Penguin Random House Employee Reviews

Found 112 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a really great company
OP4/ Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDFebruary 6, 2017
Family environment.The benefits are amazing and it isn't hard work. Their system for filling orders is smooth.If they feel like you want it, getting a better job is not hard.
Pros
Benefits are great, hiring from within
Cons
Managers are too uptight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Book packer (Former Employee) –  Kirkwood, NYJanuary 28, 2017
Penguin Random House was a good place to work, good benefits and pay. The job had lots of heavy lifting and carrying heavy cartons of books.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed picking
Picker (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INJanuary 27, 2017
I learned how to do voice pick, and was always moving around.
voice pick was easy .
The drive was the hardest part for me .
upper Management was nice
Pros
nice people and good company
Cons
2 short brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Advertising Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 22, 2017
I did not love my manager. I felt like I was not listened to and did not have much say in anything. It was a lot of paper pushing and not a lot of learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great overall
picklines (Former Employee) –  Kirkwood, NYJanuary 17, 2017
basic factory work, had room for advancement but company relocated, most employees were nice and friendly, if they didn't relocate, I would still be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people
Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDJanuary 14, 2017
I love this job but they really need to do something about the dirt and dust. I can barely breathe out of my nose when i leave because of the filth. Also there are not enough fans in the summer time. If they cant afford air conditioning then at least put alot of fans in there for the employees.
Pros
Bonuses, benefits, vacation
Cons
Not good raises, dirty, not enough air flow
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Acquisitions Editor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 10, 2017
I loved working here. Excellent insurance, 401k, paid time off, sabbaticals, vacations. Most employees are hired and they rarely leave unless its due to location move, health issues, or reorganization. Open office with seriously creative people who try to have fun as they work. Possible advancement ... but it's slow going.
Pros
Time off is insane.
Cons
Sometimes conflict is ignored.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and a fast learner
Operator 3 (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDJanuary 10, 2017
Love working and very motivated with a great attitude. Full of energy. I loved this job. Work place was fun and very well kept. I loved the people I worked for and with. I would go back to work with them if I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The editors are really great people. Sadly I signed a bad contract and was never paid royalties.
Freelance Artist (Former Employee) –  Murray, KYJanuary 3, 2017
The editors are really great people and worked through any deadline issues or family problems I had at the time. Sadly I signed a bad contract and was never paid royalties. Live and learn.
Pros
Great working relationships
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adio Engineer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 29, 2016
A typical day consists of setting up the studios for the days recordings, schedule pick-up sessions, studio support for freelance engineers and directors, transfer/convert audio files, record pick-up sessions.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun drama free work environment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INDecember 16, 2016
Working at PRH was great. I loved working there and I wish I didnt have to move out of state so soon. The benefits were awesome and other job opportunity was always posted. Overall I would work there again
Pros
20 minute breaks well spread out
Cons
The concrete flooring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview of Penguin Random House
Dock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INDecember 9, 2016
I really enjoyed working at Penguin Random House. The management was great and my co-workers also. The work there is enjoyable and not stressful for hard.
Pros
Supervisor and time off
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INNovember 24, 2016
I enjoyed my job the people that work there are great. the benefits are great, good health coverage. over all it is a great place to work. if offered a chance to return I would love to.
Pros
lots of paid holidays
Cons
not very much break time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2016
One month sabbatical after ten years and excellent time off and benefits. Great facilities and people to work with. Best publishing house to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penguin
Employee (Current Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INOctober 27, 2016
Penguin is a great company - customer driven and focused on quality. Benefits are better than most companies and they are affordable. No required overtime; voluntary ot only.
Pros
Benefits, 2 breaks per day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Job
Processor (Current Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INSeptember 23, 2016
the management is nice, knowledgeable, and friendly but the people you work with don't show the same courtesy. They're rude, talk about you behind your back and unfortunately no one is on the same page as everyone else.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover Rate... for those that can't handle it
Operator Level 4 (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDSeptember 22, 2016
Having worked in the warehouse I can vouch for the high turnover rate that PRH is known for. The fact of the matter is that the turnover rate is a result of those that begin the career and can't handle the stress of warehouse work, or those that just aren't cut out for a high speed production environment. This job is not for everyone, but if you can show up on time, work hard, and put forth your best efforts, it's a great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was hard work but good people.
Processor (Former Employee) –  Kirkwood, NYSeptember 11, 2016
Very good pay and people. Weekends off but sadly they do not exist anymore and miss the place. Best place I have ever worked. I did not like second shift due to no life outside of work but all and all it was a good place to work and nice bonuses. They did take care of their workers and it was safer place to work at than the place I am in now.
Pros
It has laid all workers off due to closing facility.
Cons
Very good pay and fun people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced enviroment
Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INSeptember 8, 2016
this a great place to work, great benefits, time off, family/work life balance people are great to work with if you love books this is the place to be!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if you're on the right persons good side
OP3 Processor (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INJuly 26, 2016
I had trouble with my team leader because he knew me before I worked there and always had it out for me. I tried to demote myself and switch departments and they would not let me knowing the situation I was in. In my eyes, that's not caring about your employees.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor management and team leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penguin Random House. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 170 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9
84%

CEO Approval

Based on 58 ratings
Add your rating