PATERSON PUBLIC SCHOOLS Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Support Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJJanuary 21, 2017
Hard work is not rewarded. There is no cooperation or support from upper management. Coworkers are great but you cannot show support for one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodictive
Assist students (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJJanuary 20, 2017
working this company was a great experience will work again .I love working with the kids . Great place to move up and different fields
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many tests, lack of supplies, filthy schools
teacher (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJDecember 6, 2016
There are many young teachers who are not allowed to practice teaching as they learned in college. There is an over-emphasis on test scores and a lack of support.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Lunch moniter (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJOctober 18, 2016
Working around children is always fast paced, People also have hidden agendas you just have to know how to work around them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constant work
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJOctober 9, 2016
This was a substitute position it was a great intro into the real world after college. It helped me decided if I wanted to proceed with teaching as a career or move forward to another industry.
Pros
great exposure
Cons
placement was inconsistent
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It,s a great place to work for
Behavior Assistant (Current Employee) –  Springfield, NJ 07081October 3, 2016
Paterson Public Schools is fun place to work. There is always room for growth in the company. I learned a lot about working with children. I also enjoyed the people I worked with.
Pros
working with great people
Cons
the salary could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJSeptember 15, 2016
Great work with children, meet new people, some co workers were good, hours were good. Enjoyed the job. The best part were the children
Pros
Working with children
Cons
Co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work is key
Personal Aide (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJSeptember 10, 2016
Paterson Public Schools is truly a family. Your co-workers are very supportive and always willing to help you with any task. There's constant collaboration, advice seeking and given. Everyone works together as one team. The hardest part of the job is getting parents involved for the betterment of the students that we work with everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJJune 28, 2016
I enjoyed working with the students in the kindergarden classroom and helping them progress in terms of literacy and mathematics. I also enjoyed working with my colleagues and learning about their classroom management techniques. The hardest part of this profession was trying to meet the learning needs for all of the students.
Pros
Working with the students
Cons
Limited time to teach
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a challenging job
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJJune 26, 2016
District administration is out of touch with the building level needs of the district. Teachers are disrespected by administrators of all levels. However, for the motivated teachers dedicated to students, there is a lot of opportunity to be creative in teaching and reaching students through individualized instruction.
Pros
diversity
Cons
administration in some schools is awful
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJJune 15, 2016
Being a substitute teacher provided me with experience and knowledge. It gave me experience from children school grades as low as preschool to children as high as high school. The hardest part of job is that is based on improvising. One must improvise at all times because the teacher that is usually in the classroom is absent, and most of the time there is nothing for the students to do. A sub must be prepared for everything from creating lessons within minutes, to bad behavior, to dealing with all types of disabilities.
Pros
positive life lessons
Cons
Not full time, no benefits, and not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Inner city district
Teacher (Former Employee) –  VariousMay 20, 2016
Teaching Paterson inner city students
Contract restrictions, evaluations, district mandates
general daily 8-3 hours but overtime/home work needed
Salary based on experience, length of service
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to work with people around me
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJApril 4, 2016
I learned how to deal with all type of student
I learned that I have to respect and talk nicely in order to receive the same respect back
I learned how to work with others and get along
The hardest part of the job was to get everyone attention in some schools
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
SCHOOL SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJJanuary 13, 2016
Performed confidential secretarial and clerical responsibilities necessary to assist the Principal and school staff in providing a safe and effective environment for the school and students.
Pros
great hours and benefits
Cons
area
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and data driven work environment
TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJDecember 1, 2015
Paterson Public Schools is a very diverse school district with people of all ethnic backgrounds that creates an atmosphere of acceptance and culture. The school district has a top down leadership policy. Teachers enjoy working with students as I do but, often feel like we do not have autonomy. The best part of being in this district is the rich culture, diversity, and history.
Pros
History and culture
Cons
No autonomy and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse with opportunities for advancement.
Elementary School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJNovember 20, 2015
A diverse organization with multiple opportunities for advancement, personal growth and professional development.
Pros
Benefits and Healthcare
Cons
Subjective
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with the students
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJNovember 11, 2015
A typical day is working with the students and making sure they understand the material given to them in the classroom. I enjoy working with students and staff getting positive feedback from both students and parents. I have learned how to manage a classroom and prepare lesson plans. I also enjoy having all students involve in what the lesson of the day is.
Pros
Working with students and staff
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day
Teacher /Faciltator (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJMarch 23, 2015
Paterson schools lack funding, supplies and are overcrowded .So
over morning coffee any staff member could participate in our AM chats. We discussed pooling money for supplies...we would discuss
lack of disciplinary support from our principal...cleanliness .of our 2 x 4 teachers room...etc.
Over my 30 years I learned that staff members are not enemies but friends.
I learned to NEVER discuss another teachers' methods or teaching style within a group.
We as a unit learned to work together and not apart.
The most important part of the job was seeing success at the end of the school year, knowing every peak and valley was well worth it !
Pros
Learning from others, meeting socially with staff, developing life long friendships.
Cons
lack of supplies, incomplete sets of books, disciplinary problems
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJFebruary 18, 2015
I work at the Paterson Public Schools as a substitute teacher. I have experience working with all grade levels within the district.
Pros
working with the students
Cons
there are none
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good, that's why I'm looking for a better job
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJJanuary 8, 2015
A typical day at work consists of my calling the the service at 5:20 in the morning to get a job for the day. Sometimes I get a long term job, possibly for 20 days at a time then on the phone again. I need break. I would like an opportunity to do something in the Graphic Arts field that I would enjoy.
Pros
As a Substitute teacher there are no pros, its just a part time job.
Cons
I'm paid $110 a day
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PATERSON PUBLIC SCHOOLS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4

PATERSON PUBLIC SCHOOLS Reviews by Location