Find companies:
Peace Corps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
81 reviews

Peace Corps Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Knock Life
Agriculture Extension Agent, Senegal (Former Employee), SenegalNovember 10, 2014
Pros: free dysentary
Cons: go crazy
I lived life in a small, remote village.

I learned an obscure language that has enabled me to converse with many NYC vendors of fruit, scarves, and purses.

My co-workers were mostly un-washed hippies.

I loved the job.

Lots of free time for reading.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to see the world and yourself.
High School Educator (Former Employee), Klay, LiberiaNovember 6, 2014
One of the most challenging and rewarding jobs in the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peace Corps
Community Health and Development Agent (Former Employee), RwandaOctober 4, 2014
Pros: integrating into a new culture
Cons: peace corps staff
Every country is different that Peace Corps is located in. I would highly suggest before you accept a placement by Peace Corps to find out how the relationship between volunteers and staff, is Peace Corps wanted in the country, how long has Peace Corps been there, what support volunteers will receive from staff, what is the early termination rate/why – more... are volunteers early terminating, how is the moral of staff and volunteers? The answers to these questions can give you a good foresight into what to expect in that country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly rewarding experience
Agro-forestry Extension Agent (Former Employee), ZambiaOctober 1, 2014
As many people will probably tell you. Working for the Peace Corps as a volunteer is challenging at the same time it can be very rewarding. This was my experience though and some people may find that the job and isolation is too much to handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Youth Development Coordinator (Former Employee), CameroonSeptember 15, 2014
It was great. Really great. Do I still have to keep writing? This is crazy. I just want to submit an application.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding
Volunteer (Former Employee), LesothoJuly 14, 2014
Pros: experience, build a new home and relationships that will last forever, made me a more thoughtful and critical person
Cons: work might be unreliable, adjusting to a very different environment, far from friends and familiarity
Truly one of the best experiences of my life. I learned so much about myself and others.

Training was sufficient to prepare me for the work I would be doing.

Staff were kind, considerate, and cared about the volunteers' needs and success. From the beginning (recruitment, application, country/site placement) to the end (wrapping up, going over reverse – more... culture shock), HQ and country staff made themselves available for any concerns and questions we would have.

Daily challenges were expected as part of the work. Some days were indeed very difficult, but as a whole experience, the pros/benefits/relationships made the whole time worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
English Instructor
English Instructor, (Former Employee), Fes MoroccoJune 22, 2014
taught ESL to Moroccan High School Students. Coached basketball. Traveled across North Africa by train
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A life changing event everyone should do.
Educational Volunteer (Former Employee), Ghana, AfricaJune 5, 2014
After a long successful career as a copywriter in the most creative ad agencies in San Diego, then later several successful and "sleepless" years as a Creative Director in the "L.A. ad game", I decided it was time to take my only life chance at a hiatus before I burned out. It was the best decision I have ever made. I not only recharged my creative – more... batteries and learned how to overcome any challenge, but I also received a much deep understanding of culture, communication, and myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Service, Great Satisfaction
English Language Teacher and Trainer (Former Employee), MadagascarApril 29, 2014
Pros: no other job will ever be quite like it.
Cons: mentally challenging.
Its the Peace Corps--its longevity and prevalence in America's psyche speaks for itself. I've never known a former volunteer who regretted their service. Even those people who quit before 2 years are able to find value in their experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive youth and community service learning project
Volunteer (Former Employee), Santo Domingo, Dominican RepublicApril 17, 2014
Pros: excellent working environments, caring staff and personnel
Cons: healthcare
Use sports and artistic activities as a catalyst for personal development, healthy habits and team building
Organizing life skills training for positive decision making, conflict resolution, raising awareness about HIV/AIDS, teen pregnancy and gender
Forming boys/girls groups and promoting gender and leadership training
Training in health education – more... issues and HIV prevention
Promoting positive parenting and communication to reduce conflict
Supporting Service Learning projects
Forming Parenting groups with community leaders
Brining in specialist skills to work with girls, boys, and youth at risk
Working to strengthen NGOs and youth groups – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The toughest job I'll ever love.
Peace Corps Volunteer: TEFL Teacher (Former Employee), UkraineApril 10, 2014
Pros: international education exposure, foreign methodologies, very active students, freedom in lessons
Cons: communication errors due to language barriers with ukrainian colleagues
On a typical work day, I would teach at the local school with grades 7-11. I taught every day in Ukrainian and English and typically taught alone or occasionally with a Ukrainian English teacher. I implemented two English Clubs, an after-school tutoring program and helped at school events. I planned lessons independently and worked with a team of four – more... Ukrainian teachers of English.

I learned how to really apply my learned methodologies from student teaching into a foreign classroom. I also learned how to differentiate with a group of students learning English as a foreign language. My overall skills and experience grew from the time spent in my school and the local village schools.

I played in integral part in the management of the English Department alongside my Ukrainian colleagues. I had a main "counterpart" with whom I planned lessons, made schedule changes and coordinated curriculum and test schedules.

I worked primarily with three very experienced Ukrainian English teachers and occasionally worked with the three new teachers who were hired only one year before myself. We worked great as a team when planning events in school such as "English Week" and "Olympiads." I and my colleagues gave constructive criticism to one another and substituted for each other when necessary.

