Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,527 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Bakery Associate (Former Employee), Midland, MIJune 3, 2014
Pros: 65% employee discount
Cons: $10 maximum on employee discount
It was a fun place to work and I met a lot of different people. However, the management was intense, overbearing and paid little attention to the scheduling needs of the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, active and always on the move
Cook (Former Employee), Johnstown, PAJune 3, 2014
Set the line up for the day. Prepare sandwiches or salads for all the customers in the quickest time possible. Maintain the line clean and organized. Everyone was nice and would help you out when needed. Everyone understood each other. The hardest part of that job was at lunch rush because many times things got mixed up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALJune 2, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, 65% discount
Cons: short breaks and bad/confusinghealthcare
The job is basically as hard as you make it. If you are consistent and hardworking, you'll be fine. However, if you are more interested in an easy job where you do nothing, this isn't the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good work environment.
ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), RockvilleJune 1, 2014
Pros: discounted meals
Cons: pay could be higher
Management very helpful and caring. Co-workers easy to get allow with helpful as well. Customers are the hardest part ask dumbest question.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers/Intrusive Managers
Cashier/Barista (Current Employee), Leesburg, VAJune 1, 2014
Pros: my customers, my coworkers, and starting pay
Cons: management, product shortage
I really like morning shifts because people are really nice and their sleepy morning voices are funny. Even though I've learned to handle things under stress long before this job, the high volume of customers definitely increases your senses and how to interact with customers who aren't thrilled with the wait in line or any other reason they could be – more... mad. The managers 2 of 4 actually enjoy their job and interacting with the customers the other two do the bare minimum and have been mention in reviews online as "uninviting" they also aren't respectful towards their employees and make coming to work with them extremely hard and dreadful. My co-workers are extremely nice people and we constantly interact with one another and sometimes when it isn't busy we can assist any one of us on product knowledge they may not know. The managers and their attitudes towards customers/employees is really hard to bare.. They also never take into account your personal time and told me that my schedule conflicts "are not my problem" and continue to schedule me on a day I cannot work. My co-workers, they are some of the most hardworking people I have ever met. They're caring towards me and everyone in the cafe. We all work together and love the time we spend together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work!
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHJune 1, 2014
Pros: free meals, atmosphere, people
A typical day at work would consist of deploying all of the associates to their perspective roles. Assign tasks, keep employees on task. focus on guest interaction and speed of service, handle any guest complaints. Complete inventory and cash management counts.
I learned that hard work pays off and in doing so i built relationships with guest that I – more... could never replace. Coworkers were great fun people to work with. All very perceptive to other opinions and input. Hardest part of the job would be keeping the speed of service goal in check. With a high volume store it was hard to meet that standardized goal. Loved all of the regulars that I built a relationship with and networked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
ASSOCIATE TRAINER (Former Employee), hemetJune 1, 2014
Seriously work anywhere else but here! The job itself is complete torture and the management is rude and wont hesitate to make you feel like disposable!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the people are great to work with.
Manager (Current Employee), Fenton, MIMay 31, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no break
A typical day at work I log the food temperatures to ensure food safety. I make sure all associates are in their positions, so the restaurant runs well. I make sure we have all the products to sell. All products are prepped that morning. The bake good are bake at night, but if we need more bake goods I will bake more product such as cookies, muffins, – more... scones, and pastries. I do the end of day cash deposit. I have learned to manage my associate to be productive. Some co-worker are hard workers and others are not as productive as I would like them to be. The hardest part of the job is when an associates call off their shift and I have to find a associate who will be willing to come in to work. The most enjoyable part of work is taking care of the customers and see the associates grow in the knowledge they have learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Canfield, OHMay 31, 2014
Pros: bonus and atomsphere
Cons: i left because i was promoted to general manager at dairy queen
My general manager always found time to teach and guide me in her store. The crew was always pleasant. Completely organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked hard
Barista (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLMay 31, 2014
The working staff was nice until you did something that they did not like. Overall, the few months I worked here made me think about working in the food services never again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cashier / Dining Room Attendant (Former Employee), Massillon, OHMay 30, 2014
Its a good place to work for starting out. You get a good employee discount on food and the work environment is pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
hourly associate (Former Employee), Oglethorpe, GAMay 30, 2014
panera was a great place to work, nice employees, nice customers, and a very homie atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Associate trainer (Current Employee), Nashua, NHMay 29, 2014
It was my first and current job. They are a good company to work for and move up in if it is your desired career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I thought.
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor MillMay 29, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: bad managers
A typical day working at Panera Bread was very hectic.
I came in and worked on the registers, took orders, cleaned areas, greeted customers, made drinks, cleaned bathrooms, cleaned dinning area, and re-stocked food.

The management wasn't as strong as I would have like it to be.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with managers that had favoritism – more... amongst the other employees.

I loved the customers they were always friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, nice place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee), Austin, TXMay 28, 2014
Pros: easy
Cons: hard to get promoted
The management is pretty nice and the coworkers are great. The hardest part is just dealing with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Arlington Heights, ILMay 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: schedule
co-workers where very friendly, management would not help there employees, if anything they would down talk the employees. where never satisfied. hours, never a set schedule. the most enjoyable part of the job was having customer coming in just to see you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, terrible manager
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, mnMay 27, 2014
Typical food service job, great system for advancement, but the general manager has no idea what he's doing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Line Cook (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 27, 2014
enjoyed meeting new people
stock, clean, unload/load trucks
assist customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy workplace environment
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), Albuquerque and Santa Fe, NMMay 27, 2014
Pros: flexibility, fun environment, high energy
Cons: stingy promotion policies
I have been with Panera Bread for more than a year, I have learned to work every aspect of the establishment. I could not have asked for better management. Because I am a college student and live in two different towns throughout the year, Panera Bread has been extremely accommodating to my needs. They allow me to transfer to different locations based – more... on where I need to be for my schooling. They are also extremely flexible with hours, as they cater greatly to college students like myself. My only qualm with the company is that, though I have been with Panera Bread for a year and believe myself to be an exceptional employee, I have not yet been promoted. The main reason this upsets me is that during training, the managers make such a big deal about how they promote from within. However, in my experience, I have seen countless people come in as supervisors and managers with no experience as to how Panera Bread really works. This aside, I have had an overall exceptional experience with my time at Panera. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, crazy
Associate Trainer (Current Employee), St. Peters MOMay 27, 2014
Pros: 65% discount
Cons: short breaks
typical day was you unpredictable, some days you would get rushed, and others you would hardly see a customer

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more