Find companies:
Pearson
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
346 reviews

Pearson Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was something different and interesting
Manufacturing Coordinator (Former Employee), Glenview, ILDecember 13, 2013
Pros: finishing a new book beginging to end
Cons: changes too often happen
Sales meeting in the am 3 days a week video conference
Traveling to see a paper manufacturing plant
my co workers were all friendly and helpful
the most difficult part was keeping tract of the changing schedule from the printers
the best part of the job was seeing the finished product
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Client
Java/J2EE Developer (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 12, 2013
Pearson is the client who encourages people to think beyond the use case provided. Effectiveness of the program results in a excellent output.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Irving TXDecember 8, 2013
After being laid off from McGraw-Hill Education, I had thought I might continue in sales with an education publishing. It was an excellent company to work with. Extremely friendly and welcoming group of people.
I accepted the position with Pearson as a contract position that I had hoped would turn into a full time permanent position, but it did not. – more... Pearson also is undergoing some financial strains and the sales office laid off two full time employees and me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pearson is a global company undergoing transformation
Head of Global Product Management (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 5, 2013
Pearson is undergoing a lot of change. It is likely to be in this state of transition into digital markets for some time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place that encourages health and fun
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMDecember 3, 2013
A great company to work for, with many hard working people around you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, good management and colleagues
Events Specialist, E-Marketing & Licensure Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 27, 2013
I have spent the last 11 years working for a large publishing company, first as a sales representative then in marketing and event planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Production Worker (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 22, 2013
Pros: meet all walks of life
Cons: no insurance/only seasonal
Material handler made sure people on the line had the supplies they needed and did'nt run out. Made sure things got out on time . Worked in Final Pk ,Worked in Shipping/Receiving, Worked in AO back orders ,Very much a Team Player, Also worked in Scanning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Tape Librarian (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 22, 2013
I worked part time. I value my experience there. Management was good. I didn't have hard times at the job . I have over 20 years of experince
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a J2EE consultant at Pearson
Senior J2EE Architect / Developer (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 20, 2013
Was a J2EE consultant at Pearson and learnt Apache CXF. Very friendly work environment,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pearson Vue, August 2013 to November 2013
QA (Contractor) (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNNovember 20, 2013
• Worked the in Agile methodology for Person Vue releases 11.1, 11.2. project including the system and regression
• Translated stories and modified requirements for development.
• Performed Mobile testing using Android, iPhone, and iPad for Pearson’s 11.1 and 11.2 releases
• Tested and delivered top quality solutions effectively and efficiently, using – more... all available resources.
• Wrote and executed test cases using ALM
• Recorded defects in Clear Quest ensured they were handled for IBM release project.

Environment: ALM, Citrix, Clear Quest, Version One, Neo, SQL, Google office, Mobile testing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Warehouse
RF Scanner (Former Employee), Cranbury, NJNovember 15, 2013
A typical day at work was you working alone pretty much , you just get to work ... enjoy the day and go with the flow . it's not really a learning job , you just learn how to work different kinds of electronics or machinery and other things that you get your self into , its an interesting job to look into . the management is great . your co workers – more... are great . the hardest part about the job was on the days that you have to move fast . but they were good and intense days .you enjoy your job 100% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global restructuring of company has caused layoffs and culture change.
varied (Former Employee), midwestNovember 8, 2013
Pros: company car, expenses paid, great academic folks
Cons: poor management
A typical day means on the road by 7:00, driving to campuses within 4 hour range, returning late (6pm or later). You carry a computer, product fliers, and books and walk on campus all day. I learned how to talk with people from all walks of life and about all sorts of topics (health, biology, math, etc.). My co-workers were an awesome group to work – more... with. The hardest part of the job was the management change (numerous over several years) and the lack of support. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Quality Analyst (Current Employee), Rancho Cordova, CANovember 5, 2013
very flexible
very casual
very friendly
everyone will like this company
a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We needed more time to understand subtle computer directions.
Assessment Scorer (Former Employee), Lombard, ILNovember 2, 2013
Pros: they offered a job.
Cons: i was not there long enough to understand their system.
I was only there two days and it would have been a contract job lasting six weeks. The managers were under tremendous pressure to get their program up and running. The employees felt that all day long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace.
operator (Former Employee), Cranbury, NJNovember 1, 2013
Demonstrated professionalism, tact, and diplomacy while working with co-worker in high-pressure situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
strink machine (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 30, 2013
i just love working and woking with ppl just wish i could have stay longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great authors and products
Senior Publisher's Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: flexible scheduling of time, well-known company
Cons: no advancement opportunities, low pay
At Pearson, I learned about urgency and sales acumen. Great managers taught me to be independent and to make decisions based on sales growth.

The many, many levels of management often were not harmonious in goals and strategies.

The hardest part of the job was working with, selling, and supporting technology that customers did not like at all. Over – more... the years, good educational technology was updated to include far too many features that customers did not want or seek, and the programs became too difficult for professors, students, and Pearson employees to manage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work experience, until...
Project Manager (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 23, 2013
Pros: generous pay and benefits. good work/life balance.
Cons: being laid off with zero warning.
Pearson was a great company to work for until one day, out of the blue, they walked in and announced that a bunch of us were being laid off. Also, leadership was much more stable a couple of years ago. Too much turnover at the top, both locally and otherwise, recently.

January 6, 2014

I wrote this review. Should be one star for management and four stars for compensation. Not sure what happened.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empty promises of hours to work.
Test Administrator (Former Employee), Copley, OHOctober 23, 2013
Pros: candidates were great!
Cons: retaliation, favoritism and unfairness at copley ohio location.
Empty promises of hours to work by manager at Copley Ohio location.. There is slow season and busy season. Part time hours very irregular and months may go by with no hours. It seems after Nov. of the year, very, very little hours till summer of next year. Also manager is not fair on hours and shows favoritism to certain employees.
Unprofessional-ism, – more... favoritism and retaliation are the core of Copley Ohio office.
If you want a job that is really not a job??? Apply.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all of the different candidates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from the Copely Ohio office
Test Administrator (Former Employee), Copely, OhioOctober 16, 2013
Pros: none to speak of
Cons: corporate talks the talk doesn't walk the walk
Corruption, favoritism, retaliation run amuck in this office. All the good and honest employees are leaving at this moment. Do not apply to this office!

About Pearson

Pearson is an international media company with world-leading businesses in education, business information, and consumer publishing. – Read more