Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC

Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Floor Hand (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXOctober 27, 2017
You do one thing wrong and you have everyone in the office and higher up breathing down your neck waiting and hoping for you to mess up. That’s the sad part
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The bottom of the oil barrel
Technician (Current Employee) –  TexasOctober 18, 2017
Lets see almost 3 years without a raise they mislead and abandon you if you use their "Benefits" They steal your PTO time if you have Jury duty.
Oh yea and they cannot keep any employees because of the PAY
Pros
nada
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXOctober 13, 2017
It was a good company to work for I just went back with guys I had worked with for years at Nabors Drilling. The pay is good tho and the rigs are sharp.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Motorman (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXOctober 8, 2017
Quick paced, competitive and constantly busy. Learned alot on how the rig runs, managers are pretty good. There really isnt a hard part just constantly busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Derrick Hand (Current Employee) –  Eighty Four, PAOctober 6, 2017
Do not work here! The company does not care about you at all. If you like working in the rain or -20 degree weather without a break then you might like it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hand
Hand (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXOctober 4, 2017
Great place to work, good management, got plenty of hours, good pay, fair management, awesome people, awesome benefit, room for advancement, drug free, no tolerance on drugs
Pros
Good pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Floorhand/Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Springtown, TXOctober 3, 2017
Great place to work. Pay as good, people were great to work with, hours were good. Rotating shift was good, benefits were good. Took care of their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Those Who choose to excel on a Land-Based Drilling Rig
Derrick Hand/Driller (Former Employee) –  Eighty Four, PAOctober 2, 2017
10 years working for the company. Good Safety Training and experienced workers. 2 week on and 2 week off schedule. Bi weekly Pay. Fast paced, hard strenuous work.
Pros
Work was set on 2 week on and 2 week off schedule
Cons
Long hours in extreme weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lead Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Eighty Four, PASeptember 20, 2017
if your looking for great money and long hours this is the place to be, but if your looking to just sit around and think that your not going to have to work then this isn't the place for you. hard work but great money.
Pros
money great
Cons
very hard work fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company just not sure of the new leadership
Floor Hand (Current Employee) –  OklahomaSeptember 16, 2017
Lack of information about things changing. I don't feel like I am living up to the potential that I have. I know I can do better and be more of a asset.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rig and good crews, horrible superintendents and management
Driller, Derrick hand, Motorman, Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Pennsylvania, OhioSeptember 13, 2017
Between all the pay cuts, loss of per diem, and not getting my driller job back after the oilfield picked back up....money wasn't worth all the travel expenses that was coming out of pocket....time for a career change
Pros
Good money, and two weeks on and two weeks off was nice
Cons
Lack of advancement unless u were buddies with someone in the office
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job but fullfilling
Floorhand/Roughneck (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 7, 2017
We worked 12.5 hr a day or night depending on the hitch. The hardest part was pulling slipps and tripping pipe. I learned a lot about how the oil field works and wouldnt change my experience for anythin
Pros
i loved working 14 and off 14
Cons
no breaks back breaking job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good man camps with all the necessities
Floor hand, motor hand (Former Employee) –  Greeley, COSeptember 7, 2017
Patterson is a good place to work with many benefits and a great working schedule and great competitive pay. Management is willing to work with you and the two weeks off is great.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we worked hard and they paid us good
Roughneck/Floorhand (Former Employee) –  tyler tyexasAugust 29, 2017
at patterson wwe felt like real men doing a manly job and we had a small crew we worked alone and supervised ourself we worked 7 days a week every week so we worked every day and the work was very dangerous i had friends die. so i moved on.
Pros
good pay good feiends
Cons
very dangerous work and worked every day no days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, NDAugust 21, 2017
drove myself 20 to nearest hospital. while my body started to shut down from heat exhaustion. then transported to nearest ER by ambulance. safety was not top priority
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old school rough neck
Assistant Driller (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMAugust 15, 2017
The company wasnt bad to work for, I was there when Patterson bought Key Energy whom had a lot of junk iron. When better quality rigs started showing up it was a nice place to work.
Pros
Easy to advance career
Cons
some junk iron
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patterson UTI Victoria
Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXAugust 11, 2017
Great company to work for.Working together as a crew makes the rig run smoothly and helps prevent accidents .Great benefits and Holiday pay.Opportunity to advance in careers.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patterson is a safe and great environment
Motorman (Current Employee) –  Steubenville, OHAugust 9, 2017
Wake up for meetings everyday to know what's going on. You learn something new everyday. Management could be better. Working outside is great not to feel cramped. Overall it's a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXAugust 1, 2017
i was a rig manager for this company and they treated me very good the only i left was to become a company man to futher my experirnce in the oilfield
Pros
great ppl
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but stressful workplace
Drilling Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 28, 2017
Micro managing, Learned to listen to employees in order to find a solution to keep moral up due to the down fall of oil prices. The hardest part of this job was the to micro manage our employees and keeping a customer happy due to the market down fall and moving employees around. My most enjoyable part of the day was visiting a clean and safe rig and being able to coach employees instead of cleaning a rig up.
Pros
good employees
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 323 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7