Panda Express Employee Reviews

Found 1,173 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace environment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  IowaFebruary 23, 2017
Working under pressure because standards are high and in combination with executing daily operations. Management could be better.

What I learned: Self development and control of my own power

The most enjoyable part of the job was training new associates and seeing them grow.

The hardest part was being short staff

This is a very rewarding job if you are passionate about developing yourself and others. there may be some bad days but there are a lot of good days too. In the end, this job has help me become a better me.
Pros
free meals, 401k benefits, educational fund
Cons
work and life balance, lack of training, stingy on bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Lifestyle Employer
Person In Charge (PIC) (Former Employee) –  South Euclid, OHFebruary 23, 2017
The company is a great company to work for overall. The company is focused on education and encouraging betterment for their employees to take home the lessons they learned at work and apply to their everyday life. I do believe the only negative I've seen is some upper management not adjusting to the environment of the new expansion locations.
Pros
Free lunch and company encourages advancement in work and life
Cons
Some upper management not in touch with lower level employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tolleson, AZFebruary 21, 2017
I enjoyed working at Panda Express. It was really fun learning how to make some of the food they serve. I would take customers' orders and make their plates. My favorite part was taking drive thru orders.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst management
PIC (Former Employee) –  Parker, COFebruary 20, 2017
no communication whatsoever; very poor management, unorganized, no team work/effort, bad scheduling, not understanding/comprehensive, dishonest, good food, great cooks, friendly coworkers
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks, bad management, poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
lead counter help (Current Employee) –  Portage, INFebruary 18, 2017
Its a good first job for beginners in the work industry. Very good pay when starting off. There are many career opportunities available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZFebruary 16, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know people. Not only helping consumers 'build their plate' but get to know what they think of the city, politics, weather, etc.
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and it feels like a family
Cook (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 15, 2017
I have been working for panda for almost a year now & i can say i fell inlove with the way everything works , i started as a server and now im a cook at panda.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviorment
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Liberty, MOFebruary 15, 2017
Ideal for company growth and development . Company provides perks for managers as far as bonuses and discounts for theme parks. Also mangers help support opening of other stores as well
Pros
Free Employee meals
Cons
Store reimbursement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alright
General Manger Ernie (626) (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 15, 2017
learned how to give more of a dining experience to my customers. but honestly for what they paid you and what they have you do its not worth it
Pros
chills
Cons
they dont paid you enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for
Counter Help and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAFebruary 15, 2017
Panda thinks by offering good wages, bonus, and benefits that it will distract associates from the terrible management. The managers are not up to standard. Majority of the management is corrupt and incapable of conducting themselves in a business setting. Most managers or even district managers are incapable of sending out a professional e-mail. I honestly could not take this job seriously for the simple fact that I felt more educated and qualified than the staff that was hired above me.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun palce to work
HOSTESS/ CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Gurnee, ILFebruary 14, 2017
Friendly coworkers, good management, clean place, employee bonus, free meal, fun meeting regular and new customers, uniform provided, Mystery Shopper program, reward fro employee for their good work
Pros
Free meals
Cons
distance from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while it lasted
Cook helper (Former Employee) –  Midwest City, OKFebruary 13, 2017
Typical work day would be sometimes stressfull due to lack of teamwork.
Management was good until GM was replaced.
I really enjoyed cooking Chow meng and fried rice😊
Pros
Free meals and great benefits
Cons
Wasted food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
cook (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 13, 2017
Typical work day can be very stresfull. Depending on your shift it can get very busy and the pressure is on to get everything cooked out in time. girls can get cranky
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment to work in.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, wisconsinFebruary 12, 2017
I only worked there for a short period, but when i was there, i had a very good time. The people are friendly, nd very willing to teach, if you have questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Associate (Former Employee) –  Coeur d'Alene, IDFebruary 12, 2017
It was a great place to work. Management was a little on the strict side but otherwise, was fantastic. Was all around a great company to work for. We cleaned and organized the majority of the day when we weren't cooking or serving. I learned how to make chow mien. It was a good learning experience.
Pros
Free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good time
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COFebruary 10, 2017
had terrible time communicating with manager he was never around. there was no time to get one on one communication with manager
Pros
relaxed environment
Cons
no breaks very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stringent and prepared.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMFebruary 9, 2017
Panda Express has strict rules and regulations that are a must to abide by. Working here I learned that having a strict system, whether it be regarding customer service or cooking the food, helps the day run smoothly and helps prevent disorder. I typical day at work is busy and consists of delivering great customer service as well as delectable food. I enjoyed the manner in which corporate as well as management treated their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always great food and easy going place.
LEAD COUNTER (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZFebruary 8, 2017
a typical work day consisted of constant cleaning and food prep with lots of dishes to be washed and cooked.
i always learned something new from cutting and making seasonal dishes.
management is the best here. easy going managers and supervisors.
the hardest part of the job was keeping foods fresh and dishes washed.
the most enjoyable part of my job was working with awesome coworkers and creating a relationship with loyal costumers.
Pros
free food, unlimited drink station, great pay and benifits
Cons
hard work. fast pace environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic and hardly worth the compensation
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXFebruary 8, 2017
I have worked at Panda for almost six months now and I have had to fight hours every step of the way. Managers are extremely picky but never assist in tasks. The environment itself is extremely chaotic and stressful.
Pros
Free food and base pay of $10/hr.
Cons
Poor management and stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panda Express
Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 7, 2017
I love the company just looking for work life balance. The company is a great place to work, you learn a lot from the people that are there. They also send you to train at different places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Panda Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,191 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7