Find companies:
Peabody Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Peabody Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hual truck
Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee), Gillette, WYJuly 9, 2014
Worked 12 hours shift,learned about coal , co-wokers helped a lot ,really enjoyed job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company , Good Culture, Enjoy Work
Project Manager (Current Employee), New South WalesApril 19, 2014
Pros: safe, good work ethic, great people
Peabody Energy is a great place to work.
It has a go ahead attitude and also allows you to express your knowledge.
Very high safety culture.
Hard working team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most the time there was good team work. Good benifits
Miner Operator, Shuttle Car Operator and Leadman (Former Employee), Oak Creek Co.April 18, 2014
Work hard as a team, communication was good. The management treaded the men will. Co-workers some work hard and some did not. Hardest part of the job was to keep some of the men motived. The enjoyable part of the job was out mining the other crews and get paid at a decent wage for the hard work. And safety is a top priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work but relatively low speed
Management Associate Intern, Treasury (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMarch 21, 2013
Nice company, nice people. Just the pace of working is relatively slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safetyin work place
DIAGNOSTIC MECHANIC (Former Employee), Hayden ColoradoMarch 6, 2013
Pros: free fuel to get to work
Best place I ever worked,good managers ,great benifits,super pay. Gave me an assinment and I completed it.Lots of chalenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Dozer (Current Employee), Gillette, WYMarch 4, 2013
Production dozing, I have learned to just do my job best of my ability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big coal company with good benefits
Mining Engineer (Current Employee), Lynnville, INDecember 26, 2012
Pros: benefits, pay, global company
Cons: work life balance
Peabody Energy is a huge coal company that provides excellent opportunities and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job with great benefits
Plant Technician (Former Employee), Gillette, WYOctober 30, 2012
Pros: good pay, good time off
Cons: the rotatting 12hour shifts
-Oversee the operations of the preparation plant: loading trains, basic plant maintenance, operating the control room which oversees the computer systems for train processing and the actual control of plant systems
-learned the value of hard work and how to work in a high-stress environment with no compromise in safety standards.
-the hardest part was – more... the rotating 12-hour shifts
-the most enjoyable part was the hard physical work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont look out for employess
Technical Asset Management Specialist (AMS) (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2012
Pros: some of the people are amazing to work with
Cons: management
money is the bottom line as always in the corp world. Employees are not the number one priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Environmental Engineer (Former Employee), Grants, NMAugust 8, 2012
Pros: able to work independently, received training
I liked my boss and my coworkers. It was easy to divide my time between the field and the office. Very good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for. Great people to work with. World class safety.
Temporary Production Tech (Current Employee), Gillette, WYApril 30, 2012
Pros: great hours, good equipment, nice incentive bonuses
Cons: being a temp
I really liked working for Peabody, great staff, very knowlegable and helpful. Their approach to safety is great! They put safety first and foremost at work and at home. Would like to have opportunity to work for the company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working 12 hour shifts underground
underground miner (Former Employee), QLDJune 1, 2014
Pros: camp accomadation
Cons: 12 hour shifts
I would attend the pre-shift meeting with management from the mine that would pass on information to all persons and inform persons of any incidents. I was shift boss this means I would speak to the undermanager who would give me a job sheet for the shift. Then I would have a meeting with my crew explaining what work would be carried out that day. I – more... would deploy men to the appropriate work site ensuring that they understand what is expected of them. I would ensure that all ppe is worn during the shift. My work meant I would work with the crews ensuring all standards are met to mine site requirements. The hardest part of the job was the dusty hot conditions that we worked in. Most enjoyable was the trust that built up with the men and working to a high standard and having a safe productive shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with an exceptional crew to be in charge of.
Mining Production Supervisor (open-cut) (Former Employee), Dalby, QLDFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: home every night, good crew
Cons: long hours
There were many days of complete chaos where mine planning didn't exist and adlibbing was the norm.
Good lessons learnt were patience,crystal balling,double checking all directives,don't take anything for granted.
Management weren't always right'
There were good and not so good in co-workers but experiance helped deal with it all.
Waking up at 3am on – more... a cold morning and driving to work.
Watching a set task unfold and being completed within required time safely.
Utilising many years of experience to plan and implement jobs and having the satisfaction of seeing them done.
Motivating a willing crew was always good.
Observing the training of raw recruits and seeing them meet their goals along with company expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great while it lasted, but closing down ended that
Production Operator (Former Employee), Dalby, QLDJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: closing the mined
As a production operator it was my requirement to meet a min of 10000 BCM a day, which on most days was achievable depending on trucks, single bench, double bench.
Being part of D Crew which was established in March of 2011 and came to an end as of 2013 sad to say. However the time that was spent with this bunch of miss fits was rewarding to say the – more... least. – less

About Peabody Energy

In a time in which people stillĀ get most of their power from coal-fired plants, Peabody Energy is king. The world's largest private-sector – Read more