Find companies:
Parkland Health & Hospital System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

Parkland Health & Hospital System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parkland Hospital
Business Operation Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 13, 2014
I enjoyed the patients and the culture was very diverse, which made the job more interesting over the years. I had a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive very nice work place
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), DallasJuly 3, 2014
Pros: goor work environment, good benefits, great management.
Cons: no cons
Everyone is very professional and ambitious.
Good place to learn.
Great Mamagement.
Dependable coworkers.
There is nothing hard in my job.
Being a Team Member is the most enjoable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
parkland was the greatest experience i ever had ..working with different nationalities patients
Floor Technician III (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 2, 2014
Pros: meeting different people /learning to care for the patients
i worked at parkland hospital as a floor technician 3 auto scrubbing,stripping and waxing patient rooms .I had a lovely experience working with different types of people actually building bonds with the patients as I entered the rooms and exiting....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pastoral Care
Chaplain Resident (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 1, 2014
Every day was an active process of providing pastoral care to a large culture of patients, staff and the greater Dallas community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change
tech (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 25, 2014
parkland is a place where there needs to be some change in customer service. its needing to be more about the patient care than politics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcomed challenges and diversity.
Administrative Support Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 24, 2014
Pros: diverse group of coworkers
Cons: no advancement
Working here at Parkland has allowed me to gain a more complex knowledge of the healthcare world. I have been involved in numerous meetings and projects that has allowed me to see how and why we need healthcare.
Everyday I am faced with a new challenge, whether it be helping my nurse educators set up a class or trying to find meeting minutes for my – more... VP, Director or Chief Nursing Officer.
This job entitles me to support various leaders as well as supervise an awesome group of administrative secretaries. I have been able train each of them to work in a professional manner and to know how to deliver 100% work requests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work. bad management
NP II (Former Employee), COPC clinicJune 15, 2014
Pros: salary, good experience
Cons: bad management, back stabbing employees
after I got to work, reviewed labs then patients started coming in. I loved my patients and taking care of them but they scheduled too many patients and very frequently double and triple booked. You were judged on how long it took you to see a patient and then your evaluation reflected on that and also how the rest of the staff did. If the patients – more... didn't mail their evaluation's back in, everyone's evaluations were bad also. You were expected to keep up with your labs and do mandatory education on line but wasn't given time to do that. Maybe an hour a month. Were told to do it "in between patient's". There was no time in between patients. We were always told what we were doing wrong but rarely told the good things. The staff were back stabbing and a lot of gossiping going on. Staff were encouraged to tattle on the rest of the staff and were written up for petty things. Staff lied to management about others and then they were written up for it for it because management believed them. Management targets you if she wants you out of the clinic and goes to the staff and asks them to write you up for things you didn't say or did. Things were taken out of context and exaggerated. You weren't supported by managers or the higher ups. Parkland does NOT care about their employees. The patient care is about quantity not quality. You weren't given the proper time to see the patients. You can not do an exam, diagnose, test and treat in 15 minutes. MA's were not allowed to translate so you had to use the language line which took up a lot of time. Most of the patients didn't speak English. The communication was horrible between management and the staff. I would not recommend this place to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place, no help from HR if needed, call center is the worst place -once in no way out or transfer
triage /research RN (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 10, 2014
Pros: days hours but then they coverse you to nights when they fire everyone and tell you it is mandatory
Cons: so much....so much....don't go there....especially if you are a nurse...
benefits if you stay long enough to get them or don't force you out.....the labor board won't help even if discriminated against....that federal investigation was real...they did not listen to nurses....watch your back.....even if you ask all the correct questions at the interview they will lie....love the mission statement but they don't follow it...many – more... many many will tell you all I have told ...just find them... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Patient Account Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasJune 6, 2014
Pros: potlucks were fun, it allowed us to bond with other employees
Cons: healthcare, vacation of course, and pay incentives
