Find companies:
Pearle Vision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

Pearle Vision Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but stressful workplace
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 26, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: hourly pay, open on sundays
A typical day at work included many duties, multitasking, doing screenings, and insurance authorizations while only getting paid minimum wage. Co-workers often argued between each other, there was a sense of favoritism with management which increased the tension.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small number on staff
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Muncy, PAJune 24, 2014
Assisted customers on frame choices. Learning the different types of vision insurances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with wonderful co-workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Eau Claire, WIJune 23, 2014
Pros: the friendship i made with my co-workers
Cons: the hours
A typical day working at Pearle Vision, there was always something to do. There's always a task that needs to be done or someone needs help finishing a project. Because there is so much to do there is a lot to learn such as; lens material, pretesting, adjustments, selling, prices, and organization. Doing all these tasks can be fun with the co-workers – more... that I had, they helped make the day go by fast. Even with the wonderful co-workers there was some down falls. The hours that we have to work I disliked. Working the late hours and having a family at home always stressed me out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Optician (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 25, 2014
Learned to:
Verifying eligibility and benefit details
Billing insurance companies/account receivable including
coding procedures for patient visits
Pre-testing patients using non-contact tonometry, optical
coherence tomography, auto refractor, Humphrey’s visual field, blood pressure, basic lensometry, Ishihara pattern and retinal camera
Administering – more... eye drops, recording patient’s medical history, conducting visual acuity screenings and calling in prescriptions
Examine written prescriptions to determine lens specifications
Recommended frames, lenses and coatings based on patient’s
prescription, occupation, habits and features. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luxottica is the best company to work for.
Sales Associate/ Apprentice Optician (Current Employee), Easton, PAMay 21, 2014
Luxottica is truly a wonderful place to work. It's fast paced and full of advancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying work environment with lots of advancements.
Optometric Technician (Former Employee), Totowa, NjMay 15, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of screening patients, answering high volume calls, scheduling patients and updating patient records in the system. Management was very straight forward and pushed us to do our best to reach our stores goals. My co-workers were great team players and very driven to contribute to our stores bottom line. The hardest part – more... of the job was trying to handle a situation on which I had no control over such as, receiving shipments later than expected date. The most enjoyable part of the job was aiding our first time patients with installing their contact lenses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Challenging
Customer Service/ Receptionist (Former Employee), Hampton, VAMay 13, 2014
Pros: free classes to gain more knowledge and insight
A typical day at the optometry office can be very hectic and
fast- paced then other days are slow. Regardless, it was a
very positive experience to handle the needs of others concerning
their eye health. For most an eye exam is an annual process, for
others without health concerns or issues it is every two years.
I gained a lot of knowledge and insight – more... in the field of optometry.
It was a very rewarding and challenging profession with new
advances in technology with regard to the eyes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
General Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great enviorment
Cons: n/a
Big Box Optical Growth potential is very good Various areas of Oppurtunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that allowed obtaining new skills
FULL-TIME OPTICIAN (Current Employee), Norman, OKFebruary 19, 2014
A high-volume business for retail and medical office environment. I learned to multi-task and be a team player to overcome the obstacles of a high-volume and high-demand environment that was at times understaffed. Obtained many great skills from cross-training with both retail and medical office environment. The hardest part was feeling under-appreciated – more... and sometimes under-compensated for the expectations demanded which were inconsistent and new consistently, but adapted quickly to meet them. Great co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back work place with great patients
Apprentice Optician (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: eye care, wages
A typical day at work would consist of cleaning the stock, making pre-appointment calls, distributing glasses to patients, making appointments, and helping patient in however they needed. I learned the types of lens available and how to fix a pair of glasses. Management was one of the only downsides to working here. My general manager favored certain – more... employees over others and gave the ones he liked most more hours and privileges. He also got rid of co-workers who did not appeal to his ego and let him run the show, even if they had more knowledge/experience than him. My co-workers who were my boss's favorites acted above the law and they're own responsibilities in customer service. The others done what was needed with finesse and were pleasant to work with. The hardest part of the job was trying to prove I was good enough to teach and help. The most enjoyable part was helping a patient find their most perfect glasses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), schaumburgFebruary 16, 2014
