Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,700 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of like being in high school
Associate (Former Employee), Sedalia, MOSeptember 29, 2014
Everyone for the most part get along but there is a lot of talking behind people's backs. But for most of it everyone is able to work well together. Management could be a little better, but i see that they have gotten new management so things maybe a lot better now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to bake bread
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: manager
Got to use my skills in baking good for the Sacramento public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced work environment.
Catering Coordinator (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 26, 2014
A typical day at Panera Bread, fast paced, always something to do. Fun work environment, positive attitudes and influence from management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disliked
Dining Room Attendant (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: working with other vibrant employees
Cons: managers, compensation, advancement
In the area I was located, it seemed very prejudice. Customers tend to be very rude occasionally, but that is anywhere you work when it comes to customer service. Managers are disrespectful. They don't know how to speak to employees the way they would like to be spoken too. You don't get paid anymore than what you started with unless you get promoted...and – more... there is only so far you can go as far as moving up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Food!
Trainer (Former Employee), Issaquah, WASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: compensation
Great place to work if you are in school. Advancement can happen but with a limited number of stores it may take some time. Catering now much better than the past. No party is too large!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Orland Park, ILSeptember 23, 2014
The people there are friendly. The co workers where the ones who made the job worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Day Baker (Former Employee), Moosic, PASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, and discounted meals!!
Cons: n/a
I found Panera Bread to be a great place to work!! I love to bake, so to be able to do that all day was wonderful!! Management are for the most part wonderful, and willing to work with you. I wouldn't say that there was a hard part, but during the holidays it does get a bit overwhelming!! A nice part of the job was being able to go out into the dining – more... room and interact with the customers, whether it was handing out samples, or demonstrating how we prepared an certain menu item. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service
Certified Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Woburn, MASeptember 23, 2014
Not my favorite place of employment. I have been working with food for 8 years and this has been least favorite job. That may be because I am currently in school to pursue something other than food. This Panera is very disorganized when it comes to managers and employees seeing eye to eye.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun to work at.
Trainer (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MISeptember 23, 2014
Pros: 65% discount on food
Cons: 30 min breaks
On a typical day, I was put on register, where I would greet the customers and take their orders. If they needed anything from bakery or barista, it was also my job to ready the drinks and package bakery items. During a rush, if needed, I would also run into dining room and bring out the food when the counter was backed up.
I learned a lot about keep – more... my temper under control and learning to have patience with others. I learned how to hide my emotions on a bad day and work with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom line
Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: retail experience
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, cost of living>conpensation
As I worked for Panera, I learned that above the store manager, there are 300 titles for the company. I didn't feel recognized as a person, I was a machine for money. The company advertised a stamp of freshness that the consumer believed, but wasn't always practiced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enthusiastic work environment with room for advancement.
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: knowledge, benefits, food
Cons: stress, life consuming, corporate rules
Panera Bread has taught me a lot about the overall workplace and myself. Although the peak hours can be extremely hectic and stressful, the atmosphere and people you work with give you a sense of stability. The intense training sets you up for success and can lead to advancement within the company such as becoming a certified trainer or supervisor. – more... I am happy to say that this company noticed my hard work and promoted me after only a month of working with the company. I then became and third shift baker and was promoted to assistant general manager. I know every aspect of the company and continue to keep learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teriable.
Cashier (Former Employee), Framingham, MASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: just heartless people, and werent team players.
I was six month pregnant when I was employed for this company, and they no empathy for me being pregnant, wanted me to left heavy things while I was pregnant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera Bread
Production / Associate (Current Employee), Independence, MOSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great discount while on shift.
Cons: managment rotation.
Working at Panera has given me many more skills than I had before. Communication is one such skill. This skill is key for a normal day to go by with less problems. A typical day at work includes checking food temperatures, making salads and sandwiches, as well as giving customers the best experience they can have while they take time out of their day – more... to enjoy a trip to Panera. My co-workers for the most part came in with positive attitudes towards the day. As for management, we really could not get going for very long due to constant managerial rotations. The hardest part of the day would be to keep going in the middle of a three to four hour rush. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be working with said co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYSeptember 21, 2014
I worked at Panera Bread part-time for 9 months.
Good place to work if you love pastries, They are very serious about thier pastries/ food menu and value customers with good quality food., long hours, low pay, high turnaround.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well respected company. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there
Prep Chef (Former Employee), Charlotte NCSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: i was able to work independently.
Cons: lack of a break due to the position i held.
A typical day at work went by in a set order of tasks. Take inventory, determine what is needed, prepare what is needed, restock carts and clean up, I would come into work with determination to meet all of my daily goals and clock out with a feeling of accomplishment and relief.

I would have to say that out of everything I learned on the job the most – more... important was developing time management skills.

As for my co-workers there were good ones and bad ones but overall I mainly kept to myself and focused on completing my work due to the strict timeframes in which I was required to complete all of my duties.

The hardest part of the job was having to adjust my workload based on how busy or slow the store was during my shift.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to listen to music while I worked, which made time seem to go by a little faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and exciting place to work
Assistant Training Supervisor (Former Employee), columbia marylandSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: we got half off our lunches which was nice
Cons: break was a little to short sometimes you wouldnt even get 30mins
I was opening the store every morning I would have to be there at 5am everyday. I also would sometimes have to bake cookies and bread as well as pastries. it was never a dull moment there. I really liked working with my team and training new associates. I also was doing deliveries and taking a lot of phone orders, it got overwhelming sometimes but I – more... take the good with the bad and turn everything into a positive situation. I like to back I learned something new there every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work with a warm and inviting staff.
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Blacksburg, VASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: 60% off meals when you work and 20% when you're off duty.
Cons: low pay
You clock in and check the deployment chart to see where you will be for the day. Everyone has a specific job to do, but everyone always helps one another. Panera is all about the customers it has helped me with me people and public speaking skills. The management is very helpful but sometimes looses focus on the customers because of money. All the – more... employees work together very well. Everyone gets along and helps out when needed. Panera is generally an easy place to work at. If you decide to become a trainer like me it entitles more work, time, and effort from you. The hardest part is keeping up with your POF's and training plans. Panera is an excellent place to work with a warm and inviting staff. I made many friends and have never had a problem with anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and customer focused team
ASSISTANT MANAGER/TRAINING SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: great team of people to work with
Cons: work/life balance, long hours
Our team at Panera Bread in Maryland was like a second family. We always had each others backs. Panera was very customer focused and made our bakery cafĂ© an everyday oasis for our customers. We took pride in the service and quality of food we were providing. The hardest part of the job was late night shifts and very few weekends off to spend with family. – more... The best part of working there were the people. Both staff and guests. We really got to know them on a personal level and looked forward to seeing them everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very hard place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee), Brea, CASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: pay check
Cons: everything else
No one got along in this place of work. The management was abusive to their workers and did not communicate with each other. My co-workers were not professional and talked about inappropriate things while in the work place. THe hardest part of this job was having management take advantage of you. The most enjoyable part was the small pay check because – more... I really needed the money to help pay for school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working alone
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Clarksburg, WVSeptember 19, 2014
it was alright just not enough money to live on. I loved working by myself

1 2 3 4 5

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more