Find companies:
Pacific Lutheran University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Pacific Lutheran University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pacific Lutheran
Director of Content Development (Current Employee), Tacoma, WASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: nice tuition benefits
Cons: low pay when compared with industry
Great place to work, and good people to work with. Culture is changing a bit though, and less warm than it used to be. Love working around the students and their hope and passion. Learned that there is life after journalism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment with flexibility in schedule
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), University Marketing and CommunicationsSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: lots of middle management interference
Relaxed work environment with flexibility in schedule. All holidays off. Lots of vacation time. Good benefits. Very good retirement package. Good up-to-date equipment, operating system and programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intense and extreemly exciting.
Research Assistant Intern (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: working in a highly professional environment, and getting a real life experience.
Cons: no cones
Although this job was considered an internship, I also took classes and received a full semester school credits to complete a minor in Psychology. I was assigned readings and assignments to complete on my time off, which were closely related to the duties I was performing at the hospital, therefore it was really intense and challenging three months. – more... But, overall, I really enjoyed working and learning in a highly professional environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Officer
Safety/Communication Officer (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 22, 2013
It was a great place to work. They cared about the people that worked for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school great learning environment
Chinese Language Program Associate (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 5, 2013
Pros: small class
Cons: na
I am so blessed to be a student of PLU and have the opportunity to have the experience of liberal arts college education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company I have ever worked for.
Residence Hall Front Desk Worker (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: study while you work (after other tasks are completed), speak to and interact with people professionally.
Cons: none.
I worked with PLU in other capacities than just this job over the course of my four years as a student, but this was the most recent one. A typical day working the front desk for the dorm involved monitoring each person coming and going from the dorm to make sure residents and their guests were safe. Handling of a "money box" and regulating the use – more... of dorm equipment occupied a significant amount of daily time as well. Co-workers were other dorm-mates, so we were able to all become close co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Assistant Rowing Coach (Current Employee), tacoma,waJanuary 17, 2013
I love working for PLU. I get to work with outstanding students that are very fun to work with. I love training the team and teaching them how to row.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you busy
Library Circulation Assistant (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 25, 2012
You do a lot of grunt work, but it is full time. You learn how to communicate in a business manner. The management takes some getting used to, but after some time you get used to it. I would recommend this job as a last resort. It can get extremely boring and repetitive after a month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive work experience
Facilities Management (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAApril 5, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no benefits
A typical day for me is finishing and working on different work-orders around the campus. I have learned many communications skills as I have communicate with multiple people through out the campus including the Vice President and many other Administrative employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Sustainability Business Intern (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAFebruary 29, 2012
Great workplace for students who are in need of a job in conjunction with a busy schedule as a full-time student.