PCL Construction Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Pipefitter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Rising Sun, MD 21911November 18, 2017
Hours would change depending on how far along in the job the hours would change. Longer toward the end and shorter in the beginning. Very flexible since it is a traveling job. If you were on a job site 18 hours from your home state you are able to take time off to go home with no issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee ownership and excellent benefits
SR. HR/Professional Development Generalist (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GANovember 15, 2017
PCL is an employee owned company. All salaried employees have the opportunity to buy company stock and the dividend is paid every year. Our benefits are second to none and even include matching 401(K).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
LABORER APPRENTICE/JOURNEYMAN LABORER (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAOctober 31, 2017
I worked for the water infrastructure group. What an awesome experience. They have you travel a lot so it's only reasonable long term if you're young or don't have a family to take care of.
Pros
Lunches, treated fairly, well compensated
Cons
Long hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was treated very well
General Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Roxboro, NCOctober 30, 2017
PCL = Planning Comes Later / The Project Management was embarrassing. The Client said to me " They have been on site for seven (7) months and are not mobilized or organized yet.
Pros
CFO is a Great guy / good benefit package.
Cons
Senior site management was lacking to say the least.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hours
Instrumentation Helper (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXOctober 24, 2017
Small room to advance. Not very understanding about women in the workplace. When I had issues they was not addressed or fixed. Things was ignored that should have been discussed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working environment
Crane operator/ industrial equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAOctober 23, 2017
Professional working environment it has its ups and down but for the most okay place to work. Just like most construction site the downside will be the weather conditions and road conditions to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Theme Park Construction
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 20, 2017
Worked as Project Manager in charge of building 62 buildings on construction site. Also worked as a schedule expert on projects in Steamboat Springs, CO, and Las Vegas, NV.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job
Instrument Fitter (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXOctober 11, 2017
The company is to big. You become a number not a person.
The pay is average but they have good benefits. The tend to do very big projects so the one to one with management is non existent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work place
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXOctober 6, 2017
Management was always wanting there employees to think twice before the employees make a decision when taking your work into action. Safety is a priority. Thumps up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and compensation is good
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 5, 2017
The only reason I would consider leaving the company is because it is contract work and I would like to land in a position that is permanent and I can have longevity.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
I was in contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was stressful from the start
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 1, 2017
From the time I started with this company their was resistance to my experience regarding contract requirements for this project. I was the bearer of bad news fro the start and my advice was not taken so I could get them notice to proceed. In the end I succeeded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pcl
Welder (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COSeptember 27, 2017
Working with management and front office people was easy and hassle free. As a traveling welder I was not with them long but i enjoyed my time with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy but strict
pipefitter helper (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXSeptember 24, 2017
normal industrial constuction setting, very strict on all ppe being worn at all times in the unit. nice work hours althoug i didnt like having to work in the rain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Professionalism
NCCCO Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Clute, TXSeptember 22, 2017
from the upper staff on down,,,they would falsify or cover up a near miss,,,,any mistake and/or quality of work. at any moment, for any reason someone was the scape-goat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company
Electrician/BBO Safety Team Member (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXSeptember 21, 2017
Despite many negative things being said about PCL, it is a good place to work and gain experience. I think that they as a company can chose their junior leadership roles a lot better. Examples from General Foreman to Foreman.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Labor (Dirt Crew Leader) (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TX 77566September 19, 2017
my time was ok. ive always wanted to work for that company and i finally got the chance to do so and when i got the the management wasnt great at all. hopefully next project that changes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCL Construction
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 31, 2017
PCL is a great company to work for. The benefits are rich and the culture is fantastic! PCL is 100% employee owned so share options are offered to every employee, and they pay out handsomely.

Management is great. They follow PCL's vision and are very flexible with work-at-home days and personal days. There are unlimited sick days as well!

PCL is constantly listed in Forbes top 100 every year! Overall PCL is a great company to be a part of!
Pros
Rich benefits, flexible work life
Cons
Not much room for advancement and pay is not always reasonable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 28, 2017
Great job great experience awesome benefit's. The company has a lo to offer the community. Job Responsibilities : Operate Heavy Equipment loading and unloading trucks, Transporting materials on job site for the completion of the job. demolition cleaning up of debris with front end loader. road work and finish operator.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job not planned well
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXAugust 24, 2017
very slow to respond to requests or needed materials and complained about work not being done even though it was known materials were not available to get job done
Pros
pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable situation
Civil Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXAugust 20, 2017
Overall not a bad situation. Compensation was reasonable. No vacation or sick time (unfortunately). High turnover rate. Hours not great for people with school age children.
Pros
Bonus luncheons for safety on job
Cons
Hours when you are a parent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCL Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 390 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8