Pasadena Unified School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 41 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Served food to students
Food server (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CADecember 7, 2016
served food to students during breakfast and lunch hour to make sure they are able to eat something before the break was over and had to go back to class.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule for families with small children
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Altadena, CASeptember 21, 2016
Same work hours and holiday schedule as school aged children. Greta for families. Very rewarding helping children reach academic goals. Co workers are amazing and very hard working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leadership Trying to Change a Culture of Mediocrity
Interactive Process Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 14, 2016
Certain Leaders and Departments are trying to change a culture of mediocrity, while others cling to it. Work with some great people who are productive as well as extremely knowledgeable.
Pros
Work Schedule, Benefits
Cons
Government Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard for no respect or pay
youth leader (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 12, 2016
This is a babysitting job. Babysitting children that are very disrespectful and uneducated. You will have no respect from superiors who do not have your back or know what they are doing, they are also very lazy. They will blame you for their mistakes. They expect you to instruct the students without any materials, because they either will not provide you with the materials needed or will take too long to purchase them. Then when students don't get their work done, the superiors blame you. You are also blamed for the students' terrible results. Worst job I ever had. You also have to buy material from your own pocket because again, they do not supply enough materials.
Pros
none
Cons
disrespectful, uneducated students, no support from superiors
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Youth Leader (Current Employee) –  PASADENAAugust 3, 2016
This was the worst job I think I ever came arcoss. They dont treat people with respect. They belittle you in so many ways. This program has changed ever since certain people became in charge. They have no sports at certain schools and they have unfair cheerleading competitions where they have a professional coach at one school who put these girls who travel for competition with girls who are first timers and take everything from these girls. It was sad and disappointing to see that you have to shake your butt and be fast to win 1st place. Im raising ladies not thots.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Accounting Technician (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 17, 2016
Management had lack of control and were unable to make changes that would benefit their employees. A lot of people that are in management positions have no business being there, lack of people skills and willingness to take on their job causes loss of good employees.
Pros
ALOT of time off
Cons
Hard to move forward and grow- need to wait for people to retire.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Typist Clerk III/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 17, 2016
flexible schedule, it is ran off workplace politics. Co-works become family and management could be better. Pay isn't he best in LA County
Pros
Schedule
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love pusd
Child Development Teacher (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 5, 2016
It was a pleasure to work at Pasadena Unified School District and to be apart of their Early Childhood Education program. I miss being apart of PUSD, they really care about their students , especially the ECE department.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job working with children
Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAOctober 3, 2015
This program helped build my management skills and my ability to communicate effectively with others, especially with those in higher administrative positions. I learned how to work great with a team and to bring our vision to a reality. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the children reach their full potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with kinder through high school kids.
Youth Leader/Tutor (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 21, 2015
I wish I could get paid more for the stuff I do with the kids. Because, I actually have my own class room with 20 something kids and we do homework and we also go over other educational stuff with students only for ten dollars an hour.
Pros
Good schedules.
Cons
Little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's true
LEARNs Site Coordinator / Student Body Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 20, 2015
This place use to be fun to work at... over the past few years it just isn't fun anymore... they are out of touch on what the kids really need
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great to interact with students with need of an after school program
Youth Leader (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CADecember 10, 2014
It was a great experience to work for students that required activities and supervision for homework making. I learned to designed lesson plans to a specific group of students paying attention to their own interest,
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really do miss working there :-)
HVAC (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAOctober 4, 2014
Great place to work and the people there were extremely friendly. Unfortunately I moved out of the area and couldn't make the commute to work but it was a great experience for me and I miss the people that were not only my co workers but became my friends.
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Good Pay, Hoildays, Benifits, Great Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Enviroment for students 6-12th grade
Site Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 30, 2014
I Operated an After-School enrichment program. I was responsible for handling budget, hiring staff, designed, organized, and implemented a variety of after school curriculum programs that must appeal to ages 11-17. The best part of this job was being able to work with kids and help shape their lives for the future. Hardest part of this job is the benefits weren't the best and neither was the salary.
Pros
Working with kids, teens, and young adults
Cons
Salary wasn't great
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, but they need to get it together
Handicap Instructional Aide (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 14, 2014
It's nice to have holidays and summer off with my kids, but they really need to get their communication with their employees together. I love working with the kids, but the pay is not good. You have to love working with kids because you really are not doing it for the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at PUSD
Instructional Aide Special Education (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 5, 2014
I was part of a great team! It was a good learning experience as a mother and as an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJune 16, 2014
Love the environment and always stayed busy. Love the staff and my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excitalble and you go on filed Trips
Behavioral Aide (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJune 11, 2014
Promotion of education is a great field. Awsome place to learn interpersonal and coping skills. to work as a team and as a independent thinker.
Pros
Free water and donated snacks.
Cons
Mutiple personalities
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exposure to new tasks and autonomy of work
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJune 9, 2014
Daily work task keep you busy. Learned several skills and procedures for working in a school district. Management is widely available to you when needed. Co-workers are friendly and helpful. Constantly learning due to constant changes makes work interesting and not the same.
Pros
Good Benefits Rates, very understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Clinical Social Work Intern (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 23, 2014
Great clinical experiences, co-workers are really helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pasadena Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
4.0

Pasadena Unified School District Reviews by Location