Owens Corning Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High preformance high stress low pay
AUTOMATION CONTROLS ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJune 4, 2017
Could be a good stepping stone for moving up, two to three year position max. Can move up within company but must relocate to move up. Not a place to stay long term.
Pros
Secure market very profitable
Cons
Pay will be on the low side.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding environment
Operations/Materials Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXJune 2, 2017
The jobs at Owens Corning are very demanding and time was a precious commodity. The people were not well trained and turn over was high when I first was brought on board but I can honestly say that when I moved on the environment was 180 degrees different. It had become a very good place to work and the people had changed dramatically. Good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job to het sales because of price
Sales Representative In home Basement sales (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury Ma.May 31, 2017
Was the most stressful job I ever had, the way they trained you to sell was very high pressure sales, I was able to do the job for a short period of time due to what you put the customers through.
Pros
Good commition if you could get the job
Cons
Straight commition no paument for anythinh but sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owens Corning
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 30, 2017
Working at Owens Corning has been an excellent experience. The work environment is exceptional and highly professional. The people in power are intelligent, helpful, and want to see you succeed.
Pros
Great management, friendly co-workers, room for advancement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was good til palnt closure
Metal Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Ladysmith, WIMay 29, 2017
Not alot of words, plant closed in 2016. It was a good place for working and making friends. It was easy work. Learn and do your job and all will be good
Pros
good place to work
Cons
management didn't go on the floor alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hempstead, NYMay 24, 2017
At Owens I enjoyed working with all the managers and owners. You are able to learn about great sales strategies. Great upward movement and advancement. Fun work environment.
Pros
Free trips every year, Great pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and grow if you are good
Various Management Positions (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 24, 2017
I if you are self-motivated, can handle change and stress, multiple roles and long days, Owens Corning is a great place to grow.

HR and management demand growth and self-development from all employees and provide the resources and support.

Those who take advantage will grow portable skills and will not have to worry about being qualified for their next job.

Pay and benefits are very competitive, but hours are sometimes long.
Cons
Stressful, fast paced, typically political at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Inventory Analyst (Former Employee) –  American Canyon, CAMay 24, 2017
During the housing boom era this was a great company to work for. The pay was amazing and the opportunity for advancement where everywhere. However the housing market is not as it was back in 2004 so i cant say how the company is at this time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent culture in a changing economy
Leader (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 24, 2017
Nice building in a tightly-knitted community in downtown Toledo. The struggling area economy makes it difficult to recruit/retain top level talent, but the company makes an honest effort. The lack of millennials gives this company an odd automotive/Google-esque feel, in which expression and networking can be difficult for some.

Would like to see more integrity from upper level management, as more often than not, salt of the earth people are dismissed and rule is lead with an iron fist.

I've seen too many young, bright and vibrant personalities driven out because they weren't given the tools to succeed.
Pros
Compensation and exposure
Cons
OK benefits, marginalized departments, abuse of power, lack of youth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad to start at
Extruder Operator (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILMay 24, 2017
12 hour shifts in production hard to balance children

8-8 shifts, but you only get every other weekend off

2 on 2off 3 on 2 off 2 on 3 off and it repeats

Insurance is a joke

Quarterly bonus a plus, but they used to be a lot more

Bosses change too much for my liking
Pros
quarterly bonuses and payed breaks
Cons
12 hour shift 8-8
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
CNC Operator, General Production, Lead (Former Employee) –  Frederick, COMay 23, 2017
Hard dirty work. Good co workers. Very busy all of the time. Manufactured a very good product to be proud of. Good to all of the employees. Good pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great job.
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Phenix City, ALMay 22, 2017
I have a multitude of different job assignments. This company was very good at Cross training their employees so that they could fit in any department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with good people
Strategic Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 22, 2017
Overall a good company but not in a desirable city. Company is investing in new talent. Things seem a little behind here as their growth plan hasn't caught up with 21st century
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good while it lasted.
Winder Operator (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXMay 19, 2017
It was good while it lasted. I enjoyed it and thought the job was very easy to learn and to pick up. I hurt my knee at home and instead of working with me they just let me go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMay 17, 2017
Great family like atmosphere. Large company with many opportunities for growth. Depending on the job you have with them, it can require extreme overnight travel, large territory size and expectations.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Extensive overnight travel depending on position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow a career
Acting HR Leader (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 14, 2017
I am part of an early career development and Owens Corning truly takes the time to invest in your growth as a professional. I couldn't be happier with my first year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Products, Great People, Great Mission
Pricing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 11, 2017
- Management is dedicated to developing talent
- Workplace is professional yet comfortingly casual
- Can be stressful and goals can be lofty but never unreachable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work while it lasted
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 10, 2017
Good living wage job. Unfortunately, Owens Corning decided not to continue having a distribution warehouse in the Northwest. It was a very good fit for me and will be a hard job to replace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company
Human Resource Leader (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INMay 8, 2017
This is a manufacturing company-who treats its employees well. It is a safety conscious company and puts employees first. They treated me extremely well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technology and Science
Technician I (Current Employee) –  OhioMay 5, 2017
Research, prototype, test. Everyday to be better environment. Great location for commute and great people to work with. Love the team work. This company is a great place for engineers and scientist.
Pros
Great people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Owens Corning. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 501 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6