Find companies:
Paychex, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
238 reviews

Paychex, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
paychex
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee), GretnaMay 22, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: far drive
great place to work. dec and jan are very stressful. co workers are great. manangment can be micro managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers.
Senior Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Hauppauge, NYMay 22, 2014
Pros: non-stressful
Cons: holiday schedule
Friendly co-workers.
Learned to re-stock display tables. Close registers for the day.
Hardest part of the job was keeping the displays and dressing rooms clean during the holiday seasons.
Most enjoyable part of my job was the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compnay
Client Service Representative (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 20, 2014
I worked as a temp, and I loved it. I tried to get a full time position doing what I was doing, but there were no openings available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Sr. ETL/DWH/ QA Tester (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 20, 2014
The hardest part of the job is to keepup with the time schedules.

Rest its fun to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Lake Mary, FLMay 13, 2014
Pros: great job, great pay
Cons: limited sales opportunities
Outside Sales
Business devolpment
Great Managment really give you the skills and tools to suceed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance was good, but came at a price
Business Consultant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 9, 2014
Pros: anonymity and work life balance
Cons: inexperience management with no direction
Management at the branch level was inexperienced and non supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company; excellent in providing ongoing training; good morale
Payroll Specialist / Paylink (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAMay 7, 2014
Pros: always learning and being engaged with the client
Learned the ins and outs of how payrolls are processed by an outside resource. Enjoyed dealing directly with clients. Excellent co-workers. Ongoing training, usually on a weekly basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Payroll and HR Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 6, 2014
Typical day is cold calling, telemarketing, and setting up appointments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the branch you work for
Implementation Specialist (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAApril 30, 2014
This company is a good company to work or depending on which branch. The work environment varies from branch to branch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability and Benefits Vs Compensation
Taxpay Specialist, Electronic Network Services (Current Employee), West Henrietta, NYApril 29, 2014
Pros: cafe, stability, fun environment
Cons: compensation
Paychex is a great place to work if you are focused on having a stable job with good benefits and not on compensation. There is little movement with salaries as you move up or for doing new jobs in the company. The people who are in the trenches are not the ones who are in control of giving access to things like overtime and raises, so raises are small – more... and infrequent. However, the benefits like onsite health screenings, active health and other company wide functions, along with team food days and jeans days once in a while are things that you do look forward to having instead. Overall, it is a stable job and once you get into Paychex you can move through out the company but don't expect a lot of $ in any position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paychex Summary
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 26, 2014
Pros: professional sales experience, the thrill of the close, true teamwork within the sales department and administrators, management was fantastic, opportunity for advancement
Cons: compensation, not medical sales
Day to day activities at Paychex involved selling payroll services to small business owners and building relationships with Bankers, CPA’s, and Accountants. The relationship building focus of the job is the primary separator between Paychex and other payroll sales companies. 30%-40% of my personal small business payroll service sales came by professional – more... referral.
Paychex is the second largest payroll service company in the industry and prides itself on being the top customer service oriented company in the industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, young atmosphere
National Sales Representative (Current Employee), Rochester, NYApril 21, 2014
Fun atmosphere. Young environment. Drink the Kool-Aid. Put in work, get results. Not always the case but should be unless you get dealt a bad hand. Stepping stone. Cold calling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Courtney Chase
Senior Online Payroll Support Specialist/Trainer (Current Employee), Fair Lawn, NJApril 16, 2014
I am currently a Senior Online Payroll Support Specialist at Paychex, Inc. where I am responsible for over 300 clients. In this role, I assist these clients in troubleshooting the online payroll platform, processing new hire paperwork, promotions and terminations, and ensuring clients are in compliance with federal, state, and local tax agencies. I – more... am also responsible for preparing and amending Federal and State tax returns when needed. In addition to these tasks, I provide WebEx trainings to onboard new clients onto the online payroll platform, while still maintaining my current client base. I am also involved in organizing and presenting in-house trainings for all clients migrating to the new online platform. I am able to multitask with ease and take on each day with a bright and positive attitude. Another passion of mine is training and mentoring. I continue to be active in mentoring co-workers and aid in any group/branch trainings that I am able to. I am always looking for opportunities to enhance my knowledge, skills, and career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work friendly coworkers. Very high paced environment.
Unemployment Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Penfield, NYApril 14, 2014
I filled out unemployment claims for employers. I would call the employer to get the reason why the claimant was no longer working for their company. After I received why the claimant was no longer working at the employers work place I would then fill out the state form exactly how the employer had asked me to. I made a range from 65-90 outbound calls – more... a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National payroll processing company.
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Portland, ORApril 13, 2014
Pros: good earning potential.
Cons: corporate pressure for increased sales.
District sales manager for 20 sales representatives. Commissioned based environment. Good sales and management training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun envirorment but compensation is terrible
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2014
The pay isn't very good for the workload that you receive on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting company to work for. Corporate culture, ethics, and character left something to be desired
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 8, 2014
Cons: employees are a number
This was my first job coming out of college and it was a great company to learn responsibility and structure of a job. However, management left something to be desired in terms of ethics and the way employees are treated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture poor management
HR Consultant (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 1, 2014
Pros: work life balance, outside b2b, partner and relationship focused
Second time around working for Paychex and things havent changed much over the years. Great culture of excellence and interpersonal relationships. Very old school management style with little regard for employee retention. Feels like they are always looking for someone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK/ Great Place to start your career
Senior Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Culver CityMarch 30, 2014
Pros: training, benefits, advancement, management
If you want a solid career please consider this company! The benefit for working for this company is that if you remain in good standing, there is opportunity for relocation and growth!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Positive Experience
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 29, 2014
Great Training
Job is vast, with large amount of responsibility
Flexibility is fantastic!

About Paychex, Inc.

Paychex, Inc. is a leader in the payroll and human resource industry, serving over a half million businesses nationwide. The company – Read more