Pala Casino Spa & Resort Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy environment
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Pala CaliforniaDecember 13, 2017
Pala Casino to me was a very busy place there was always something to do I was in the parking lot cleaning everything going around in a golf cart cleaning the parking lot cleaning everything that has to do with the outside area of the casino I was very happy with the job I liked it a lot I just kind of had a problem with showing up sometimes just because I was so new to that kind of job it was very good job I liked it.
Pros
Pala Casino provided free lunch, provided a vehicle, provided the tools, provided the uniforms, and provided a timecard
Cons
Pala Casino provided 20 minute break every 2 hours, provided very good Healthcare, provided 401k, paid holidays, and overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun place
Assistant Food/Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  Pala, CADecember 4, 2017
Most days are busy
Solving different guest problem at casino floor other than food and beverage issues
easy going and understanding manager
fast
i have no chance to use my many years of management experience.
managing the multi unit operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place
Greeter/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Pala, CANovember 16, 2017
You get to meet a lot of new people and experience different cultures! Every day was definitely a new surprise. There was always something to do, and eat.
Pros
free coffee and food
Cons
grave yard hours were harsh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Atmosphere
Events Specialist, November 2017 (Current Employee) –  Pala, CASeptember 27, 2017
The company is well ran and the benefits are amazing. The property is well kept and the HR department keeps the atmosphere upbeat by having team building exercises on a monthly basis. They offer great discounts for employees and the employees and leaders are very respectful. toward each other and the guests. The Team Dining room has delicious food free for there employees.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get free lunch
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Pala, CAJuly 2, 2017
Just as stated. You get free lunch each day and that is the only good thing. Everything else about this place stinks. The wages are low. Management does not appreciate their employees and treats them horribly. Business comes first and your family is last. Terrible culture and work/life balance. This place needs a lot of work.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Bad management; grade school mentality, bullying, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  Pala CliforniaMay 11, 2017
The people you work with are the best. The company really takes care of you. the HR department is firm but fair and will look into all issues. the attendance policy is great.
Pros
Good food great place to work
Cons
Not close to town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Slot attendant (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAMay 10, 2017
Pala Casino is a great employer, so long as you meet the job duty requirements. It varies between departments for they are all different categories of job/career. Meaning management is good in some departments and varies with every different employee. Overall I had a good experience working for this company.
Pros
Benefits and job security
Cons
A lot of favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
Credit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAApril 12, 2017
Company provided good benefits including healthcare, PTO, and 401K. Getting time off was sometimes difficult for some of my co-workers and there was a maximum number of hours of PTO that could be accumulated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recomend
Room Attendant/Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Pala, CAMarch 16, 2017
Housekeeping has the worst management anyone can imagine , They dont have your back at all. Housekeepers are extremely rude to supervisors, calling them names best of all the msnager diesnt to a thing about it. You will always be running for linen. They never have any lol.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Management including linda jackson head of hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Place You Want To Work
Host (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAFebruary 4, 2017
There are hundreds of ways to get fired; it is too strict with policy and
team members are encouraged to turn-in each other for discipline. There is a buddy system in all departments; racism runs rampant; also extreme gender bias; and older team members are not included in anything because of their age. Human Resources is cold-hearted and unforgiving with any matter. The Gaming Commision looks for any reason to fire you...especially from your past.
Upper Management is a quagmire of complete control under a
caste-like system.
Pros
Free lunch good benefits
Cons
Horrible place to work do not work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Pala, CAFebruary 2, 2017
too many objectives in one day to keep up with. not enough pay for what is asked of you. The management is pretty supportive of individuals being happy at the work place, but people are difficult to work with. training is not very comprehensive.
Pros
free lunches, benefits
Cons
not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Pala, CANovember 22, 2016
Been employed here for over 10 years, not planning on leaving anytime soon. PTO, medical, dental, Vision and a nice 401k enrollment plan. Recomend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Guest Safey (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAJuly 25, 2016
Great company to work for. Great benefits and paid holidays.A lot of training and other benefits offered. Co-Workers are awesome
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surveillance Operator
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  Pala Reservation, CAJune 28, 2016
Fast paced and always something new. I enjoyed working for the Pala Casino. From the employees to the Casino guest was always a pleasure to work there. Great pay and benefits as well.
Pros
everything
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to work PERIOD.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAOctober 29, 2015
They never have enough staffing. The managers run around telling you, that you are an at will employee and can be fired whenever. They don't like keeping anyone past the year mark. They will slowly get rid of you. The work environment is terrible, it's like high school all over again. Everyone spreads rumors and everyone is banging everyone. Worst place to work. If you decide to work at a casino, i recommend it be a quick experience! job hunt the second you got that job.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Computer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAApril 1, 2015
It is a good in between job till you get the job you really wanted in the first place. Starting pay is $42,000 per year. It is best to not volunteer to do anything. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know people outside of the IT department.
Pros
free food and free parking
Cons
Management is very critical and does not have your back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security minus the wages.
Guest Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Pala, CAMarch 22, 2015
Great work culture, below average pay. Free food while your working your shift. Often undermanned which put pressure on you and diminishes quality customer service.
Pros
Working with great people.
Cons
Undermanned and underpayed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Environment, long term employement
Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Pala, CAAugust 8, 2014
The Department I work in is considered back of the house, this means your customers are your fellow team members, with the occasional assistance/interaction with a Guest. Depending on the department you work for will depend on the flow of your job function and the pace you work at. It is a 24 hour work environment for all employees regardless of the department. The Casino offers great benefits, employee incentives and also a Team Member lunch room that is open 24 hours. There are a lot of long term employees here, so your chance of employment over time is good and advancement , however this depends on your department for advancement.
Pros
Free Lunch, Benefits, most departments work with your for some hour adjustments
Cons
Beyond job duties acknowledgement is hit or miss, which teeters closer to a miss; Would like have better advancement, pay could be higher to match industry in the area
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun place to work!
Table Games Dealer/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Pala, CAJuly 25, 2012
I loved my job! The hours were tough due to being on Graveyard (3am-11am) and I never got any holidays off but besides that, it was great! I worked there almost 6 years and I really learned a lot from many people, including my customers, co-workers and my managers. I loved working in customer service and I think that is where my personality is the most valuable!
Pros
we ate for free, sometimes got to leave early
Cons
too many employees with drama!
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Food & Beverage Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pala, CAMarch 23, 2012
o Establishes and oversees standards of customer service and satisfaction
o Assign work to personnel and supervise their activities; review and evaluate their work and prepare performance appraisals including room service, Pala Café, High Limits Dining and team member dinning room (TDR)
o Assist work managers with troubleshooting situations. Respond to customer service issues and inquiries
o Line check - taste all food products checking for quality and that the products meet Pala Casino established standards.
o Office work - complete paperwork, daily reports, menu analysis, cost analysis and ordering products. Manage staff - including scheduling, employee counseling, PTO, training of personnel including performance review, constructive feedback and mentoring, administering the corrective action process
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 17Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pala Casino Spa & Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

Pala Casino Spa & Resort Reviews by Location