A rewarding career experience where you felt you were helping customers solve and resolve billing, payment and overall status inquiries into their accounts. A typical day at work would be reviewing customers accounts to make sure they were billed properly and determine their portion that was due after the insurance company made their payment. It was – more... important to establish a rapport and give accurate information so the customer would have a sense of relief in knowing they could focus on their health improvement and/or well being and not stress over their medical bills. Management encouraged a "team effort" and focused primarily on making sure the hospital accounting system and applications worked properly to give our patients excellent service. The hardest part of the job was having to communicate what we called "not so good news if the insurance company declined their payment request. For example if a portion of their bill was not covered by the insurance, how would they pay the balance? The most enjoyable part of my job as a collector and later a patient account liaison was find a solution to this dilemma by either putting the patient or debtor on a repayment plan or determining if they were eligible for some type of government assistance, or a decision made in their favor after an appeal was assessed. Ultimately any advice or direction given to improve or satisfy the customer was the highlight of my job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Patient Care Sitter (Former Employee), Dallas, TxMay 30, 2014
Parkland has a lot of advancement positions and you will learn a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Teamwork
Environmental Services Tech (Current Employee), Dallas,TxMay 30, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: short breaks
I Terminally Clean 6 Critical Care Rooms A night. I Have Learned Alot Since I've Started Considering The Fact I Came Into This position not Knowing Anything. The Managers Are Pretty Much There Whenever I Need To Know Anything Or If Im Uncertain About Anything. My Coworkers Are Very Helpful & I Like The Fact That Everyone Works As A Team To Get Whatever – more... Needs To Be Done, Done. The Hardest Part Of My Job Would Have To Be eing Very Alert Of Diffrent Things Because I Do Work In A Critical Care Area Where Operations Are Done Pretty Much 24 hours a day. The Most Enjoyable Part Of My Job Is Meeting & Interacting With Others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Homes, Medical Practice Assistant (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 28, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: lots of patients.
Parkland can be a challenging place to work, it is always busy. We have patients from all over the world. Parkland has great programs to help the indigent and low income families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
PFS Registration Spec (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 27, 2014
i enjoyed working in this dept but at the time i needed to grow .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow into a seasoned professional
Prenatal Genetic Counselor (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 21, 2014
Teaching hospital that allows professional growth within reason, however needs improvement in recognizing the work and dedication that its employees provide to patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work. Best job I have worked in my life.
Radiology Unit Aide (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 20, 2014
Pros: great team, nice managers, good pay, good incentives
Cons: some patients you deal with can be rude but its all a part of the job
I managed to have an opportunity to work for Parkland hospital last year for 6 months and it was the best 6 months I have honestly had in my career life. I would consider everyone that I have had the chance to work with family. The managers are very nice and are there for you to talk to about anything, and they will understand and help you. I worked – more... as a radiology unit aide, and there was many chances to work my way up. Unfortanatly I had to leave because of family problems back at home, but I would recommend working here to anyone. The pay was very exceptional for the work as well. Overtime is always offered and you get pay increases if you work nights/weekends. Benefits were great as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
HEALTH UNIT COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 20, 2014
From management to coworkers to patients, this is a great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Pharmacy technician (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 19, 2014
Any busy day
New Ideas
God relationship
God relationship
leaving the job not done
job done on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to learn
Patient Registration Representative in ER (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 15, 2014
Pros: daily, hourly, was always different
Cons: seeing people die
I loved the ER due to every day was different, every patient was different.
Learned a lot in the ER, the hardest part of the job was it was never ending and demanding, fast pace work.
Due to it being the ER, people needed you.
The most enjoyable part, helping the ones in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Great Benfits
Pharmacy Technician III (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 13, 2014
Pros: great supervisors
Cons: work schedule
Great place to work in a diverse atmosphere, Great teaching environment, will learn a lot, Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers
Surgical & Trauma ICU Therapist (Current Employee), Dallas,TxMay 9, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: mgmt
Great people to work with. Management is all about cutting the bidget and supplies. They want you to work when they want you to and cut you when they dont need you,.

1 2 3 4 5

Parkland Health & Hospital System Photos