The hardest part of my job was serving in "an area of hardship." Peace Corps send us to live and work in an area which needs the help and occasionally the weather or lack of the school amenities we are lucky to have in America sometimes caused irritation. In the end, however I learned to adapt and actually ended up teaching two workshops to incoming volunteers about working with limited resources in Peace Corps.

The most enjoyable part of my job was my students. They could make me so proud and remember daily why I went into the teaching field. They were so active and eager to learn and worked hard. I also loved the overall experience of teaching overseas in a foreign country with innovative youth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIV/AIDS Community Health Specialist
National Peace Corps Camp Director (Former Employee), Kara, Togo, West AfricaApril 9, 2014
Pros: changing the world
Cons: illness
I lived in rural West Africa for two years with no running water or electricity in heat ranging from 95F-115F. I contracted malaria five times as well as several other diseases.

I loved it. It was an incredibly life altering experience and I found out what I was made of. Nothing has ever pushed me to grow as a person more. The people you encounter – more... and the lives that they lead puts the entire world into perspective and you begin to see everything differently.

I managed nation wide projects involving over 15 other non-profit organizations, I acted as an advisor to the executive director of a HIV/AIDS clinic in Togo. I wrote grants, I evaluated programs, I mitigated conflicts, and taught professional development seminars on a weekly basis to a staff of thirty (in a mix of French and local language).

Peace Corps made me the person I am today. The volunteers I trained with and shared my service with are the closest thing I have to a real family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Community Health Volunteer (Former Employee), Suva, FijiMarch 25, 2014
Pros: flexibility, freedom
Cons: adjustment to other culture/environment. can be difficult for most people.
Peace Corps is an exciting opportunity that people should take advantage of. Working and communicating with people from different cultures in a different language is really skill building for interpersonal skills. There are many different sectors that you work in for your primary assignment, but your secondary assignment is something that you are solely – more... interested in, something that can be helpful for the community. Great opportunity, lots of flexibility and freedom with the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and competitive field
Volunteer (Former Employee), Limon, Costa RicaFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: language skill, adaptability to diverse situations, strong volunteer relationships
Cons: solitude from other members of the peace corps
The Peace Corps was a very difficult experience. I was alone for the majority of my time in Costa Rica. I was able to garner valuable experience in adapting to new cultures, learning a new language and building relationships with limited communication. Management was a hands-off experience and most of my activities were self-run. My co-workers were – more... great people who were all very dedicated to what they were doing with their respective communities. The solitude and lack of team atmosphere was incredibly challenging. However, the connections made with other members of the Peace Corps and my community were unforgettable experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for understanding international and community development
Community Economic Development Agent, Senegal (Former Employee), SenegalFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: flexability, freedom to focus your talents in different areas
Cons: no supervisor that analyses your work on a day to day basis
The Peace Corps was a completely different experience then anything I have had and something I did not regret. It really gives you an opportunity to understand how the community/international development field works and get your feet in the industry. The Peace Corps allows you to utilize skill sets that you already have and channel them into development – more... projects that help local communities. The hardest part of the job was adapting to village life in Senegal with many of the basic luxuries of my life in America stripped away. I also had to learn two new languages (French and Wolof) which was something I had never done before. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the locals in my town and helping them better their lives through business trainings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hardest Job You'll Ever Love
Peace Corps TEFL Teacher (Former Employee), Isperih, BulgariaJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: great job satisfaction, great benefits, easy travel, wonderful management
Cons: feeling like you are in a fishbowl
The tagline of the Peace Corps is absolutely true. It is the hardest job you will ever love, it isn't easy. A lot is expected from you as a volunteer and you will feel like you live in a fishbowl, but then you see your impact on your community and students and you will realise that it is all worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Adventure of a Lifetime
Community Enterprise Development Volunteer (Former Employee), Njinikom, CameroonNovember 20, 2013
Pros: great location
Cons: no cheese
Most recently, I completed my service as a Peace Corps volunteer in Cameroon where I worked in Community Enterprise Development. As a peace corps volunteer your are responsible for representing the United States and American culture in your host country. You are therefore thrust into a leadership role in the community. Part of my duties as a volunteer – more... was relationship management and prioritization. I worked closely with senior government officials and community organizations on development projects, allocating limited resources in highly impoverished areas. This is a delicate process that is dependent on relationship management. It is my hope that I can use the skills and experiences gained through my service in my future career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience in global field.
Volunteer Leader (Former Employee), MadagascarAugust 9, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: job description structure
Good organization for the independent employee and inquisitive researcher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peace Corps
Volunteer (Former Employee), UkraineAugust 7, 2013
It is one of the hardest, challenging jobs but I loved every moment of it.
Lived in my community and gained respect of the school I workd with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hardest Job You'll Ever Love
MATHEMATICS & PHYSICS TEACHER (Former Employee), TanzaniaJune 13, 2013
I learned how to be competent in another culture thanks to all of the training in cross-cultural studies and language that I received. I made amazing friends with the other volunteers and had and incredibly rewarding experience!

About Peace Corps

The Peace Corps is a volunteer program run by the United States government. The stated mission of the Peace Corps includes three – Read more