Find companies:
Pasadena Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Pasadena Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pasadena Unified School District
Computer Application Teacher (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: great equipment
Cons: far from home
Being a teacher I believe there is not typical day at work. Each day is an exciting experience to face new challenges. I have learned to appreciate everything each student has taught me, even the bad ones. The hardest part of the job is stress to enhance the learning experience. The most enjoyable part is the ability to have my finger on the pulse of – more... our future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Custodian (Former Employee), pasadena ca,91109January 22, 2014
Pros: lots of work
Cons: no benefits
typical day: clean restrooms,sweep and mop class rooms,empty trash cans replce liners
Learned:a routine the more you do it,the faster you get
Management:doesn't bother you as long as there's no complaints
co-workers: get along most of the time
hardest p.o.job: dealing with work load
most enjoyable: pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice school district to work for
Teacher (Former Employee), Pasadena, CADecember 4, 2013
Cons: self-entitlement attitudes by students and poor management by supervisors.
Typical day averaged 50+ hours a week, co-workers were great (although none are there now). I didn't like the self-entitlement attitude of most of the students but did like the handful who have contacted me since about how I helped them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Mail Room (Former Employee), Pasadena, CANovember 5, 2013
Everything about this job was great. I was able to experience how people work in different departments. Great opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great school district
Special needs aide (Former Employee), Pasadena, CASeptember 21, 2013
Pros: great experience
Cons: salary was low for type of work included
graeat opportunity to help special needs children evolve and integrate in to the community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace!
Substitute/Temporary Health Clerk (Former Employee), Pasadena, CaliforniaAugust 12, 2013
I loved working as a health clerk, learned alot! Friendly staff and I enjoyed helping students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preschool Teacher, Experience and knowledge. Dinamic and I like to work with parents as well.
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee), 1520 N Raymond Ave. Pasadena, CA 91103July 21, 2013
Pros: school activities for special events.
Cons: shorts breakes and one hour for lunch.
I had two groups of students morning and afternoon class. The children ate at the school morning class eat breakfast and afternoon class ate lunch. We followed Open Court and Learning Foundations activities like art, math, science, music, free choices, outdoor activities. I had two assistants in the morning and two assistants in the afternoon the reason – more... is because we have children with special need in the classroom. The hardest part of the job was DRDP'S . It is easy to do but very long pages. I enjoyed this work every single day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Assistant Site Coordinator (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAJune 1, 2013
Pros: field trips
Cons: budget cuts
I was the Assistant Site Coordinator for the after school program Typical work day consist of supervising 8 team leads to ensure there daily curriculum was up to part with the children's school day work take payments from parents and create work schedule for the team leads open and close the program everyday. My co workers were easy to work with and – more... the work always got done. The hardest part of the job was graduation when I have the kids for the school year and they graduate and move on it's always sad to see them go. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the kids response to me I never had any issue with the kids in my program for the most part ... Making a change in a child's life is priceless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Experience
Intern Therapist (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMay 21, 2013
As an Intern at this company, it provided me with a vast degree of experience in working in the public school system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
School Nurse/Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAMay 1, 2013
Iincreasingly challenging work due to budget reductions, but staff have good rapport and work as a team. Coordinator supportive of staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not recieve support from management.
lead teacher (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 7, 2013
I worked for the Pasadena Unified School District many years ago. At that time ist was stressful working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PUSD Summary
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: threat of work force reduction is always looming
I am always busy at work tackling different tasks. I pride myself in getting my work done efficiently and collaborating with other departments to learn different skills. Unfortunately, the District has been and continues to be mismanaged. My co-workers are supportive, and we work together to produce materials that will benefit the District and the community. – more... The hardest part of my job is not being able to work at full capacity, and not contribute because of my position. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the student population and members of the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job!
Instructional Aide (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAOctober 31, 2012
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: benefits, monthly pay
LOVED THIS JOB! If you love kids, you will love this job... no matter what school you are assigned to. Never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Work place
Temporary Clerk Typist II/Office Manager (Former Employee), Pasadena, CASeptember 30, 2012
I loved working for the school district. Everyone becomes your family easy work flow, even when the day is full of things to do, you find yourself enjoying your day. Now the district is big so I am only speaking on the part Ive worked out of. Which were the actual schools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with children of all ages
Youth Leader III (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAJune 13, 2012
Pros: satisfaction of seeing students succeed.
Cons: part time employment
1) Work with children in a classroom enviroment.
2) Assist children in subjects such as math, science & language arts.
3) Write lesson plans.
4) Plan, organize & implement daily activites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Ast. Teacher for the PECP (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMay 12, 2012
Pros: flexable
Cons: late hours
this is a good experiance, great hours, lots of activities with kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of co-workers on the pre-school team.
Physical Therapist Consultant (Current Employee), Travel throughout district as neededApril 21, 2012
Pros: good work setting, great co-workers
Cons: far from home (45 miles), many district cutbacks
PUSD provides a great setting in which to provide physical therapy services to children. As the only PT in that school district, I was able to help plan and develop the current clinic setting. I have the opportunity to plan my own schedule, work closely with the families and develop individual PT programs for each of my assigned students. I attend IEP's – more... annually for each assigned student, and provide initial assessments with follow up IEP's for un-assigned students as they are requested throughout the school year.
In addition I am a member of the Transdisciplinary Preschool Assessment Team, and we all work closely as a team to assess each incoming preschooler, develop a plan and hold the IEP meetings.
I work closely with the classroom teachers throughout the district regarding classroom positioning, adaptive equipment needs and motor strategies.
We have had 3 new district administrators in the past 5 years, and that has resulted in many layoffs, cutbacks and changes within the district which does negatively affect the entire district. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, very well organized
Youth leader (Former Employee), Pasadena, CA.March 6, 2012
P.U.S.D is great for college students who are looking for a part time job with set hours. Also for those who enjoy working with children.