Oxfam Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work within the humanitarian field !!
HR Professional (Former Employee) –  Oxford, UKDecember 6, 2015
Oxfam is one of the oldest and most reputable humanitarian organizations in the world. It was a real opportunity for me to start my professional career with it. I really learned a lot and find their mission very noble.

I would totally recommend anyone interested in the humanitarian field to join them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Lovely Atmosphere
Sales Assistant/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Queens RoadOctober 27, 2015
Supportive team. Customers were lovely and always a great atmosphere. variety of tasks set, all which were enjoyable. Gained all the experience and customer service skills required to work in a retail environment.
Pros
Flexibilty
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Project Officer - Public health, livelihood & DP (Former Employee) –  Kilinochchi. Mullaitivu, Vavuniya, Mannar,September 22, 2015
I learn more key aspects from the Oxfam GB through the Emergency response and Development project in many districts. the management appreciated my performance and given more opportunity to working several part of the country.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very happy and fun to work with them
Research Consultan (Former Employee) –  Jayapura, PAJuly 28, 2015
very pleased to be working with such institutions AIPD, because I get a good partner and always share and exchange ideas about the work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kinder gentler environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 15, 2015
A well funded non profit. Non profit does not mean no money. Oxfam tries very hard to keep their employees happy. But there is still a lot of turnover.
Pros
Very nice people, many of whom are mission oriented
Cons
Small office, limited growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first real job
Programme Manager (Former Employee) –  Gobabis, Ben-HurJuly 31, 2014
I learned a lot at Oxfam and worked with and for marginalised poor rural communities undertaking community upliftment projects and lietracy programmes.

In overall the purpose was to improve the socio economic conditions of the marginalised rural poor through education and enabling them and thus empowering them to take charge of their own destiny.
Pros
taught me to appreciate what i had and that i was well off
Cons
lots of fieldwork which I enjoyed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Gender Justice Thematic Fellow (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 15, 2014
I’m in a fellowship program and serving at Oxfam America organization, my job is focusing on gender and women empowerment issues.
I’m enjoying working with Oxfam America because the work environment is very good
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Putney, ENGJune 9, 2014
Great work fantastic people loved every minute of it.

Fine ethics, very multi cutural
Pros
great ethics and enthusiasm
Cons
paid jobs are like gold dust
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional place to develop a career
Program Officer (Former Employee) –  VietnamApril 25, 2014
I like Oxfam a lot as it has a very professional operation and management mechanism. Also benefit package is also very good. Oxfam promotes for the development of staffs in general and for female staffs in particular which many other organizations do not take into consideration.
Pros
staff training and development
Cons
Does not have a fund for Farewell party
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment
Sr. fundraisor Executive (Current Employee) –  Delhi, CAApril 11, 2014
learn so many things,know how to build relationship with the client.and make a team coordination.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a club not a job
Club Member (Current Employee) –  Burlington, VTDecember 19, 2013
It is a good club with a good cause. End world hunger is alway the goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job in an extremely complex working environment
COUNTRY HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Juba, South SudanOctober 13, 2013
Day starts with review of the priorities for the day. Requests, queries, questions on various HR issues start streaming in from managers and teams.
Everything is urgent so planning and prioritising is important. Management very supportive. Co-workers demanding and complex and therefore extra attention needed to be given to their needs. Hardest part of the job was in terminating contracts coming to an end naturally or involuntarily. It would meet with hostile reaction from the staff affected. Most enjoyable part of the job was visiting teams in remote locations, they would be feel valued and appreciated.
Pros
Hard to Work Allowance of £3, 500 per annum
Cons
Harsh climate, lack of good social services (medical, schools) in Juba
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A total disappointment
Operations & Programs (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 9, 2013
Poor management and leadership style. Hostile work environment. Lack of team work and cooperation in some areas of the Organization.
Pros
Location
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sale Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 19, 2013
oxfam was a good place to work
i made same really good friend with the time i was there
there was nothing bad i can say about the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a life changing experience.
Leader/Decoration (Former Employee) –  Menomonie, WIOctober 22, 2012
I volunteered for this position. I decided to take the event course to really figure out how much I loved event planning. That's when I really found myself. I felt so moved by the Oxfam event we did, let alone learned more about how hard it is to work in group settings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good environmental condition, cross culture
Publik Health Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Aceh, IndonesiaFebruary 24, 2012
Oxfam is excellent humanitarian organization with good staff welfare, equal opportunities for men and women, and accountability principle
Pros
good staff welfare
Cons
r&r, health care insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place with a cross-culture and social man power.
Senior Field Logistician (Former Employee) –  Southan SudanFebruary 24, 2012
A relief International NGO fighting hunger and poverty in the marginalized communities around the world.
Pros
free accommodation, meals, travels etc.
Cons
comprehensive medical cover, air tickets, social welfare etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Oxfam reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oxfam. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,341 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2