Patina Restaurant Group

Patina Restaurant Group Employee Reviews

Found 31 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work Environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 2, 2017
Poor work environment
Poor leadership and organizational chart
Poor benefits packaging
Overall, bad experience with corporate culture and how my coworkers and I were treated andvalued
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but not as a primary livelihood.
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAFebruary 2, 2017
The management team always seemed a bit flustered, but the job itself was not demanding. There was a lot of standing around during the downtime (when the show was going on), but plenty to do once the audience came out of the show. Pay was minimum wage plus whatever negligible tips you might make; the drive to Costa Mesa every day ended up costing more than I was making, so I had to quit. However, I got to work in a beautiful performing arts center and hear the first act of Broadway-style shows every day, and if finances allowed it I would gladly go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 1, 2017
calm environment, beautiful views due to its location in the Brooklyn botanical gardens. Great staff and even better customers! room for growth if wanted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  orlandoJanuary 24, 2017
Although it was always good to come in to work and interact with all the employees and guest, unfortunately there is no advancement. The pay is not that great, but you do learn a lot about the culture and to move fast and effective.
Pros
Great Learning Experience
Cons
No Advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 18, 2016
Patina's company culture is pleasant, management makes sure you are taken care of. They make sure you get hours and care about helping you reach goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay, poor hours, irate management
Server (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 14, 2016
Unfortunately the Patina restaurant at the concert hall is in former state of it's old glory. Not a shift goes by where you aren't screamed at for hours. Everyone hates their jobs, and the tip system there is archaic and leaves you living paycheck to paycheck.
Avoid
Pros
Water Sommelier
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional Work Place with Exquisite Cuisine
Server (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 11, 2015
Serving to upscale crowds in a very fast pace setting.Friendly helpful team captains and co-workers.Idea job for a college student
Pros
Free lunch great pay
Cons
Not as many hours as I would like.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 21, 2015
It's a face paced environment working for multi-restaurant company. You're constantly moving and working non-stop for the satisfaction of customers and clients.
Pros
Salary & Commission based sales, employee restaurant card, 30% discount
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short, but sweet emplyment
server (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 18, 2015
I worked briefly for Patina Catering which was under Patina Restaurant Group for two years between 2010 and 2012. It was usually late night as we would setup and breakdown venues for banquets and wedding receptions, as well as serving food, wine and appetizers.

I enjoyed it a lot because there wasn't much downtime. We would be briefed on the menu when we arrived and then we go out to setup. Then once it was time it was for appetizers and wine. We'd hustle out. It was non-stop until the venue was cleaned out.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and very productive place to work.
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 9, 2015
A fast paced, very straightforward and to the point New York City restaurant company. Great place to get experience right out of College.
Pros
Lot of great people to work with.
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to have worked in Naples Pizzaria
Busser (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAMay 27, 2015
Some of the managers are really strict and discipline while at the same time they are friendly and relax. There is order in and people who work there are really good. tips were decent, but if your willing to work hard and make money your servers will give you good tip. when you need time off managers will work out the schedules.

I learned many things from servers and customers. I made sure i was always polite and friendly to everyone i meet and greet them. if there was a spill or an accident We made sure the guests are fine and we made sure safety is our number 1 priority.
Pros
good people working, very friendly, feel like a family, and good pay and tips
Cons
always busy at night time but thats where the money is at.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast passed, and enjoyable
Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 13, 2015
Everyday was different and full of energy. I always looked forward for the week ahead. I learned time management by working in a fast passed environment, team work and passion. My co-workers were wonderful. Hardest part of the job was when something does not go as planned, but in the end it all works out. Most enjoyable part was that I never looked at it as "work", everyday was always diverting.
Pros
constantly being busy
Cons
getting stuck in traffic while driving to events!!
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 29, 2015
The Patina Restaurant Group is a good first job when moving to Los Angeles. The corporate structure could stand to be streamlined.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Server (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 13, 2015
Lots of forgiveness, extremely flexible and supportive environment. Money isn't great but the staff are wonderful and the brand is top notch.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kicking it old School
Corporate Offices (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesJanuary 30, 2015
Worked there a little while. Environment is challenging but you do get exposure to many aspects of the business. Senior Leadership is very traditional. It's all about the numbers and less about the people. Having said that a lot can be learned. Lack of innovation and progressive leadership can be stifling however.
Pros
reputation financial stability
Cons
traditional reactive
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy all aspects of working with Patina Restaurant Group.
Catering Staff (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 27, 2015
Patina Restaurant Group is a great employer. The company has an excelant product, the food and service are exceptional. The other employees are friendly and cooperative. It is a professional attmosphere to work in and has consistantly superior events.
Pros
Great locations and beautiful decor the oportunities are fun to be associated with
Cons
Not as many assignments as I would like to have
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 22, 2014
good and excellent working environment and customers are the first priority
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply for this JOB !!!!
pastry cook (Current Employee) –  Downtown L.AAugust 11, 2014
The bosses are horrible don't know how to manage the kitchen...
Half the bosses are not there or they are in the back texting and talking on the phone...

Pastry has 4 pastry chef that are always on there phones ....

And they don't like when you ask them questions?
They don't have patience for that ...

When they interview they tell you we get along and we don't cuss ...
And that's they first thing you hear the pastry chefs cussing .
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where I gained the most knowledge of working at the highest level
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Greater Los AngelesJuly 28, 2014
Patina group is one of the best if not the best foundation for any cook trying to learn and advance his or her career!
Pros
very food forward company with great pride in its concept.
Cons
long hard days and nights
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large outdoor dining/bar area
Manager - Beer Bar at Café Centro (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 9, 2014
Responsible for running pre-meals with staff as well as daily training of food and beverage specials. Interacting with guests on a daily basis to help build return guests and ensure guest satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Patina Restaurant Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6