: weekly rotating, no pension
OI is a good place to make good money if you are single and plan on staying that way, or if your kids are grown. But if you have young children or are beginning a marriage, it is the worst. They rotate your schedule weekly, and 90% of the time you work on the weekends. So forget about your social life. their "weekend" is really a gap of only 48 hours, – more... literally, oh and by the way on a new schedule, like from swing to graveyards. this is detrimental to your health and biological clock, not to mention the lack of sleep puts you in a bad mood all the time. Like most other places, supervisors favor kiss ashes, they give the brown nosers the jobs they want, and give the dirtier jobs to people they don't like. There is absolutely no training, and most senior employees don't want to show you anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, employees are like family and very professional.
Surface Treatment Engineer (Former Employee), Toledo, OHOctober 30, 2013
Pros: great cafeteria, great sports activities, enhancing humane contact.
Cons: lots of work. not a bad thing, but it it makes you want to take some work home or stay after hours trying to get things done.
A typical day at OI was busy with lots of project to do and customers to take care of. I learned to understand other people's priorities and to listen and validate other's views. The management were leaders and mentors more than simple boss. I developed much respect for them as real people and professionals. My co-workers were helpful and very resourceful. – more... They knew their job really well. The hardest part of my job it was to keep up with that excellence as an entry level engineer. I learned a lot but I wanted to be more productive and contribute more to the company in my area. The most enjoyable part of my job was to deal with the co-workers and the sense of family and belonging inside the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's gone
Bench Hand (Former Employee), Godfrey, ILAugust 27, 2013
The Plant is closed
There is no plant
Someone moved my cheese
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient work environment
Shipping / Storing Supervisor (Former Employee), Zanesville, OHAugust 11, 2013
Pros: great people to work with
Early arrival. Directed employees to assure quality on time shipments. Located freight, scheduled, planned for the shipments both outbound and inbound. Continuous phone activity, customer and driver interaction. I have learn to ensure safety regulations, and quality comes 1st.
Many different managers through out the years. Learned a lot from them.
Many – more... co-workers. Learned to deal with others personalities.
The most enjoyable part of my position, was meeting goals.
Retirement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense heat during summer months
Forming Operator Apprentice (Former Employee), Lapel, INAugust 7, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: extreme heat
Owens might be the perfect swing shift job for the right person just not me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily new challenges and maintain operation at all time
Industrial Electrician & Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Scoudouc, NBJuly 1, 2013
Pros: gain experience
Cons: on call responce
Work place safety and operation inspection, great communication with operators and review QA reports. It was always unscheduled task always have a backup plan for any learned to cop with the unknown and troubleshoot the obstacles and solve for solid results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay is competative w/ 401k match
Mechanic (Current Employee), Fairfield, CAJune 6, 2013
Hardest part is the rotating shifts. Typical hours work is 7 with a paid lunch time. The hardest part is to repair down machines as fast as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work Pays off
Production Operator (Former Employee), Auburn, NYJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay, time off
Cons: mediocre overhead both union/salary, unprofessional/amateurish individuals hired on
Work constantly changes depending on a number of factors (which, as a matter of fact, is good!) Sorting, packaging/repackaging, QC and cleanup.

Learned the many processes and checks needed in a manufacturing environment. A lot required to produce a successful and profitable product.

Management was mediocre. Union/salary not always in the best interest – more... of the worker. Conflict of interests/turns a blind eye. Sustaining true professional individuals on payroll below standards.

Truthfully, job security a daily issue. Too many if's, when's, who's, outsourcing.

Certainly, lot's of time off, the pay was terrific and the benefits are outstanding! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on shareholder cash versus people
Manager, Global Technical Training Development (Current Employee), Perrysburg, OHNovember 9, 2012
A great company that is not managing people and culture to its full potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring place to work but pay is good
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 19, 2012
Pros: good money
Cons: no life with rotating shifts
THIS IS NOT A COMPANY FOR SOMEONE LIKE MYSELF
BENEFITS AND COMPENSATION ARE GREAT
UNIONIZED JOB
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grossly mis-managed company!!!
HR Generalist -retired (Former Employee), Lexington, NCSeptember 9, 2012
Pros: very little
Cons: company very discriminatory. all white folks in key roles, including plant managers
This plant in Lexington, NC has seen several plant managers over th e years. There is complete lack of consistency when applying policies and procedures. Employees at the plant typically get to keep their jobs even after committing major policy violations. It is a unionized plant and the union typically runs the plant. There is no drug testing done – more... when employees are involved in an accident. Policies are written down on paper but rarely ever applied. The plant managers have very little regard for HR and HR is always kept in the dark about union issues and employee issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oi
crewleader (Former Employee), clarion paMarch 9, 2012
Owens illinois makes glass bottles a nice place to work untill our plant shut down ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and good money.
Office Assistant OH& S Management (Former Employee), Adelaide SAAugust 7, 2012
Pros: good money
Cons: long hours
Overall was a good job. My job as a Office Assistant OH& S Management and Multi Skilled Operator in O-I; allowed me to do a very good process of settlement in Australia at the same time allowed me to discover new abilities and skills that I didn’t know that I had, and overall it was an experience that served to prove to myself that there is nothing – more... that I can achieve. – less

About OWENS-ILLINOIS

Owens-Illinois (O-I) is involved in more toasts than party-goers on New Year's Eve. The world's largest maker of glass containers, – Read more