Find companies:
Papa Murphy's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
168 reviews

Papa Murphy's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great launch pad
Crew Leader (Current Employee), Richfield, MNApril 29, 2014
Great place to get your feet wet with the food industry. A place where you can develop skills that will help in the long run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for young people, not enough to live on
Supervisor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 24, 2014
Was hired as supervisor, but wasn't treated like one. Worked with good people. Good job for younger crowd
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to practice customer service and communication
Crew (Former Employee), Neosho, MOApril 21, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: rare discounts, inexperience management, no raise after 9 months
As a student, I worked the afternoon/night shift, completing all closing duties with one other employee. This included making pizzas and sides as customers requested, stocking all ingredients for the morning crew, running the cash register, taking call in orders, cleaning the make-line, dishes, floors, and coolers nightly, as well as counting down the – more... drawer and closing for the night.
The manager at the time lacked experience in any managing position, and was in near constant conflict with the entire crew, 2/3 of which had been there years before the new manager arrived. Crew complaints were given to the owners, but the manager was never evaluated. 9 months in, over half the original crew had either quit, or had been fired by the manager, including myself, with no reasoning given.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to make various types of pizzas, as well as getting to know the customers. My co-workers and I recognized who the regulars were, and they looked forward to seeing us. My co-workers were easy to get along with, fun, and knew the difference between work and play. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Prep Cook and Pizza maker (Former Employee), fairbanskApril 18, 2014
The people that worked there where great but the management was only worried about making money not about the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Team leader and shift supervisor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 18, 2014
I really enjoyed this job it was fun and creative and I loved interacting and getting to know the customers. We got into the community and tried to help out as much as we could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Crew Member (Former Employee), Cleburne, TXApril 16, 2014
Papa Murphy's Cleburne, TX I worked hard to get everything done, i was nice with costumers, kept a positive attitude and when i wasn't doing anything i went to the back to see what was needed to be done. I broomed the lobby and the back rooms so it would be clean and we wouldn't have to do as much work when we were about to close. I also washed dishes, – more... i help prepare the doe so it would be ready for the next day to be prepared and be put on the plates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pizza
General Manager (Former Employee), Sikeston, MOApril 16, 2014
made the customers happy! I learned great responsibilities, handling money, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Bonney Lake, WAApril 7, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: management, hours
Typical day is coming in doing morning chores and then either getting all produce done or going and cutting cheese or prepping dough. Also answering phone calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lakevillle, MNMarch 25, 2014
Pros: half price products. relaxed management (for franchises)
Cons: very difficult to advance in career, low pay, no hard skills for other careers.
I was employed with Papa Murphy's for over 4 years. A typical day at work depends what shift you're working. Morning shifts are responsible for preparing ingredients, dough, side items, etc. The 4pm to 8pm shifts are for most new employees. These people are responsible for greetings customers, taking their orders, as well as finishing them quickly and – more... accurately. While I didn't learn any job specific skills I'll be taking with me on my career endeavors, I learned good and bad management techniques. Most of the employees at Papa Murphy's were teenagers, which required a different style of management. They were not responsive to "textbook leadership" which drove managers to adopt their own casual style of management. The biggest incentive management used was leaving early. This lead to employees working as quickly as possible to get out of the job as quickly as possible. Overall, that incentive really didn't make the company that appealing to work for.

The most enjoyable part (as well as the worst) was just working with other employees. Some of those guys were very fun and well humored. Others just wanted a paycheck and didn't care how they got it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great. But a job.
Shift Lead (Former Employee), Meridian, IDMarch 21, 2014
Pros: half off pizza.
Cons: management, coworkers, bugs, pay, schedule
Its crazy some days and then dead slow other days. work schedule is never consistent unless you are part of management. You will make minimum wage for a very, very long time. Management is difficult to deal with and unprofessional. The coworkers are all teenagers who tend to be snotty. I hated the unfair treatment. I loved the free pizza.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, not so much with the manager
Pizza Maker (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAMarch 16, 2014
Pros: free pizza
Cons: management
The manager seemed too tense about non-work related business. Not that it was any of mine, but he always complained about it.
The staff was fun to work with, I can relate to a lot of them. College student, trying to find a career path, and living check by check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training for those with special needs.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 10, 2014
Working with special needs to train them to be able to work outside of a vocational setting.
Hardest part is not having enough hours available to be able to provide more for the clients.
Is most enjoyable to see special needs employees realize that they can do what they thought they couldn't.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Lead Preparation (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 2, 2014
Was a great first job. Not a bad company culture but moving up past supervisor may be difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Team Member (Former Employee), Clayton CaliforniaFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: chill management and good food
Cons: low pay
A good amount of work for not much compensation, but pretty laid back and fun place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to start working
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Edgewater, COFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: flexibility with your schedule.
Great company to work for, not a lot of room to advance though. The pay is not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, Clean enviornment
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 10, 2014
working there is cool, good people come in and many people come back after they have been there once.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enivorment
Crew Member (Former Employee), Topeka, KSFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: management
The manager was not wanting the job dutie for management because they didn't act like a manager. Besides the manager the work enivorment was fun. I learned to make pizzas and other things. The customers was enjoyable to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Oshkosh, WIFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: get to eat yummy pizza!
The management is great. I felt as though I was treated with a lot of respect. It was a fun place to work and I got along with all of my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
MANAGER (Current Employee), Pasco Wa.January 29, 2014
Pros: free pizza
Cons: no benifits and compensation does not match the responsibility.
Very demanding, almost no free time. Every waking moment is spent either at the store or on the phone with an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work place with great Supervisors to instruct me of task.
Food Preperation (Former Employee), Antelope, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: got to learn how to make pizza, was given a chance to better myself.
Cons: seemed like every task i was given, was a race against the clock.
A typical day at work would be me clocking in, washing my hands and getting started on whatever tasked they required done (mostly making, cutting, and weighing dough for each pizza size), which i did not no how to do. So i learned that their. Cutting spinach with a knife, slicing mushrooms with a machine, chopping tomatoes into tiny pieces, and cleaning – more... the work place and the equipment we used. The hardest part of the job would be having to do the pizza dough within a time period of 10 minutes. The most enjoyable part would be learnig and being shown how to do each ttask productively and safely. – less

About Papa Murphy's

Papa Murphy's is the fifth-largest pizza chain in the country, operating over 1,000 franchised and corporate-owned locations in – Read more