Pajaro Valley Unified School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice side job to make some extra cash
After School Teacher (Current Employee) –  Watsonville, CAOctober 25, 2017
I enjoy this position as it pays well, despite the relatively few hours per week. The timing allows me to work other part-time positions as well as the hours are on the weekend or late in the afternoon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career in education but would not stay for long UNLESS I see positive changes!
Behavior Technician (Current Employee) –  Watsonville, CASeptember 8, 2017
I learned (from a small group of caring individuals) how to work with children with special needs. Although, there may be SOME staff that genuinely care about the children; administrators, some teachers and paraprofessionals lack that compassion for children with special needs. I am very surprised it is even legal what they get away with! I feel for the children, they do not receive the proper education they need to be successful in life!
Pros
working with wonderful children in special education
Cons
lying administration; heartless teachers; lazy paraprofessionals
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The schools have a lot of heart and compassion for their students.
Language Tester, Watsonville (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CAJune 23, 2017
PVUSD is a community of schools that serve many students whose home language is Spanish. These students really want to learn and show a lot of respect, especially at the younger levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes challenging, sometimes rewarding, but not a career
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CAMay 30, 2017
Substitute teachers in the Pajaro District have a wide variety of schools to chose from, and there's a regular need for substitutes, so it's easy to pick and choose assignments. Some classrooms have a disciplined culture from the get-go, others are more frustrating. Often the difficult rooms are accompanied by poor administrative support.
Pros
Ability to accept work at will
Cons
Pay is low, no benefits, and some schools have weak administrators
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was constantly working
Custodian 2 (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CAMay 23, 2017
a day at work was always set for me.
management was really not what i thought it would have been, they really catered to custodians that only they wanted to but did less then the others.
the hardest part of this job was watching a co-worker get away with not doing the job assigned to everyday.
meeting and greeting students and there parents when arriving or leaving.
Pros
benefits
Cons
favortism in the work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Enrichment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Watsonville, CAMay 4, 2017
Really enjoyed the staff and families I worked with. The projects I'm asked to teach are fantastic and help our families and youth expand their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and work with kids
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CADecember 10, 2016
Great place to grow in your career, you get the chance to work with different students from kinder to 5th grade. Learning so much about the school environment you get to love every part of it.
Pros
great place to learn and grow
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behaviorist.
Behaviorist (Current Employee) –  Watsonville, CAFebruary 24, 2016
Position of management of personnel, students, behavior plans, my administration team building. this position allows for expanded grow use of my skills in developing programs
Pros
Ability to bring new and exciting ideas for behavior
Cons
Not enough time in one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive environment
instructional assistant (Current Employee) –  Watsonville, CAJanuary 19, 2016
A typical day at work would be listining all thw wonderful stories they have to tell you about while passing them the snacks. Then taking them to the class and provide them our help and knowledge so that they could do their homework. As the day goes on we rotate classes which we get new kids and the others move to different activities. What i have learn would be that no matter how hard your days is kids always cheer you up.
Pros
the positive vibes and environment
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer.
Office Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CADecember 14, 2015
Pajaro Valley Unified School District is an awesome employer, great benefits, many opportunities to grow, work with local schools and help the community.
Pros
great benefits.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working place
Instructional Aide (Current Employee) –  Watsonville, CAJanuary 6, 2015
I loved working with children, Its a great company but unfortunately I am relocating but loved it there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
school district liaison (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CAMay 8, 2014
enjoyable place to work. Great if you want to help kids change their lives around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable comfortable atmosphere
School Psychologist (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CAMarch 31, 2013
Required management of various school sites, and days had to be managed accordingly. Received tremendous support from colleagues at all sites. Most enjoyable part of the job, was the students, the support from special education teams, and the hardest part was not having the best, or easily accessible and adequate resources (such as counseling or behavioral) to provide families with.
Pros
helpful colleagues, long breaks
Cons
disorganized management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Watsonville, CAAugust 19, 2012
if you like driving and dealing with lots and lots of kids then this is the kind of job you should get
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 11Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pajaro Valley Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Pajaro Valley Unified School District Reviews by Location