Find companies:
Panera Bread
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,837 reviews

Panera Bread Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but a little negative
Cashier (Former Employee), Holland, OHOctober 26, 2014
Pros: discounted meals, free trial pastries.
Cons: gossip, fend for yourself
A typical day at work is always busy. Ive learned that you cannot trust everyone and that you have to work for you and no one else, some co-workers will help you out all the way but then again there are other that will not and want to see you fail. The hardest part of the job is learning all the different drinks and sandwiches considering they change – more... it every 6 months. The most enjoyable would be the connection you make with some customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, not so good pay
Line/Cook (part-time) (Former Employee), Manassas, VAOctober 25, 2014
Pros: 65% off of meals
Cons: unpaid breaks, pay
A typical day at work would be busy making orders. I didn't really learn anything. The management was ok but could of been more open to change. Co-workers were nice. The hardest part of the job would be learning to communicate with the different people. The most enjoyable part was having 65% off of your meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay & Heavy Workload
Cashier & Food Prep Attendant (Former Employee), Laurel, MDOctober 24, 2014
You get paid minimum wage.

I wasn't informed of breaks I had been legally required to take.

Lots of work, little pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace!
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 22, 2014
Panera Bread has helped me learn so much about what it would be like to run a business. I worked at Taco Bell from the time that I was sixteen, but felt like I needed a better work environment. At Panera, I've not only grown professionally, but also as a better person outside of the workplace. Panera has great culture values and I am proud to be apart – more... of the team. A typical day at work involves running an effective shift while delegating tasks to associates in order to manage the flow of business. My managers and co-workers are very friendly and easy to work with. I feel respected at Panera, and I respect my associates. The hardest part of my job is dealing with dissatisfied guests. The most enjoyable part of my job is the opportunity to be in charge and learning more about the business aspect of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch once a week
Cons: low pay rate
A typical day of work consists of coming in, making coffee, reviewing my emails, listening to voicemails, answering calls, filing paperwork, inputting checks, listening to customer concerns, sending no letters for applicants not hired. I've learned a little bit of everything in this position such as; accounts payable and administrative assistant duties. – more... My co-workers are very helpful and friendly and enjoy broadening my knowledge of their fields, as well as mine. The hardest part of my job is dealing with angry customer concerns. The most enjoyable part of my day would be hearing all the good customer comments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDOctober 21, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: short breaks, no benefits
This was my first job & I loved my managers & the rest of the staff. We would get together some nights after work & all go bowling or do something fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work, very fun people to work with
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Chino Hills, CAOctober 21, 2014
typical day was always busy and had something to do, i really enjoyed the staff i worked with except the managers would never communicate which one another, so this made work difficult sometimes. All in all the company always treated me well, never had a serious problem here at panera
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced customer service environment that was fun to be a part of
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), North Andover, MAOctober 21, 2014
everyone on the team knew the importance of having fresh products with proper food safety procedures and knowledge. The team worked together smoothly with a few hiccups that were easily addressed and resolved. Overall the organization was fun to work for and promoted hiring and promoting from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Associate (Current Employee), Mission Viejo, CAOctober 21, 2014
It was ok to work there. Liked a few of the managers. 3 months went by and never became a trainer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jobs not bad but management sux
Baker (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 21, 2014
Pros: free food was left alone to work mostly
Cons: you can never count on anyone to help wen needed
arrive at 7pm start ovens,proofers,ext.. proof and preb all food to be made then bake it all put toppings where needed then prep for the next dayafter all that you clean up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to make it to management
Cafeteria Associate (Former Employee), Trumbull, CTOctober 21, 2014
good family environment. every one keeps a smile as long as bread are sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wheaton, ILOctober 21, 2014
Pros: free meal
Cons: long hours, work holidays
Very busy environment. Schedule isnt flexible. You work very long hours, including holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dining Room Assistant (Former Employee), Aberdeen, MDOctober 20, 2014
Pros: working around people
Cons: no hours
Was able to work with some really great people. Enjoyed seeing customers leave happy and full with all the great food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch
Sales Associate (Former Employee), East Rutherford, NJOctober 20, 2014
Great experience for a first job. Top notch all the way.

 Trained in food preparation
 Developed good customer skills
 Maintained upkeep of facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Bakery Cashier (Former Employee), Greenville, SCOctober 20, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: new management
I loved working at Panera the atmosphere was great and i enjoyed everyone who i worked with. The only reason i left is new management came in and wasn't accepting with my school schedule so i had to choose school over my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Opertations Mgr (Current Employee), seattleOctober 19, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: pay
I enjoy Panera very busy it is a great place to work with amazing people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice on the surface
Manager (Former Employee), MichiganOctober 18, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers, fun training program, food, atmosphere, uniforms
Cons: no free food available for employees, workload for timeframe, low-pay, complicated menu exceeds size of company's specialty (pasta??)
Usually, your job consists of satisfying every guest no matter what they request or your limitations. The management sets unobtainable goals for their staff and other managers by not providing the tools or time. Don't let the great smells and pretty colors fool you; Panera Bread will string you along with better pay and advancement opportunities that – more... never materialize. You can be an expert in every position and have the best attitude but that won't save you from the intense workload, ridiculous standards that change for every employee, and being yelled at by a guest or manager. You'll make a lot of friends but not actually get anywhere professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera has a great culture
Michigan Distribution Manager (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 18, 2014
Panera has a no Jerk Policy that is great for its associates who feel their manager is being to hard on them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera Bread
Associate Trainer (Former Employee), Manchester, CTOctober 17, 2014
Pros: growth in the compant
Cons: working unexpected double shifts.
Working close with the management to best fit the needs of the new hires to train them . I set up the line. Prepped food and cleaned and sanitation of the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Wonderful culture
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bloomington, ILOctober 16, 2014
Pros: working conditions, atmosphere, culture, and benefits
Cons: average pay, and always busy
Panera is always a step ahead of its competitors. They have a great employee culture, and fun atmosphere. Always new and exciting things to learn. As a Restaurant manager you get to learn the whole business over time, as you play different roles in the restaurant.

About Panera Bread

Work Passionately...Please visit us online to learn more at PaneraBread.jobs. Panera Bread is expanding quickly across North – Read more