Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,633 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family fun restaurant with great menu!
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee), West Orange, NJAugust 30, 2014
Pros: employees had discounts on the food
My typical day at work consisted of reviewing my relieves progress, communicating about the shift and whats expected for my shift.Dealt with costumers complaints, had fun organizing games with the cashiers to achieve the greatest sales of a given item. Counted tilts, Input any deliveries as they came. Ordered coins for the safe. Made sure all the guests – more... were satisfy on this day. I have learned that If you really want it, you go beyond expectations and achieve your goals.My co-workers were great, understanding, willing to help out in various situations.We were unbreakable team. The hardest part of the job was being on your feet all day long, and the occasional cranky costumer. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to see people and how we as whole put a smile on their day, no matter whether was the morning or night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shorted almost all employees in the work place.
Cashier/Barista (Former Employee), Florence, KYAugust 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches, good pay, nice co-workers
Cons: shorted my pay, bad management, harsh judgement
It was fun, the workers were nice and friendly. The customers were difficult because they were the higher class people who wanted things their way or else you were a waste of time for them to talk to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're a college student or a HS senior
Retail Hourly Associate (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great discounts on thier food & friendly environment
Cons: i haven't noticed any yet.
A typical work day is like what TV displays as a coffee shop job. It's a mostly quiet environment in a fast paced setting. The people that work here are generally easy to get along with. The managers are nice and they're more like friends than superiors. The hardest part of the job would be closing. There's a lot to do before you can actually clock – more... out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job for college and high school students.
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Norman, OKAugust 29, 2014
Pros: good food, good people
Cons: customers can be snooty some times
I worked there during my first year of college and it was a pretty great place. Quickly became friends with almost everyone I worked with. My only complaints are ones you'd hear from any other food service job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fun place to work
Opener/Cashier (Former Employee), Kent, WAAugust 28, 2014
Panera bread is a VERY fast paced place to work, and it can get very stressful. I loved my coworkers, but felt I did more than what I was getting paid for. the company itself is great with many benefits, you can typically get as many hours as you want as long as you work hard and show up on time. A typical Day for me would be showing up to the store – more... at 4:50 AM and setting up the bakery, and doing the opening duties for the store with the manager, also I would cut all of the bread that was used for the sandwiches we make through out the day, and set each loaf at the line (production) part of the store. I would take orders, deal with customers, handle money, and take orders to tables when needed. I would also be a barista and make coffees for customers, while stocking everything and keeping everything clean. I prepped some of the food and helped on the line every once in a while, getting cross trained is very easy at this job, making hours very easy to come by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong focus on customer satisfaction
General Manager (Current Employee), Altoona, PAAugust 28, 2014
Our bakery café fosters a positive environment which fosters growth for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job, eat alot
Event catering manager (Former Employee), Marina del Rey, CAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch and bread
Cons: nothing bad just no room for advancement
it was a good job throughout highschool, i need a better job though that can provide a more stable income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If Ran properly it is an easy system to follow
Shift Manager (Current Employee), Aventura, FLAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: disorder with higher management
The typical work day is what you make it. If you are proactive than problems that come wont be big. But if you are reactive then you will be behind all day. You always want to set yourself up for success in the food industry. I always enjoyed having a customer leave satisfied
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People you'll never forget and Skills you can keep.
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Hanover, MAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: amazing people/community, 65% of meals when working, 50% off meals when not working
Cons: can be stressfully busy due to it being a popular eating spot, customers can be demanding at times, if not downright rude
The people who work there are amazing, although the customers are very high maintenance at times. If you want to advance in this restaurant, it's very important that you speak your mind about it. Managers are extremely friendly and understanding about most issues that pop up. The higher ups are very personable and talk freely with their associates. – more... Basically, if you're social, and have a decent level of confidence; you'll thrive here.
Always looking for new hirees! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 28, 2014
great place to and the opportunity for advancement is good because they recognize your potential
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict
Associate (Former Employee), Canfield, OHAugust 27, 2014
They are very strict here and have a lot of rules. Good for a first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers
Certified Baker (Current Employee), Ashland, KYAugust 27, 2014
Great Environment to work in. Co workers felt like a second family. We all worked as one to make the store run well and efficient .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Certified Overnight Baker (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLAugust 27, 2014
Pros: learned how to install all flooring types from wood to natural stones.
Cons: rude customers
I learned so much at this job. My manager was pretty cool and help me learn about flooring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work!
Via Panera Coordinator (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches and learning new techniques to market the product.
Cons: sometimes i would work 21+ days in a row.
I absolutely loved my job!! I did all the layouts and catering. I loved going out and meeting new people to introduce the new catering concept Panera Bread put out. I got along great with my co-workers and management staff. We all worked like a well-oiled machine, preparing breakfast and lunch catering orders. I delivered all the orders on time and – more... in the best condition. I would have to say that the hardest part of the job was speaking in front of large groups of people without much notice. My favorite part of the job though was seeing the look on customers faces when I made them the "star" of the meeting with great food prepared and packaged to perfection. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee), Pittsfield, MAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: discounted lunches
Cons: bad pay bad benefits
FUN PLACE TO WORK, NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT BAD PAY BAD BENEFITS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera Bread
Cashier (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJAugust 25, 2014
fast paste environment
customer service
sale new items
maintenance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people,
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New YorkAugust 23, 2014
had a great time working there. helped me gain a lot of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very chill atmosphere with some great food
Associate (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great food, great atmosphere.
Cons: ability to move up in the company is almost non-existent
Days always started by coming in and prepping area for the rest of the night. I learned a lot of different skills like inventory management because i would put the truck away twice a week. Management was pretty flexible and understanding of many different things which made it easy to work there. My coworkers were usually pretty open and really included – more... everyone that walked through those doors. The job had really good bread and awesome stuff to put on it, needless to say my favorite part about that place was the food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworker
Cashier (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 23, 2014
Pros: very relaxed on certain days
Cons: not enough structure. managers do not agree on how to handle issues.
I get there after lunch rush, So I have to restock everything in time for dinner rush. I have learned that the food industry is very difficult. Its hard to please every guests needs and wants. Management was pretty relaxed until they hired new managers who have no idea what they are doing or how to handle such a busy environment. As long as everybody – more... knows what they are doing and are doing it your time can go by quickly and smoothly. I work with a great crew at night. I love almost everybody I work with we understand each other and help each other out. I enjoy my regular customers the make my job ten times esier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall company message, but not all stores hold true
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Chester, VAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: 65% discount on $10 of product per shift, free soda/coffee
Cons: new terrible smoking policy, lazy managers
Managers are disorganized and often times blatantly ignore associates in need. More worried about having their morning latte or three (which they don't ring up or account for) than if their associates are under control and not overworked. They would rather delegate work and create unfair policies than get their hands dirty. I see many newer managers – more... show a lot of spunk and enthusiasm for their jobs. If their stores are hiring I'd say go ahead. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more