Find companies:
Owens Corning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

Owens Corning Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good working company
SAP Basis (Current Employee), Toledo, OHAugust 4, 2013
Pros: while working at off hours we use get free lunch coupons
Cons: good health caring facilities
I have learned a lot from owens corning. Its a good explosure on different SAP systems which are currently in that company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Cleveland, TNJuly 31, 2013
Typical place to work . people are nice, hardest thing would be the fiberglass(itch) and heat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell basement finishing systems
ASSISTANT SALES MANAGER (Current Employee), IllinoisJuly 29, 2013
Hardest part of job was the lack of qualified leads. Was promised 10-12 qualified appointments on a weekly basis but only getting 1-2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Regional Warranty Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaJuly 28, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits. ejoyed the work
Cons: travel
Manage Operations for entire East Coast and Warranty Installations for the entire country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR COMPANY TO WORK FOR
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJune 28, 2013
Pros: nice facility
Cons: micro managed, call center enviroment, treat employees like a number!
OMG! I would run from working at this place! They treat you like a number rather then a person. In the Customer sevice arena it has turned into a call Center. They base results on how many calls you take, how many calls you lost,
ect., They have outsourced many items to India and have a computer system that tells the employee when to take lunch, go – more... to the restroom, ect. ...Shame on Owens Corning! Treat your employees with some respect!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payrolls
Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee), Charleston, WVJune 16, 2013
Did payrolls for seven manufacturing plants and about 3500 employees. Hardest part of the job is that they were weekly payrolls.
Converted payrolls and accounts payable from different computer systems onto one consolidated system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and advance
Wet Chop Tech (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJune 15, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: work/home balance
Typical work day is twelve hours. Co-workers were very helpful and friendly. I learned how to take apart machines and put them back together and record data on an hourly basis. The hardest part was dealing with the fiberglass. The most enjoyable part of the job was the team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operator/Grinder/CNC Operator (Former Employee), Goshen, INJune 11, 2013
Company taught me a lot about fiber glass and how it can affect your daily life. Co-workers were friendly and the managerial staff was also friend and helfpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated for research
Material Analyst (Former Employee), Granville, OHJune 6, 2013
Solid place to work with management that have values.
co-workers were friendly and team oriented.
Hardest part of the job was coordinating between different work areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multinational building materials manufacturer who really looks after their employees.
National Brand Manager (Former Employee), United KingdomJune 3, 2013
Dominant multinational building materials manufacturer, opportunities within a variety of capacities and at different locations. Great opportunities for upward mobility, but a fairly slow moving organization due to size, products and market. Really looks after their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company. very ethic
Sr. Global Supply Chain Commercial Leader (Current Employee), New YorkMay 23, 2013
good. good life balance. good to live in NY. strong culture. good management. good people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wichita Falls Owens Corning was a disaster. . .
Temporary Assistant (Former Employee), Wichita FallsMay 20, 2013
When I was there. Anytime a temporary must be brought in to assist in organizing the plant documentation weeks before audit and inspection is bad sign. That they also asked that I work on industry projects using school property meant for teaching applications alone is even worse. Terrible place at the time. However, I have heard that it has gotten better – more... with new management and personnel shake ups – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Automotive Mechanic (Auto Mechanic) (Former Employee), Aiken, SCMay 8, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: the insurance packaged sucked
not satisfied with some of the thing that took place while i was at the company but overall its was a good workplace
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basement Systems
New Accounts Representative/Trust Assistant (Former Employee), Aurora, COMay 7, 2013
Pros: manageable with personal life
Cons: short time open
I enjoyed working for Basement Systems, I learned a lot from this company before they closed down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production work as a job, just manual labor.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXMay 6, 2013
Tough, low pay, but good benefits. Handling fiberglass product with weaving, stitching, repairing via machine operation. Working with technical fabrics such as ballistic, Kevlar, boating, automotive, wind power.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company values and focus on empoyee safety
Customer Value Creation Leader, Marketing (Current Employee), Toledo, OHApril 25, 2013
Pros: culture
Cons: business results impacted by housing starts
Great company with great products, safety of their employees is the #1 priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lousy place to work, INSTRUMENT TECHS AVOID THIS PLACE!
Instrument Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 5, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: hours, environment, management
First:
lousy management
second:
lousy environment
If you are applying as an instrument tech, keep looking,
you'll unplug pipes, bust up concrete, stand outside in the rain, and do plumbing, and be abused. I worked there approx. three months.First month on days, which was ok, not great ,but ok, i did "some" instrument work. However, when the need for – more... shift coverage came about, i was forced to be a shift mechanic, and did no instrument work while on nights, forced to work out in the rain, not even offered a raincoat. I saw other people sleeping on the job, and smoking in the building, and this was apparently ok.
So, if you dont mind abuse, misuse, and a very rough and nasty environment, maybe this place is for you. But;
if you are a skilled instrument tech, move along, you are wasting your time here. The pay is great, but thats all, and money isnt everything. If you worked at nights covering as a shift mechanic instead of being an instrument tech , as your job description states, then after 2 years you would have fallen behind in your career field. Some of the guys in Maintenance were ok to work with. However I think most are unhappy, and only work there because the money is good.
HERE IS A FACT:
I was let go on my 89th day of 90 day probation period, without warning, (WHICH WAS DIRTY, IN MY OPINION) I was never even talked to about my "BAD ATTITUDE" which is the excuse they gave for letting me go , on the very last day of my probation. ASK MY CO WORKERS, I DID MY JOB< AND I WAS GOOD. I DID COMPLAIN ABOUT THE DAILY UNPLUGGING OF PIPES OUTSIDE, INSTEAD OF SOLVING THE PROBLEM, IF YOU CALL THAT A BAD ATTITUDE< THEN I AM GUILTY. HOWEVER;
I WAS NEVER OUT, NEVER LATE, and DID EVERY TASK EXPERTLY< AND QUICKLY< ASK MY CO WORKERS.
So:
draw your own conclusion! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Quality Engineer / Process (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 11, 2013
Pros: learning exp
Cons: x
great learning exp
met great co workers
qcknowledge
learning ex
travel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company was a very productive buisness
Group Leader (Former Employee), Nappanee, INFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: they threw many paid lunch days were lunch was catered in
Cons: would slip in overtime with little notice
A typical work day here was and enjoyable one.. iv learned a lot of work ethics at this place. being a line leader and A operator taught me the do's and dont's of being in the position of leadership.The management in this company was very well organized. my coworkers were a joy to work with wit the occasional exceptions. the hardest part of the day – more... was when there would be a problem with any machine that may occure – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee), Toledo, OHFebruary 16, 2013
Overall, great company to work for. Opportunities for advancement are often.

About Owens Corning

Owens Corning operates in the PINK.¬†Famous for its Pink Panther mascot and its trademarked PINK glass fiber insulation, the company – Read more