Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,322 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Hourly Associate (Former Employee), Easton, PAMarch 11, 2014
Coworkers are fun
fun place to work at
great food
great pastries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything
Associate (Former Employee), Southfield, MIMarch 11, 2014
i had a fun time working there over the years i met a lot of new people i learned a lot of new things all smiles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly coworkers
associate trainer (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHMarch 11, 2014
The management team was friendly and provided helpful information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 10, 2014
good food good co-works not so grate managements. and closed down in my location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but management is awful
Cashier (Current Employee), Timonium, MDMarch 7, 2014
Cons: not easy to advance in job
Typically as a cashier I would be ringing in customers, making drinks, and serving the customers bakery items. I've learned how to deal with difficult customers from this job. The management is not that great but the coworkers were awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilled food orders
Associate (Former Employee), West Lafayette, INMarch 6, 2014
Fast paced order fulfillment. Maintained cleanliness of dining area and work area. Also worked back of house operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food - Respectable place
Bakery Associate (Former Employee), Worcester, MAMarch 6, 2014
Food is served fresh everyday and staff always friendly and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great environment
Cashier/Barista (Former Employee), Amsterdam, NYMarch 5, 2014
Pros: great environment, discounts, donation program
Cons: disorganized management
My coworkers were phenomenal, and I really enjoyed this job. Most of the management was great as well, however some members of management were too eager to look good on paper and would sign off on training paperwork before the associates were ready, leading to scrambles when an associate didn't know what to in their assigned area, or short staffing – more... because a person didn't really know how to contribute to the team and needed more teaching. Such issues were few and far between, but became a stressful factor in new hires and changes in schedules.
On a regular day, the work was well balanced and enjoyable, and the environment was welcoming and enjoyable. There was always something to learn and improve, and everyone was willing to take that initiative. I was given the invitation to return if I moved back to the area, and I would definitely take that invitation in a heart beat.
My favorite thing about Panera was that no food went to waste, what wasn't sold was donated to local places like nursing homes, soup kitchens, and missions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Manager (Former Employee), savannah gaMarch 5, 2014
I loved working for Panera Bread. A healthy environment to work and grow. Early mornings but there was a great quality of life working there. Co workers were great and the concept has proven itself in a tough market by increasing sales every year for 5 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera Bread help to take of me and work with me whenever I needed it.
ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), San Destin, FLMarch 5, 2014
Pros: discount meals and flexibility
Cons: if it got to busy and we were short people there were almost no breaks.
I enjoyed working at Panera Bread, I worked there while living with my parents and helping my mom take care of my sick dad. The managers were very helpful and willing to work with my schedule so that I could be at home while my mom was at work to care for my dad. My coworkers were always friendly and even now when i go in there we share news of our – more... lives and have a laugh. The only reason I left was to continue my education in Pensacola, FL. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with opportunities for both personal and professional growth and advancement
Associate (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, flexible hours, always willing to accommodate scheduling conflicts
Cons: occasional favoritism, clique-yness
Typical day at work varied depending on which part of the restaurant I was scheduled to work (cashier, production, back of house). As a cashier, a typical day consisted of taking and filling orders. On the production line, a typical day consisted of working together as a team to produce orders quickly, accurately, and efficiently. In the back of the – more... house, a typical day consisted of keeping up with dishes and maintaining a clean appearance in the dining room. My co-workers and managers are some of the best people I've ever worked with, although there are the occasional sticks in the mud who, in dealing with them, are the hardest parts of the job. The part I have enjoyed the most is seeing regular customers and getting to know some of them on both a personal and professional level on top of memorizing their usual orders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work but difficult to advance through the ranks.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Valencia, CAMarch 5, 2014
A typical day for me involves coordinating with other managers on operational aspects such as safe counts and deposits, where to position the scheduled employees that day, and above all else, creating a great dining experience for our patrons. The daily operations are split into three time periods. In each time period, one manager is solely responsible – more... for managing the entire cafe, we call it "running the shift". The hardest part of the job has been the lack of opportunity to move up within the company despite my years and my good record with them. The most enjoyable part is working with an interesting and diverse group of nice people, and serving our patrons well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good caring company that is fun to work at
Accounting Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 4, 2014
Pros: work out room, morning bread, bagels, coffee and cappuccino
Cons: ongoing growing pains
Busy environment, active caring employees that truly care about performing at the top of their game.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced
Line Worker (Current Employee), Miami Gardens, FLMarch 4, 2014
Pros: discount on orders, co-workers are friendly.
Cons: at times it gets so pack that back ups run out.
There is never a dull moment, one minute no orders next minute there are twenty orders. It is a hard job but very reward full.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Cashier (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 4, 2014
A typical work day was making sure my area was clean and well kept while also keeping the lines short and attending to customers quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and diverse work environment with low-stress environment
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Athens, GAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: discounts for meals and new experiences daily
Cons: not an easy job for unmotivated or introverted people
quality company with good benefits and opportunities for growth and advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), voorhees njMarch 2, 2014
Pros: decent food, clean, always fresf produce
Cons: attitudes, food is pricey, lots of minors and work relationships
Not bad for a first job. Gotta be a strong individual because you get a lot of attitude from many people. Very fast paced store, especially during lunch time and before any storm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment, shady management
Line Worker, Cashier (Former Employee), Waldorf, MDMarch 1, 2014
Pros: discount on company products
Cons: unpleasant management
The day moved fast, as Panera is a fast-paced environment. The head manager gave the employees a hard time. The atmosphere was tense when he was in the establishment. The other managers were very pleasant and made work a fun environment. Co-workers were pleasant as well, and trained me efficiently to do my job. The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... the taking orders from the last wing of customers, right before closing. The hardest part of the job was trying to do one's job while the general manager criticized my every move. Without warning, I was fired. He never gave me an explanation, and I had never heard complaints or warnings about my work performance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Associate Head Manager (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLMarch 1, 2014
Great company. Treated employees great and great benefits. Fun and energetic environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Shift Manager and Planet Bread Facilitator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 28, 2014
Untill the company fell apart I loved the job. If you love pizza and have worked in the industry you understand the people are unique and hours are oh so fun. This was a great stepping stone for me to develop mgmt skills.

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more