Find companies:
OZARK MOTOR LINES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

OZARK MOTOR LINES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad driving job
driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 7, 2014
Like any over the road job it takes you away from home. But you do see a lot of the country
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always be ready to leave either by your choice or theirs.
Over the Road Truck Driver (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 1, 2014
Pros: good driver facilities at the memphis terminal. 24 hr dispatch & shop line
Cons: lots of short hauls & night driving that keeps you awake with loading/unloadin
The company has a lot of contract freight which probably pays them very well but the driver is only compensated by the cents per mile which I have been told by dispatch is 2200 miles a week. Several of us have seen back to back weeks where we get under 2000 miles and that hurts. Home time is supposed to be 48 hours off after 8-10 days out but that somehow – more... stretches to 10-12 days out and that 48 hour thing is not always the case. 2200 miles a week is not good for otr and there is a lot of night driving with little rest in between loads regardless of whether you are logging on duty or not. If safety is your thing then you won't be happy here because the company needs their high paying contract freight moved and doesn't care how little rest you have gotten. Think hard about what the drivers who are so happy are saying then ask yourself why does a company that is so wonderful need to continually hire drivers every week. There is some serious favoritism here and some of the drivers boast about how they call the office workers personal cell phones to get better loads. I would not tell anyone to work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke
Driver (Former Employee), Youngstown OHMarch 25, 2014
Pros: they bought lunch
Cons: unprofessional
Went to orientation, I was the only driver, and every day, the story would change. The thing I remember most is "my truck situation."
From day one they had told me there were no trucks at the terminal I was at and that I would have to drive to another terminal to pick one up. This story changed every day until the third day when I was shown what truck – more... I would drive. It was a "short haul" truck with no real sleeper and the engine was strung out all over the floor of the shop. I took this as a sign, rented a car and drove home. During this long drive home, their recruiter called me every 10min for hours, using profanity, calling me every name in the book via voice mail. It was then I was sure I made the right choice by leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ozark Motor Lines
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 25, 2014
Pros: got a lot of exp. at that job good bonuses
Cons: all of the fighting among drivers for load do to favortism
working there at the start of driving was great. Then changes in management where not for the better and made driving for them really hard they seem to not care about there drivers anymore, was treated as if we where nothing to them but machines. Management
at first was good to work for but after changes became impossible to
work for. To much favoritism – more... going on with the drivers. And there loads. Co-work started not getting along with each other because of
it. Hardest part was trying to have piece at work with everyone. The most enjoyable part of that job was the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In general a good company to work for.
Customer Service Representative/Dispatcher (Former Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: small company
Cons: not enough work to keep busy
busiest time started at 8 am and continued until 10 or 11. not much difficulty in the work. the most enjoyable part was working with the customers and the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst company i ever drove for
Driver OTR (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 16, 2014
pick up freight mostly scrap cardboard or paper & del too paper mill for recycle i learned that they didn't care about saftey or the drivers concerns most of the co-workers felt the same way the hardest part of the job was telling the customer they needed too take some bails off the trailer the best part was the day i parked the truck in their yard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work great money too.
truckdriver (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: make good money
Cons: gone away from home to long
nice place to work,family owned.
they have good medical benifits.
good vacation time each year.
treat the drivers like family.
twice a year they have bbq for the drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place with showers tv rooms.excercise equitment
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 27, 2013
Pros: several times a year they would have bbq at the yards for the drivers
Cons: the only bad part was being away from family for 2 weeks at a time for many years.
Ozark takes very good care of there workers .While at there terminals they had million dollar driver rooms, with marble showers.2 tv rooms for drivers .exercise room with all the latest equitment for staying healthy.I wouldn't leave except my wife is handi cap and I need to be working closer to home .daily activity was driving many miles a day.You learn – more... to work long hours,and how to drive safely.we had good management that we could call 24hrs a day for help.The hardest part was being away from home.The most injoyable part was getting to see America,on a daily bases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Professional Driver (Current Employee), Lebanon, TNDecember 26, 2013
Pros: miles, pay, equipment, people, owners
Cons: driving
I see the other posts about Miles. Most drivers lack in miles for the reason they fail to communicate their availability to dispatch. those on regional are told its 1800 to 2000 miles a week not over the road miles.
When I was OTR I was home every other Friday and out on Monday.
I averaged 2800 miles a week.
I now am dedicated with Ozark and do 2750 – more... miles a week and home nightly for a 10 hr. break and off Sat and Sun.
the owners are active in the company and help out the team. the stickers on our trucks that say "family Member" actually means you are part of a Family. its all how the driver participates and communicates
every trucking company has grass in the yard and a sewer system. so it depend on if you want to smell the bad or play in the grass. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over the road
Company Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 28, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: home-time is not as promised
Hometime was not as promised. Started and finished @ .36 cpm. Supposed to be a regional driver out of Columbus, OH, with a promise of being home every weekend. I would get home on sun. night, and scheduled to leave again on Mon. night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 22, 2013
Pros: driver friendly
Cons: short hometime
A typical work day slow equipment not A lot of home time
e-logs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lose a lot of miles in the winter.
Over The Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits package.
Cons: lose mileage in the winter.
Lose a lot of miles in the winter. barely make ends meet. they had great accommodations for their drivers. Showed drivers appreciation by hanging cook out. at every terminal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CDL-A OTR Dry Van Driver (Current Employee), Memphis,TNJune 9, 2013
Friendly co-workers, driver manager is real good about getting you home. I have no complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miles
Commercial Driver (Class A) (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 9, 2013
plenty of miles if you want it...plenty of miles if you want it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always wanted to be a truck driver
Truck driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 9, 2013
Pros: meet some great people
Cons: unloading the truck
Backing that 53foot trailer was no fun.but driving all over the eastern coast was breath taking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, somewhat stressful at times.
Detail Technician (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 28, 2013
Cleaned and detailed semi trucks. They taught me a lot and gave me room for advancement..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home time only 2 days a month
Class-A Truck Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits.
Cons: limited home time
Good company to work for if you are single. Home time is limited to 2 to 4 days a month
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 9, 2012
Pros: decent miles
Cons: otr
I like working for Ozark as a company driver but am looking for a local driving position