Pendleton Woolen Mills Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but only certain people get to move up in management.
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Anderson, CAJanuary 6, 2016
Opening or closing. Answering phones, helping customers, stocking if needed. Cleaning at closing.
How to be a more responsible employee.
Management was very young.
Co-workers were all pretty good.
Lifting heavy boxes from freight.
When the manager was not there and we could relax.
Pros
Their benefits were good
Cons
Not receiving a raise for four years
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with lots of incentives
Catalog Purchase Order Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 5, 2015
Advancement, is very possible at Pendleton. Always looked forward to going to work. Days can be very busy which allowed time to fly by. Learned 5 different positions at Pendleton. Mangement is very understanding and supportive. Co-workers were amazing. Hardest part of job was juggling many tasks at once at times. Most enjoyable was completing tasks and management acknowledging the effort.
Pros
Amazing management
Cons
long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
finishing operator (Former Employee) –  Washougal, WAMarch 6, 2015
Not a bad place to work. I had the greatest supervisor ever on graveyard shift. Worked with some really great people. Kind of laid back. Basically once you learned your job, you could just come in and do it, no one bothered you. bad parts....a lot of blaming between shifts. swing liked to blame days of graves, etc.
Pros
good supervisor, good coworkers, insurance
Cons
no match on 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pendleton makes me proud to work here
Fabric Designer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 5, 2015
This is the first job I have had that keeps me thinking about work each night. I come in each day excited to get to work!!! I love that I work for an American Manufacturing company.
Pros
I get to see my designs!
Cons
Hmmmm
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 25, 2015
order processing
confirmations of purchase orders
answering phone lines
checking stock of items
making sure orders shipped out
Pros
great work environment
Cons
long travel
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable family owned business.
Communications Manager Menswear (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 6, 2015
I moved to Portland in 1977 to take the job at Pendleton and was not disappointed. It was a very good company to work for and I only left 11 years later because Pendleton's advertising agency made me an offer that I couldn't refuse!
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst retail experience in my career.
store manager (Former Employee) –  pennsylvaniaJune 27, 2013
Run don't walk from this company !!They use you and discriminate against older people, a horrible company to work for. I would not recommend them ever.
Pros
none that i can think of. it was the worst retail management experience i have ever had.
Cons
upper management is all about getting their bonuses and cutting down staff and supplies to do it.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classic company with old school values
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 12, 2014
The Pendleton product cannot be matched in quality and design. My roll is 100% telecommute so I cannot speak with any authority about the office environment.
If I had the ability to move to the Portland, Or area, I would pursue a career at the home office.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pendleton Woolen Mills
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VaOctober 31, 2014
Reading e-mail to set store for sales.Reports due on Monday Morning. Payroll,Receiving.
The best part of my job there was selling a quality product and working with customers to satisfy there needs and go above and beyond to get the product they were searching for.I really enjoyed the people I worked with directly.
Pros
a superior product.made selling easy
Cons
cooporate office reconstruction.hr department
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work place.
Patternmaker/Pattern Engineer/ Technical Designer (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 16, 2012
It was always pleasant to come in the building every morning. I learned, the whole wool process. It was very nice to work with professionals at what they were doing. The hardest part of the job was controlling new production samples. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see my results and working at a job that requires doing what I love.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Great People
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVJuly 1, 2013
My only complaint was when i went to work for the company the store locotion had been decided without really looking at where the mony was flowing for higher end retail in Charleston WV market.
Pros
great pay great work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Finishing Operator (Former Employee) –  Washougal, WAMarch 22, 2012
Interesting place to work. Learned a lot about wool processing
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5