Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,331 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work for high school students.
Associate- I (Current Employee), Louisville, KYApril 17, 2014
Pros: discounts, breaks.
Cons: a lack of communication.
I typically clock in and look to see where in the store I am working that shift. I usually am either making food or cleaning the dining room and/or dishes. The management is decent in most ways, but a lack of communication has been a problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
panera bread
associate trainer (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAApril 17, 2014
Overall the past two and a half years have been a great learning experience. I've learned a lot about customer service skills and basic job skills since working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place
Cook/Trainer (Former Employee), Aberdeen, MarylandApril 17, 2014
Pros: half off on food when you were on the clock
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day would entail prepping and preparing food for families and social events. I have learned more about food safety and the preparation of it. The management was great they were always willing to jump right into work if we were over whelmed or needed a hand. This was a job where you really needed to get along with one another because you’re – more... working very close to around 5 other people, there had to be a working rhythm. The hardest part about the job was if were short staffed there was tons to do it increased the pressure. The enjoyable part of the job was being able to feed people and have that sense that they can just come in to either relax by the fire or just enjoy the day and not be rushed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment, always something to do.
Night Shift Baker (Former Employee), Bannockburn, ILApril 16, 2014
Pros: free meal at the end of every shift.
Cons: most nights i worked alone.
Working at Panera I learned how teamwork plays a roll in the success of the company. Even though I worked alone on most nights I still had to make sure that my managers put the right numbers in on my pan up sheet so that we had all the right products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
Cashier/Barista/Food Prep (Current Employee), Sarasota, FLApril 16, 2014
Working at Panera Bread, I have enhanced my knowledge of working in a food preparation store. I have been trained and officially certified in the following positions: cashier, dining room, barista, sandwiches, salads, and breakfast. I have assisted in opening up the store and closing down the café side of the store. I am skilled in handling cash and – more... credit card payments for food and/or bakery items. I have learned how to prepare specialty drinks in the barista station. I've mastered running the café line, preparing salads, sandwiches, and breakfast items for our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fun, Fun
Cashier/Barista (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COApril 16, 2014
My coworkers were hilarious and so much fun to be around. The management was fun and up beat. Everyone was happy there wasn't a single night I hated my job or didn't want to go to work. This was the best job I've ever had
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Dishwasher/Sandwich Maker (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 16, 2014
Pros: discounted lunches
Cons: working long hours
Dish washing duties, sandwich maker, bus tables. washing dishes and busing tables. Organizing the shipment when the truck delivered supplies for panera.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 16, 2014
Pros: my paneara card
Cons: healthcare coverage
A typical day I go and either work in the dining room cleaning tables, stocking and making coffee or I work on a register to take orders. All employees and mangament are great to work for and with. They are all very kind, the hard part of the job is to carry coffee pots to dining room if I don't use the cart. The most enjoyable part is to serve customers – more... and help them to get the products they want and love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive environment
General Manager of Operations (Former Employee), Milford, OHApril 14, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: no breaks and long hours
Most days I would arrive at 5am. I would assist the staff in the breakfast rush while doing inventory and the dough order. I would help where I was needed during the lunch rush, and then start counting down the cash registers to let the morning cashiers go. Everyday there was a different weekly task to be completed ,orders, schedule, interviews, etc.. – more... After the admin work was completed I would help out where I was needed for the dinner rush. I would usually leave shortly after dinner around 8pm. The hardest part of my job was working 12-15 hour shifts. The most enjoyable part was watching the team that I hired and trained work so well together like a well oiled machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches, flexible schedules
I had a great time while I was there. The best part of the job was that our number goal was to make customers happy. No matter what was going on, customers always came first. That friendliness towards the customers also went towards coworkers. Overall great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Catering Coordinator (Former Employee), Clifton, NJApril 14, 2014
Management team is great as well as co-workers. 'Teamwork makes the dream work' atmosphere..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always room for advancement!
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 14, 2014
Pros: advancement options, great company values and family environment.
Cons: extremely busy lunch hours and trying to satisfy disgruntled customers.
Working within Panera bread is very rewarding and encouraging. Some of the people we meet have a smile that can change anyone's day! My usual day includes clocking in and helping my co workers to exceed our daily company goals. I float from each side of the store giving anyone including managers a hand in all of their duties of the day. I've learned – more... to manage happy and concerned customers. Also, I've learned what it truly means to work as a team. The hardest part of my job would probably be maintaining multiple positions during our busy lunch hours. The most enjoyable part of my job is making my regulars favorite foods with a little love each day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bakery
Part-time 25-32hrs/week (Former Employee), Hanover MdApril 11, 2014
Pros: discounted food, friendly staff, fun work place, schedule around you
Cons: not a career, not enough pay, no growth
This was my part time job my senior year. It was very fun, and exciting. Staff was very friendly and fun to work with. I typically was a cashier or made crispanis, they were flat bread pizzas that panera use to make. I learned how important it is in life to have a job and responsibility. Management was very fair and understanding, they worked with your – more... personal schedule if need be. The hardest part about the job was probably rolling dough. hah it was pretty tough, at least for me. The most enjoyable part of the job, was probably being able to have fun at work and work with co-workers that were very friendly and helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone kneads a little bread
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 11, 2014
Pros: donating unused breads and pastries
Cons: management
Came in to work every day with a smile and warm attitude. Worked with customers for the entirety of my shift explaining menu items and ensuring customer satisfaction.

