Find companies:
Peabody Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Peabody Energy Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but upper management needs change of perspective
Contract Management Intern (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 30, 2015
Great company with good benefits but hasn't adapted to changing commodity prices and therefore not positioned well to other energy sources becoming more competitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked my job for 10 years until it switched to swing shift
Operator/Driller/Shooter (Current Employee), Equality, ILMay 14, 2015
The only reason for change is due to the swing shift rotation which does not allow me to see my family and allows for more safety concerns with the employees rotating day and night shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
SAP Mobility Architect/Developer (Current Employee), st louisJanuary 7, 2015
i have a good work life balance in peabody energy
the management is helpful.I have helping co workers however growth chances are very limited and there is little to learn.

i enjoy meeting the buisness users and understanding the way they work and the way i can help them to make their jobs easier through the development of mobile applications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have really enjoyed working with the Accounts Payable Department and my co-workers.
Mail & Scanning Clerk, Accounts Payable (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 10, 2014
Peabody offered a voluntary separation package this year for those who where eligible and I fell into that category. I found Peabody a great place to work and I had a very good supervisor with good benefits. I have learned a great deal about the coal industry during my employment with Peabody. I am ready to start the next chapter in my life and hopefully, that will be with your organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company going through a hard time
Landman Intern (Former Employee), Gillette, WYNovember 8, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: depressing environment
I really enjoyed the people I worked with but its hard to be in the coal industry right now so moral was low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Analyst (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 31, 2014
Good company operating well in difficult circumstances. Very smart people to work with, and a first class environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Safe Coal Mine
Underground Continuous Miner Operator (Current Employee), Francisco, INOctober 12, 2014
Pros: safe mine
Cons: lots of saturdays
You will work a lot of Saturdays, 6 day weeks, in order to be productive.They have a big focus on safety. All the main rules come down from an educated corporate level instead of actual coal miners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay, Great Co Workers
Underground Miner (Former Employee), Monroe City, IN.September 4, 2014
They closed our mine unexpectedly, and put most of us in the free cheese line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hual truck
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee), Gillette, WYJuly 9, 2014
Worked 12 hours shift,learned about coal , co-wokers helped a lot ,really enjoyed job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company , Good Culture, Enjoy Work
Project Manager (Current Employee), New South WalesApril 19, 2014
Pros: safe, good work ethic, great people
Peabody Energy is a great place to work.
It has a go ahead attitude and also allows you to express your knowledge.
Very high safety culture.
Hard working team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most the time there was good team work. Good benifits
Miner Operator, Shuttle Car Operator and Leadman (Former Employee), Oak Creek Co.April 18, 2014
Work hard as a team, communication was good. The management treaded the men will. Co-workers some work hard and some did not. Hardest part of the job was to keep some of the men motived. The enjoyable part of the job was out mining the other crews and get paid at a decent wage for the hard work. And safety is a top priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work but relatively low speed
Management Associate Intern, Treasury (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 21, 2013
Nice company, nice people. Just the pace of working is relatively slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safetyin work place
DIAGNOSTIC MECHANIC (Former Employee), Hayden ColoradoMarch 6, 2013
Pros: free fuel to get to work
Best place I ever worked,good managers ,great benifits,super pay. Gave me an assinment and I completed it.Lots of chalenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Dozer (Current Employee), Gillette, WYMarch 4, 2013
Production dozing, I have learned to just do my job best of my ability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Employee (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: extremely limited diversity in upper management
Average workplace. Co-workers are mostly nice. Undergoing cost cutting and struggling market; so morale is low right now. Very politically biased.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big coal company with good benefits
Mining Engineer (Current Employee), Lynnville, INDecember 26, 2012
Pros: benefits, pay, global company
Cons: work life balance
Peabody Energy is a huge coal company that provides excellent opportunities and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job with great benefits
Plant Technician (Former Employee), Gillette, WYOctober 30, 2012
Pros: good pay, good time off
Cons: the rotatting 12hour shifts
-Oversee the operations of the preparation plant: loading trains, basic plant maintenance, operating the control room which oversees the computer systems for train processing and the actual control of plant systems
-learned the value of hard work and how to work in a high-stress environment with no compromise in safety standards.
-the hardest part was the rotating 12-hour shifts
-the most enjoyable part was the hard physical work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont look out for employess
Technical Asset Management Specialist (AMS) (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2012
Pros: some of the people are amazing to work with
Cons: management
money is the bottom line as always in the corp world. Employees are not the number one priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Environmental Engineer (Former Employee), Grants, NMAugust 8, 2012
Pros: able to work independently, received training
I liked my boss and my coworkers. It was easy to divide my time between the field and the office. Very good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for. Great people to work with. World class safety.
Temporary Production Tech (Current Employee), Gillette, WYApril 30, 2012
Pros: great hours, good equipment, nice incentive bonuses
Cons: being a temp
I really liked working for Peabody, great staff, very knowlegable and helpful. Their approach to safety is great! They put safety first and foremost at work and at home. Would like to have opportunity to work for the company again.

About Peabody Energy

In a time in which people stillĀ get most of their power from coal-fired plants, Peabody Energy is king. The world's largest private-sector – Read more

Peabody Energy Salaries

Heavy Equipment Operator
$87,000 per year
Driller
$28.54 per hour
Electrician
$29.35 per hour