Flexible with schedule, however managers were always trying to cut hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Pros - Great Environment, Culture, People, Good Infrastructure with best facilities for employees
Jeteye Regional Director of Operations (Former Employee), New JerseyFebruary 13, 2014
On a normal day I arrive at 10:00am and take part in the first team meeting of the day with my team, no matter what store I visit. Once we've discussed the plan of action for the day I will allocate some of the team to work on the current roles and the rest work on business development and tracking down new roles. Over lunch I speak with my team again – more... about ideas which could help us generate leads. As a Manager I will also spend a lot of time throughout the day mentoring, coaching and training both new and existing sales reps and medical technicians. I like to answer all my calls from all other locations, meaning I can provide advice straight away in regards to particular situations. When I’m unable to answer a call, I try to return it ASAP. I still try to follow the same structure of the day as my team and lead by example. However working with multiple busy and demanding teams, mean that things change on a regular basis and as the leader of the team I need to ensure I am as flexible and adaptable as possible. In order to keep on top of things I write everything in my IPad every day to remind me to do certain tasks and new ideas. This is only a part of what I do on a normal day, I also recruit, interview and the hire for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your an apprentice it's good, but license folks be careful
License Optician (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: can't think of any, lux owned company
Cons: working off the clock during lunch breaks and your schedule changes weekly
Co workers are typically college students and most store management staff are new to the optical world. You are to help patients with day to day task including dr side depending on state and if they have a front desk tech or not, frame selection, dispensing, and other optical related duties Full time employees avg 34 hours a week and family benefits – more... are just okay (deny claims because it's self funded and they have a 90 day wait period for ins and if your uninsured for 63 days you fall with in pre existing condition period) with a pretty heavy price tag compared to Healthcare.gov and they won't deny claims. If you like mall hours, part of your pay commission base, and dealing with mall hours go for it. Beware that you don't try to get non license staff to work when no manager because they'll complain that it's you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
Optician/ Stylist/ CL (Former Employee), W Des Moines, IAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: training programs w/ compensation.
Cons: working nights and weekends
Pearle Vision offered many training programs with compensation on completion. The Management and Dr. that I worked with were very supportive in training. The most rewarding part of this job was helping customers.
The hardest part of this job was working nights and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a fun work place.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Gurnee ILJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: we received a free pair of glasses every year.
Cons: hard to move up in the company.
The usually open the store i would come in at about 9:00 to do some paper work. While the the other employees would start at 9:30. I checked email review the numbers and goals of the previous night. I learned how to be a better leader how to deal with every situation differently. My o-workers were great very professional hard workers. One the hardest – more... part of the job is to make every customer happy which it was always a challenge but the end. It was a reward to see them leave with a smile and keep see them coming back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relational with patients and amicable
Assisting patients (Current Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: enough time to relate with patients
Cons: hours not stable
Assist patients daily and assist with administrative work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
optician (Former Employee), arlington, texasDecember 19, 2013
Pros: doctor really appreciated her staff
Cons: not much room for advancement
This is where i got to really work close with the optometrist and learned the doctor side of things. I also got the opportunity to learn finish lab which has opened many doors for me. Just want to say thank you so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scam Artists!
Optician (Former Employee), Crest Hill, ILDecember 4, 2013
Cons: horrible! i will never work for pearle again!
Do not work for this franchise is all I can say I have a list of reasons. They are always hiring because just like with patients they cannot keep employees. Go to Rip Off Reports site and search Rory Zimney. They bounce employee checks and cannot keep up with their bills. Mangement is a joke! They claim to sell essilor products when it really is nothing – more... more then poly and low grade anti reflective coatings they pay 5 dollars a lense for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service and assisting manager
Receptionist (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 10, 2013
Pros: free saturday lunches
Cons: short breaks, no room for advancement
I was the face of the office, greeting and attending to customers' needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Optician (Former Employee), Lansing, ILOctober 8, 2013
Pros: provided work experience
Cons: short breaks
As an optician, I assisted patients in searching for proper fitting glasses, contact lens training, scheduling eye exams, as well as, measuring pupil distance and bifocal alignment.

1 2 3 4