Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC

Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Employee Reviews

Found 258 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJanuary 31, 2017
Must be willing to work hard great place and people to work with. The time on and time off worked well with the work life balance. The management believe in safe work practices that is most important while working in this industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe company to work for
Regional Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Victoria, TXJanuary 28, 2017
Good company with good safety culture. The company cares about the good assets and promote people all the time. They are purchasing the best drilling equipment in the market.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Floor Hand (Current Employee) –  Eighty Four, PAJanuary 27, 2017
Great company to work for. They always keep you working. 2 weeks on & 2 weeks off is the schedule. They have got rid of pre diem and pay hasn't changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company
Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  Ruston, LAJanuary 27, 2017
Large company, nice equipment and very high safety standards. There are advancement opportunities but you have to be serious about your job and the safety of you amd your fellow employees. Overall a great place to work.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not many benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Lead Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TX 77905January 26, 2017
This is a different life. 6 months of work while away from tge family. 90 hours a week with great pay. Drilling for oil all over Texas.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  rockiesJanuary 19, 2017
good company to work for. every region is diffrent in all kinds of ways. so if you go to a rig in texas and one in colorado they culture is way diffrent wont even think it is the same comapny.
Pros
good bennifits
Cons
culture of each region
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is good place to work till family or friends come to work
Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  Fruita, COJanuary 19, 2017
I worked for Patterson uti for 10+ years they where always fair and honestly company. In the last year its been who you know and not what you know it should always be work performance not WHO you know.
Pros
very good about keeping you working.
Cons
last year no leadership all on who you know
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for hands on people.
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXJanuary 11, 2017
Job was extremely physical, required thick skin common sense, intelligence and muscle endurance. This is not a job for the light of heart I have seen grown men cry, throw up and quit in just a few days. I have also seen a 140 lbs woman do everything that I did, pressure washers, wrenches, hand tools and hammers.
Pros
Great pay, benefits, time off.
Cons
Unstable work industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
Rig Hand (Former Employee) –  Eighty Four, PAJanuary 9, 2017
good pay and time off with advancement opportunities. very safety concuss and education with training on all equipment.
Pros
secure, steady pay
Cons
two week hitches
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we take care of each other and make sure we go home safely too our families
derricks (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXJanuary 7, 2017
I like the they strongly care about employees safety .work together and always assist other coworkers and make sure that I follow the jsa hand book following the procedure on lock out tag out
Pros
work coveralls boots
Cons
I really can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Won't be fun for awhile
Drilling Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2016
They are starting over no old hands left inexperienced people only. They over work all employees call them in on days off always short handed.
Pros
Free boots, clothes
Cons
Health care to high
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Floorhand/Motorman (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXDecember 25, 2016
Was good and very good I like working there just got laid off because when gas prices go down to job go away we had to make a break before we had the trip type in there what would we have cleaned up .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Field Instructor/ motorperson (Former Employee) –  Midland, TX 79706December 12, 2016
I was very fond of working with this company, for being a woman 'Joe' gave me the chance to 'prove' myself out there on the rig and I loved every minute of the hard work! This company has great values and safety standards set into play.
Pros
safety classes, training, week on and week off
Cons
long hours (weren't too bad)
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Truck Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXNovember 21, 2016
patterson-uti Drilling is a great place to work at, great management, heavy duty shop equipment they also offer very competitive pay and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Derrick Hand/Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  North DakotaNovember 16, 2016
Great company to work for they have great benifits the only problem anyone would have is the time away from home. It's 2 weeks on and 2 weeks off
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience from plugging wells to drilling
Floor Hand/Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXNovember 15, 2016
I went from plugging wells to drilling at Paterson uti very fast pace and good insurance benifits good pay the only reson I left was because my father passed away and I had to go take care of my mother
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical life of a roughneck
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXNovember 2, 2016
Great job to have when the economy is good. Make enough money as an entry level than most. Tough environment to work in, most dont last long. Building a trust level with my coworkers, we are accountable for each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement, nor any pay increases, stagnant
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 5, 2016
Decent pay if you work 140 hours in 10 days. Hard to balance life and work. Asked to work illegal hours but document them so they do not appear to be illegal. No room for promotion (unless you're from Texas or prior military). False promises of a pay raise. Constant reminders that you're lucky you still have a job due to market conditions. No clear expectations on the day to day duties. Goals constantly changing depending on what Houston thinks is important at that moment. When the market crashes the company doesn't cut day rates and sends its employees home to stay out of the red. Shady leadership and management.
Pros
Building relationships with rig employees
Cons
Shady leadership, no incentives to perform, military biased
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Driller/derrick hand (Current Employee) –  Victoria, TXOctober 3, 2016
Great place to work and advance. Very competitive and rewarding. Great for learning and enhancing skills. Great leadership and a fun workplace. Pay good and good time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Motorhand (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXOctober 3, 2016
great company to work for, I worked on a rig with the company, it turned into a really safe company and I really enjoyed working for them. I would really recommend working for this company
Pros
Safe company
Cons
away from your family a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 266 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Reviews by Job Title

Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Reviews by Location