Find companies:
Palm Beach County School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Palm Beach County School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FLEXIBLE HOURS OF WORK.
SUBSTITUTE TEACHER (Current Employee), Palm Beach CountyDecember 7, 2014
Pros: offered permanent position
Cons: short break
A typical day being a Substitute Teacher consists of promoting learning in a classroom setting in the absence of the teacher, however in using experience and knowledge of learned coursework there's still things I pick up on. Learning different teaching methods from different teachers and school levels allows me to either use these different methods – more... in a variety of other settings. An example would be some teachers are more hands-on with their students while others may be more relaxed and teach straight from the book. Depending on the students at hand and from what I observe, these are thing I implement as a Substitute Teacher. My co-workers are the teachers on the same grade level as I am subbing for and for the most part they are very helpful. The hardest part of the job is not knowing what you're walking into and the most enjoyable part is being able to carry out the teacher's lesson plans, gaining respect from the kids and being able to teach them as if I am their permanent teacher. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Maintenance Worker/Painter (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLNovember 29, 2014
Pros: holidays and other days off
Cons: job security
I have had a great experience working for the school district. However, there are job security issues that occur from year to year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inviting.
Supplemental Academic Instructor (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLNovember 27, 2014
Great interaction between staff and administration. The staff really display their love for the students that they instruct.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience and a fun place to work
ELC e-learning coordinator (Current Employee), Boca Raton FloridaOctober 21, 2014
Amazing talented staff. Different day every day. Challenging and rewarding at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule; you choose what you want to teach
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLOctober 1, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, usually a free period for planning
Cons: not consistent enough to make a career of.
It was difficult finding what level I wanted to teach. but with help of management, I decided high school was the best choice. I could choose what schools and what subjects I wanted to teach and there was always a teacher taking a sick or a vacation day. Sometimes, however, there were "slim pickings" and I had to choose s subject or school I wasn't – more... comfortable with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Custodian (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 8, 2014
• Maintain the cleanliness of the facility. Communicate written/verbally with coworkers to ensure job satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some work can be very productive and some can be just another work day.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Palm Beach CountySeptember 3, 2014
Some work can be very productive and some can be just another work day. I have most fun when I am work with my pre-k babies that is so much fun to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Palm Beach County School District: Decades of Changes
Teacher (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJuly 9, 2014
Pros: quality education with advance technology and choice programs.
Cons: many changes with new leadership.
The Palm Beach County School District has had many changes over the decades. This school district is the 11th largest in the United States. The 1980s was the decade of balancing schools demographics. This was the decade of Michael Jackson and students striving to be the best in the age of America vs.The Soviet Union. Teachers were still using grade – more... books to calculate grades and film projectors for achieving academic excellent. The 1990s was the age of still more improvement in technology for the Palm Beach County School District. There was a lot of consistency because of the leadership at the top of the district. The 2000s were the age of new leadership and a different approach to many avenues to educating. New state testing guidelines along with more technology. Computers in every classroom became the rallying cry for leadership. After a few years and a change in leadership-computers are not needed in every classroom instead computer labs were the in thing. The 2010s were a time of more state testing, magnet programs, and charter schools. Parents and students having more choices in education. In conclusion the Palm Beach County School District has undergone many changes throughout the decades. There has been advancements in choices of schools, and programs. There has also been advancements in technology. Palm Beach County has been a great place for a student to receive a quality education for the past 30 years. I have no doubt that students will continue to thrive in the Palm Beach County School District. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place
Customer service (Former Employee), lantanaJune 15, 2014
Great place but less professional, and it s a great school. They are really patient with employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and being able to have a job that I like
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLMay 19, 2014
Its a fun day, because I love to cook. I learn to just be myself, work well with others, respect, and just do my job and be happy. The manager there was good, he would step in and show his effort on the job its called "TEAM WORK". My co-workers I got along with them and we all work together. I would not say there was hard part of the job, just do what – more... you do and that's it. The enjoyable part is coming to work doing what you like to do and that was fun to me. I like to cook. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but challenging
Substitute Teacher - Grades K-12 (Current Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLMay 9, 2014
Pros: constant learning
Cons: pay isn't enough for the work
A typical day at work involves problem solving and managing issues between students and sometimes adults. Co-workers can be difficult to deal with, especially those who are burned out from their long careers as teachers and teacher aids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people there are very friendly and most are fun.
Custodian (Current Employee), Florida,FlApril 30, 2014
Good environment and great people , chance for advancement, I learned many things. One of which is I learned how to coach members of the team. Also, how to give recognition , is a friendly work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guidance/School counseling intern
School Counseling Intern (Current Employee), Boynton Beach, FLApril 9, 2014
Required internship for graduate school. Individual counseling, group counseling, teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy place with "pep" Rallys, parties and more
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Riviera BeachMarch 6, 2014
Pros: lenghty breaks
Cons: the ptsa prepares luch for our staff frequently.
Working at the Palm Beach county School District is a joy, and interacting with the students everyday is fantastic! My coworkers are very cordial and helpful in every way. The hardest part of my job is some days It is hard to see some students can't finish their assignments...the most enjoyable part is seeing the students face when they get a passing – more... grade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be if a person is looking to teach
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 28, 2014
I work at different site every day, this really help ne to know a lot more schools iI was not aware of. I tried to embrace each day with an open heart/mind in order to give my best. Calling an administrator to remove a disturbing student from a class, and when a teacher failed to leave a work plan for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5
Assist other (Current Employee), Wellington, FlFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: pay scale
My only concern is I'm not being compensated at a level of confidence to provide for my family as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assist teachers (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJanuary 20, 2014
I love my jab because it offers each and everyone a chance to grow professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive daily task.
Food Service worker (Current Employee), West Palm beach , Florida 33401December 12, 2013
Pros: overtime great pay
Cons: short breaks
productive daily task of Monitoring, escorting, answering phones operating tech screens,investigating etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Permanent Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLNovember 21, 2013
Pros: being able to work with others, and helping kids be successfull.
Cons: not being able to give each and every student that one on one attention that he/she needs.
I come into work ready to work each and everyday, with great energy and a positive attitude every morning. I learned that everyday i come into work there will be new challanges that i'll be face with and it's up to me and the staff to complete them. As for our management goes, at the work site is great she's very helpful, and as for the co-workers we – more... all get along well everyone is very respectful and helpful to one another. the hardest part of my job is to get the students where they need to be and to accomplish their goal, but that's also the most enoyable part of my job as well helping kids reach their goals not only for the job site but in life as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Reading Specialist (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 20, 2013
Quality Education delivered to all students. The staff are very supportive of one another.

1 2 3