Paragon Systems Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Atmosphere!
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 30, 2016
A typical work day for me at Paragon was greating professional workers on a daily basis a fun place to work with multiple activities to do such as working with the ex-ray machine and using the wand just to mack sure all was secure and more also the money was fair.
Pros
Very Professional Atmosphere!
Cons
None that I can think of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive abd fun to work
Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  6100 Wabash Ave Baltimore md 21215January 14, 2017
Love my job but would love to work closers, in the Belair Md area. Nice job and could workers are nice to work with, the supervisorsame are family oriented and we are a team.
Pros
Good working atmosphere
Cons
Distance from home and hourly rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for a job that becomes family, here's where you should be
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 16, 2017
Great pay, management always on their P's and Q's. Great employees so down to earth and everyone wants everyone to be great.
Pros
all good
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CST Bellevue, NE
CST (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, NEJune 10, 2016
GREAT PAY!!! considering the actual work. Regular training provided. There is always room for individual improvement and the job contributes to the big picture. Nothing but good things to say. It is a great learning environment. My only complaint is once the project is completed I'll have to relocate to the next job available.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Large Team multiple personalities.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Los Fresnos, TXDecember 14, 2016
Where I work down south Texas it sucks!! The management doesn't support anyone and Officer don't respect each other either!! I'm disappointed in this company!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays okay
Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 2, 2016
Pays okay. Management is very unprofessional.. I dont really care for thos position or even understand why I am forced to write something that dont matter.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just no
Contract Guard (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 1, 2016
This started off as an amazing job. Easy, different things day to day and then the harassment will begin. The over working (getting off shift at 11pm and being expected to be in a city 1.5 hours away by 7am) The management doesn't care about it's employees and will do anything to try and save money on their end.
Pros
Good money
Cons
EVERYTHING
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Security officer (Former Employee) –  El Dorado Hills, CAMay 25, 2016
The owner is very demanding and is very difficult to deal with. Very boring days and nights at work. Simple tasks to do and are done very quickly which leaves a lot of down time.
Pros
Easy work environment when left alone.
Cons
Owner is very demanding and difficult. Micromanages to much.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Armed Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Devils Lake, NDJuly 17, 2016
I am a current employee with this company and have been for almost 5 months. The pay is great for the work you do and it gives you experience that a lot of companies look for. If your part time you don't get the benefits but that doesn't bother me. My fellow Co workers are amazing and the supervisors are there to help you with anything you need just call. I see a ton of negative reviews on the company and to each his own but I have no issues whatsoever and enjoy this job very much. The experience is great and the paid training is a huge benefit because it gives you multiple opportunities to get better and possibly advance your career. This job opens up so many possibilities for you when it comes to getting a job with D.H.S. or F.P.S. and if you don't get along with your fellow employees just put in for a transfer and see what's out there. If you are tired of being part time same thing applies as before. All I have to say is don't let a few bad reviews keep you from applying because it's a different experience for everyone and my time with the company has been outstanding in all fields.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 25, 2016
Poor leadership, unprofessional workplace culture. Unable to eat, use the restroom or take breaks. Mandatory overtime and threatened to be fired if you can't work 60 hours a week.
Pros
Money
Cons
No breaks, hostile work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience
Physical Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 24, 2016
Typical day at work consists of maintaining access control. Making sure that everyone comes in safe and leaves safe. Co-workers can be very fun to work with as long as a "family" mentality is involved. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with regulations, they change so frequently. the enjoyable part is the interaction and networking that goes on.
Pros
the money is good
Cons
schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mandatory 12 hour shifts 5 days a weeki
Armed Protected Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Derwood, MDMay 5, 2016
very short of staff, mandatory 12 hour shifts. No personal life. Sometimes you getyour lunch break on your first 15 minutes of work and you don't get another one .
Pros
Good pay
Cons
management is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 21, 2016
• Serves as the principal action officer on the spectrum of protective security and global threat responsibilities in high threat regional locations, ensuring operational services provided are current, timely and adequate to support the requirements of the National Capital Region (NCR).
• Reviews and evaluates security policies, programs and operations, including initiating analyses to identify and eliminate security programs and operational deficiencies and improvements. Coordinated, planned and implemented programs and procedures designed to provide Executive Protection to defined key personnel, as dictated by policy and risk assessment.
Pros
wonderful work sechedule
Cons
401k payment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
foreign based company
Protective Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 21, 2016
its contractor security for federal protection services which is part of homeland security. no benefits, no sick time, very little if any vacation. alot of traveling which hard on family.
Pros
get to meet alot of people
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Construction Surveillance Technician (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, NENovember 27, 2015
Management is poor at best. Total friends and family benefits package, if you're neither, you don't get them. If you speak up, you will be ostracized. Management walks around telling people who they can and cannot talk to. You are a number, only a number and they don't care about your family. Mold and other issues at the site, workers getting sick and management told them not to say anything and to just say it was allergies. Was told I would be day shift M-F, turned out that was a lie and told I will work what I am scheduled or find another job.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management, work environment, morale
Was this review helpful?Yes28No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
politics politics politics
armed security (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 20, 2015
Do be to excited, your making great money yes but there is no job stability, you may work today and be out of a job tomorrow, ignorant supervisors only in the position because of friends in high places, has nothing to do with professionalism and the Union laughable, a union is only strong if the company respects them
Pros
pay
Cons
no job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits and you may be out of work due to management not giving you advance notice on up coming classes to keep your credentials up to date
Protective Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2015
I was out of work for 30 days because my project manager failed to alert me about updating my suitability. I would have been out of work for about 1 month if a co worker didn't alert me about taking my 40 hour refresher course by a certain date. The project manager knew about me being on the list to take the 40 hour refresher course, but failed to alert me when I was on vacation.
Pros
401k plan
Cons
You can be out of work without pay when management fail to alert you about upcoming classes
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pled the fifth
armed security guard (Current Employee) –  VADecember 2, 2015
would not like to give Paragon a review. it mite come off wrong and do not want to leave anyone thinking anyway about a company based on my dealings with the office on 19th street and the few people I had to deal with for it does not reflect on the whole company
Was this review helpful?Yes9No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Updates, Never Ending Updates
security officer (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VANovember 23, 2015
The Post Security Officer schedule is a joke.
For a 7 day rotation it isn't uncommon to have updates 4 and 5.
If you aren't in the email chain to get the updates than you are responsible for not where you are assigned.
I have received calls telling me that the post in XXXX (4 hours away) is cancelled for tomorrow even though I was never informed that I was due to work there.
From all accounts it is near impossible to get fired as long as you qualify on the gun range.


Short term job while you find something better. This is NOT a long term job!!!
Pros
$19 an hour to start, Rumored medical coverage (if you qualify), Union Representation
Cons
No breaks/food/drinks/electronics during working hours, Scheduling is inconsistent at best, expect last minute calls to work especially if you tell them you can’t, In all incidents you are guilty until proven guilty, Updated schedules are not widely distributed, you are expected to adhere to updates regardless if you are informed or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great salary
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 5, 2016
Duties basically the same as FJC responsibilities, worked out of town more, worked more overtime, and better co-workers who knew their jobs
Pros
excellent salary
Cons
no/short breaks, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Paragon Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9