I learned the importance of customer relationships. Something about Mrs. Dodd coming in every Thursday just to see me, and to enjoy the warm, comfortable atmosphere I've provided her – more... with made me strive to make every customer my own. To make sure every customer has the same personal experience at Panera Bread so I can see them again and again.

Management at my location wasn't very stable. Lack of communication between managers, and between managers and employees.

Friendly and easy to work with

The hardest part was dealing with unsatisfied customers. until they were completely satisfied, i was working to ensure their experience would greatly improve their next visit.

Most enjoyable? I think that's been answered. Customer relationships. I always strived to better their experience, and to make sure they came back. Because of me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Soul Satisfying with an Endless amount of relationship building!
Training General Manager/Regional Training Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 11, 2014
Day starts with a shot of espresso followed by pulling inventory status reports, payroll reports, sales volume reports vs previous year reports, checking with staffed managers to review the day-so-far, high five employees that walk by while ensuring that each employee is in proper uniform, safety compliance and following all mandated procedures.

I – more... was really able to advance at this position because of the must-have go-getter attitude that I possess.

Management was very hands on with all Regional Managers with conference calls and on-going conversation of how to make each restaurant and individual serving these customers, better.

Hardest part of the job itself was two things, one being on your feet non-stop and two, encouraging GM's to not get discouraged when they have not met their sales quota. Instead, changing their mindset to see what they could have done differently and move forward.

Most enjoyable part of my job was definitely the people and atmosphere I worked in. I loved the Management, Culture, Job itself but most importantly the constant interaction and opportunity to help advance Managers, Employees and even myself as I continued to grow professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Associate Trainer/Environmental Captain (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MichiganApril 11, 2014
Pros: employee discount, flexible scheduling, staffing, 30 minute breaks
Easy place to work, and have fun. The daily routine of stocking and cleaning and serving food/ringing up customers is likable and easy to grasp.

Management treat their employees good. If you work hard and prove yourself, you can receive raises and promotion.

Other co-workers generally are fun to be around also, because of the job culture.

The overall – more... franchise culture is wonderful, you feel like you're working at something greater than an ordinary fast food place, like Burger King or McDonalds.

The hardest part about the job is the public, as is with most public service jobs. Everyone should have the experience of public service, it teaches you a ton about yourself, (good and bad) and people in general. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, I love what they stand for!
Hourly Associate (Former Employee), Southgate, MIApril 10, 2014
Pros: supporting organic food, a 40% discount on food, the smells of baked goods, friendly co workers, excellent store manager
Cons: short breaks, a lot of call offs from co workers, mediocre assistant managers, not enough hours
A typical day of work:
-Depending on the shift you are assigned, whether it's middle of the day, open/close, your assigned duties vary.
-Clean and stock assigned areas before, during and after shift is completed
-Assist customers
-Ring up customers and offer suggestions if they ask
-Have a positive attitude towards customers and team members
-Assist – more... team members when needed
-Clean lobby

I learned that organic food is better for you. I learned some barista skills that continue to be useful. I learned that Panera is a wonderful corporation/company because they provide medical, dental and educational opportunities/benefits for their workers in South America where they produce their coffee.

The store manager in particular was phenomenal. The assistant managers were mediocre and sometimes unprofessional/inappropriate with female co workers.

The co workers were in my age group and most were friendly. We all worked together as a team to complete tasks assigned.

The hardest part of this job was not getting enough hours to work. They offered employees with seniority more hours.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the smell and look of the workplace. They bake fresh daily and the coffee smell was a nice boost throughout the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, Great management team
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNApril 10, 2014
Pros: reduced food cost
Cons: hard to move up in the organization
Typical day would include either being on the cash register and assisting guests, making food on line, or training in any of the positions. I have learned that places like Friends exist and that working as a team is very helpful. My co-workers are great they care about each other and our guests. The hardest part of this job is making sure all the guests – more... are happy and that they are served in a timely manner. My favorite part of my job is the guests. Getting to know them and take care of their orders has been great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working 8 pm - 5 am does not leave time for a social life
Baker (Current Employee), Butler, PAApril 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: hours of work
I do love what I do. Baking is fun and easy for me. Working by yourself for 10 hours a day is lonely. It is tough physical work. Management is unresponsive to requests and questions. The benefits package is terrific. Raises are non-existent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is not a good place to work to many law suites
Shift Manager/Food Manager/ Training Specialist (Former Employee), Boynton Beach, FLApril 9, 2014
They are very racist and make fun of disable people who work there. They don't know how to manage their company they go threw employees like crazy and treat them like they are garbage . Horrible I will never recommend anyone to work there. I was supposed to get 2 raises never got them, they messed with my 401k and did this to quite a few others in the – more... store. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more