Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,687 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYSeptember 21, 2014
I worked at Panera Bread part-time for 9 months.
Good place to work if you love pastries, They are very serious about thier pastries/ food menu and value customers with good quality food., long hours, low pay, high turnaround.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well respected company. Thoroughly enjoyed my time there
Prep Chef (Former Employee), Charlotte NCSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: i was able to work independently.
Cons: lack of a break due to the position i held.
A typical day at work went by in a set order of tasks. Take inventory, determine what is needed, prepare what is needed, restock carts and clean up, I would come into work with determination to meet all of my daily goals and clock out with a feeling of accomplishment and relief.

I would have to say that out of everything I learned on the job the most – more... important was developing time management skills.

As for my co-workers there were good ones and bad ones but overall I mainly kept to myself and focused on completing my work due to the strict timeframes in which I was required to complete all of my duties.

The hardest part of the job was having to adjust my workload based on how busy or slow the store was during my shift.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to listen to music while I worked, which made time seem to go by a little faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and exciting place to work
Assistant Training Supervisor (Former Employee), columbia marylandSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: we got half off our lunches which was nice
Cons: break was a little to short sometimes you wouldnt even get 30mins
I was opening the store every morning I would have to be there at 5am everyday. I also would sometimes have to bake cookies and bread as well as pastries. it was never a dull moment there. I really liked working with my team and training new associates. I also was doing deliveries and taking a lot of phone orders, it got overwhelming sometimes but I – more... take the good with the bad and turn everything into a positive situation. I like to back I learned something new there every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work with a warm and inviting staff.
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Blacksburg, VASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: 60% off meals when you work and 20% when you're off duty.
Cons: low pay
You clock in and check the deployment chart to see where you will be for the day. Everyone has a specific job to do, but everyone always helps one another. Panera is all about the customers it has helped me with me people and public speaking skills. The management is very helpful but sometimes looses focus on the customers because of money. All the – more... employees work together very well. Everyone gets along and helps out when needed. Panera is generally an easy place to work at. If you decide to become a trainer like me it entitles more work, time, and effort from you. The hardest part is keeping up with your POF's and training plans. Panera is an excellent place to work with a warm and inviting staff. I made many friends and have never had a problem with anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and customer focused team
ASSISTANT MANAGER/TRAINING SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: great team of people to work with
Cons: work/life balance, long hours
Our team at Panera Bread in Maryland was like a second family. We always had each others backs. Panera was very customer focused and made our bakery café an everyday oasis for our customers. We took pride in the service and quality of food we were providing. The hardest part of the job was late night shifts and very few weekends off to spend with family. – more... The best part of working there were the people. Both staff and guests. We really got to know them on a personal level and looked forward to seeing them everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very hard place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee), Brea, CASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: pay check
Cons: everything else
No one got along in this place of work. The management was abusive to their workers and did not communicate with each other. My co-workers were not professional and talked about inappropriate things while in the work place. THe hardest part of this job was having management take advantage of you. The most enjoyable part was the small pay check because – more... I really needed the money to help pay for school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working alone
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Clarksburg, WVSeptember 19, 2014
it was alright just not enough money to live on. I loved working by myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple managers with multiple opinions
Line Cook (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: you get free bread
Cons: bad management
Working for Panera was not for me. Depending on which manager I would speak to , everything was done a certain way. There no clarity on the correct way to close the store. Everyone there seemed to hate their job, making it an unpleasant work environment. Also one of the main managers seemed under qualified and knew nothing about the products or how – more... to run the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A passionate filled company
General Manager (Current Employee), ConnecticutSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch and decent healthcare
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
Great systems in place
Very strict routines
Management is overall is really good and fair
Not a very high ladder of succession( not too many opportunities to advance)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff with a great work environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VirginiaSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: free meals, good pay, good staff
Cons: short breaks, long hours
Casual style dining with a fun work environment. It taught me everything I know about customer experience and management. I had a great staff and a great boss. The hardest part of the job was the long days filled with very busy work flow. The most enjoyable part was the ability to make a customer happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), CharlotteSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: just about everything
Cons: employee confrontaition occasionally
I worked Morning Shift I honestly loved this job. I went to work happy everyday to see my friends and to just be at work it was a great working environment and it was in the middle of downtown. Best set of managers I’ve ever had out of all my jobs. Only complaint I can think of was that sometimes there would be some confrontation between employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
General Manager (Current Employee), Arlington Heights, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great food program
Cons: unrealistic hours worked per week.
Excellent entry level manager trainee program. Upper management has a tendency to micro manage, and operational expectations are not entirely realistic or looked at on an individual bakery-café basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Homewood, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Fun and very fast paced job, I learned a lot. Very friendly to the customers, we're like family!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Bakery, Food Line, Barista, Cash Register (Former Employee), Buffalo Grove, ILSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: great environment!
Cons: cant say!
I took much pride in working in a place that actually serves quality food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy cafe with a welcoming staff
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Aurora, ILSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: great returning customers, good management team, energetic and positive co-workers
Cons: really busy cafe, lots of menu items, sometimes understaffed
Work is divided up so everyone has a role. Teamwork and communication naturally develop as the day goes on in order to keep up with the flow of business. I learned that you have to communicate well and stay positive each day in order to make it through those rough rushes. Co-workers make it easy to stay positive and unite to make a strong team. Management – more... is always willing to help at the drop of a dime. Hardest part of the job is keeping up with the busy rushes, but the most enjoyable part is getting to talk to regular customers who share friendly conversations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days are the best days
Dining and Dishwashing, Prep Cook (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYSeptember 15, 2014
At this job there was always something to do if you didn't have anything to do the management team would find you something to do. The costumers were also great making the job an even better place to be. Seeing my co workers had to be the most exciting part of my day since we were all a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overnight bakery management for high-volume Panera store.
Bakery Manager (Former Employee), Manassas, VASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: panera has a very strong training program for its employees, and the benefits are excellent.
Cons: the hours can be very unpredictable, support from upper management could be improved, i had an overall positive experience with this company.
A typical day at work involved making all the bakery products for a high-volume Panera store from 10PM-6AM. I learned the management of a large bakery and training skills. I typically worked with one other person, dividing up the tasks and working with the ovens in conjunction. The hardest part of the job was the heat of the bakery ovens and learning – more... the intricacies of preparing and baking each product and managing time appropriately. The most enjoyable part of the job was creating something for the customer that they loved and enjoyed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Osage Beach, MOSeptember 15, 2014
I loved working here and only quit because I moved. A very motivating and fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but terrible work enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: issues between staff and managment
Aside from the pay and some kind coworkers, I will never find myself working there again in the future. The management as a whole has a poor attitude and on numerous occasions is disrespectful to the associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice to work with people
Production Line (Former Employee), commerce, MISeptember 14, 2014
I learned how to interact and take control of certain situations to make the experience a better one.

Management always did their job and kept all associates happy.

All co workers were easy to get along with and determined.

Hardest part is non existant

you could have fun working their if you take the time to know your zone.

1 2 3 4 5

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more