Find companies:
Paper Source
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Paper Source Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Work Culture
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 8, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: limited training
• Oversaw and held responsible for 40+ employees

• Forecasted all daily productions of various departments that included over 2,000 SKUs

• Supported manager, to develop, implement and maintain reporting structure for all production demand

• Managed all production-related and packaging issues with cost effective options

• Town house meetings were – more... on a monthly basis, topics discussed were future store openings, new colors and designs and expectations were expressed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, Customer Service Not A Priority
Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portlant, ORDecember 7, 2013
Pros: easy, mindless
Cons: no hours, poorly managed
Paper Source has fun products and has some nice creative training, but it doesn't prioritize its lower on the totem pole employees. I would get 4 hours a week sometimes and others 25. It was very inconsistent. They also were very gossipy. Managers were disrespectful and did not lead by example. Customers were not a priority. They valued talking loudly – more... and aggressively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love working at paper source its fun and great people
Sales Associate (Current Employee), kansas city moOctober 18, 2013
The management is great and full of lovely co-workers. the pay is great and you get to make stuff all day. I love going to work everyday. you get to help creative people, learn about products and their stories, everyone has an education within art, the hardest part of the job is not taking home all of the products, Tom the manager is wonderful i have – more... a second job and he makes sure that i dont have to work to many days in a row between both jobs,and the assistant manager is a wonderful lady who makes sure that everyone is happy and well taken care of when Tom is making sure everything else is done. i have no complaints about paper source at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Vernon, CAApril 29, 2013
Picked and loded porducts for shiping wearhouse good's. move material's into and out of machinery. worked at a fats and stedy pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Workshop coordinator, teacher and sales associate (Former Employee), Beverly Hills, CAFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: gift cards
Cons: parking
Help customers with products and invitations. Learned rubber stamping and card making. Management was always helpful and supportive with ideas of how to help out customers. Co-workers were team players. Hardest part of job dealing with difficult/angry customers. Most enjoyable part of job helping customers with their creativity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and inspirational workplace
Creative Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dedham, MAJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: in a shopping plaza so there were plenty of stores to explore in my free time, selling products i genuinely loved, whole foods across the street
Cons: very uncommunitive staff, no benefits, not much sense of "mentoring"
A typical day at work for me always included scanning the store for things that need to be replaced or refilled, keeping everything as neat and tidy as possible, and making sure to interract with anyone who walked through the door. Paper Source taught me that I really do want to work in an environment where I can express myself creatively, for I feel – more... most productive then. I feel happier, thus more helpful to everyone else. I also learned that being an employee to a company means you have a responsibility to do your job and to do it well. Being late is never okay, regardless of the reason, whether it be 2 minutes or an hour. Your co-workers count on and depend on you. The co-workers I had while at Paper Source had all been employees with the company for a year or more. It was almost a clique and I didn't want to get involved in gossiping and such, so that cast me out a bit.
The hardest part of the job was always wondering whether not I did a good job that day. My manager was very nice and willing to help me learn, but was never clear about what was "right" and "wrong," unfortunately it ultimately lead to the end of my Paper Source career. There were many enjoyable aspects of the job. I like to craft, and at the Paper Source there was a "demo table" in the front of the store. It was stocked with mostly all products we carried, and part of our job was to create things demonstrating the kinds of paper we carried or the kind of stamps we had that season. It was all very creative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping people do creative things daily!
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 12, 2012
Paper Source is a wonderful place who hires wonderful people! Everyone is creative and passionate about all things art and craft related!! A typical day may be helping design a baby shower, child's birthday, invites for every party occasion, scrap-booking, teaching about the joys of rubber stamping and heat embossing! Its great helping create and fufill – more... customers creative desires!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment but very few hours
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 1, 2012
Pros: employees and customers are valued, you get to do fun crafts
Cons: few hours and no benefits
While the work can be enjoyable, most employees work on an extremely part-time basis. The customers are typically easy to deal with and the employees are mostly good to work with. But good luck actually trying to make a living working there...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growth doesn't become them
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 25, 2012
Pros: forces you to think outside the box
Cons: no real benefits. if it works for you, then fine.
Creative people, creative spirit. Unrealistic goals, strange measurables. Management and leadership have little to no vision. They deliver messages- but don't think for themselves.. Need some think on your feet people! Inspirational managers make for asperational employees. Expectations were out of order-- hard to make goals, and meet objectives. Overall, – more... teams at store levels are as great as their leaders, and a number of them are great... – less

About Paper Source

About Us Paper Source is a premier paperie and retail store offering a unique selection of fine and artisanal papers, stationery, – Read more