Find companies:
Penn-Mar Human Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Penn-Mar Human Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace where no day is the same.
Certified Medical Technician certifications (Current Employee), Freeland, MDAugust 2, 2013
There are no typical days because we turn life to living. My job is to enhance our clients life each and every day. The most enjoyable facet of my job is that I get to take our clients wherever I choose or wherever they want to travel (as long as it's approved). Management is great because everything must be approved before actually done; thus, there – more... is excellent communication between employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close family atmosphere
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Glen Rock, PAMay 9, 2013
Evening gets started with dispense of PM medication, get tooth brush, mouth wash and mouth swab together. Put medication cup on the kitchen table, put the tooth brush/others in the bathroom on the counter top. Prompt to take medications and do teeth routine. Get a health snack prepared before resident would go to bed. Take out trash and clean up the – more... resident apartment as needed. Wake resident to get up to use the bathroom.

learned to slow down and be patient. Some people don't go as fast as we do.

Supervisor is open to ideas and is available anytime.
My hardest part is getting the resident to do what needs to be completed.
Most put I enjoy is the closeness and respect everyone has for eachother and working together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful staff and amazing families and committees
Events Coordinator (Former Employee), Freeland, MDApril 23, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: yes....
Surprises at every turn....Continuous success amid the behind the scenes action....Such a delight working with the volunteer committees and enjoying the events and the look of accomplishments on some supportive faces....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management I have ever seen
;) Can't say (Current Employee), MarylandFebruary 5, 2013
Cons: a lot to list
There are more then one issue with this company and mid or lower management or lack of....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating, Challenging, Poor Management, and No Reward.
Residential Supervisor (Former Employee), Freeland, MarylandJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: most meals are free.
Cons: stricter-than-necessary smoking regulations, poor management
Penn-Mar might be an overall okay organization to work with for other people; however, my experience with it has been less than satisfactory. Benefits are terrible; expect to pay $3,000-$5,000 in deductibles alone if you are the type that visits the doctor often. Management is more often than not poor, and Penn-Mar seems to have a history of hiring – more... incorrect people for supervisory positions. The consumers are very challenging at times due to the lack of consequences for their negative behaviors; for example, a consumer could walk up to you and spit in your face and you would only be able to tell them how "not nice" that was. You are not permitted to tell the consumers "no", so many of them display learned maladaptive behaviors due to the lack of negative reinforcement. The consumers do not receive the proper education and learning through Penn-Mar's adjunct facilities, and are unprepared to immerse themselves in their communities due to this fact. Also, do not expect any reward if you are employed with Penn-Mar for any lengthy period of time. Seniority does not entitle you to promotions, pay raises, or transfers. A person with less experience than you will be hired on as your supervisor- this happens quite frequently.
Using earned vacation time is difficult as well; in order to use vacation hours, you must find coverage for every single hour that you plan to not work. Therefore, if you do not find the coverage (which is very possible here), you do not take the vacation.
Overall, there are better organizations where the employees are better able to truly make a difference in lives of people with disabilities. Three years was more than enough for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience as a senior residential assistant
Senior Residential Assistant (Current Employee), New Freeland, MarylandJanuary 16, 2013
A creative and active work environment. My shift runs 2PM Fridays thru 10PM Sundays. The two individuals that I care for expect dynamic adventures and are ready at pick-up on Fridays for a spectacular weekend. We usually enjoy activities such as dining-out, going to a movie, vacations, visiting the pet store, bowling or enjoying a play etc. Sometimes – more... I entertain them at the group home with crafts such as making colorful sand bottles or creating and decorating various holiday ornaments, etc. They love listening to music in the van while on erranes to the grocery store, on medical visits or just riding around. I enjoy a extraordinary relationship with both individuals and their parents. I work alone (without staff support) and choose most of the activities that we do. There is little input from management to our daily routine but always quick responses to my request for help. I learned that individuals with disabilities develop a steadfast and loyal bond to people they come to trust. I also learned that they are far more intelligent then given credit for. The individuals I care for have daily chores and are encouraged to be as independent. I have come to learn that people with intellectual/behaviioral disabilities are rarely judgemental and very instinctive. The most enjoyable part of my job is that most times it doesn't feel like a job but....an experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun, depends on which house or position you are placed in.
Residential Assistant (Current Employee), Glen Rock, PASeptember 25, 2012
Pros: paid meals most often.
Cons: people you work in houses understand better than managers and riverside, managers "think" they know your consumers.
It is a good job if you like working with the developmentally disabled. Benefits aren't very good considering my manager told me not to get pregnant. Also they just learned of my pregnancy and now I am under suspension and investigation, but no one will tell me what for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy place to wotk
Direct Care Staff/ Senior Residential Assistant (Former Employee), Freeland, MDMay 9, 2012
Pros: a great place to work to meet need client, and to be able to share, the wold with them, alo the company allow you to get overtime, if you need it
Cons: hills driving, winter month it can be a challenge, just getting there.
Working with client on a one on one basis, Helping them to do their ADL, get the out into the community, Run medcial appointmnet. Shopping and all there day to dat livcing skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential Experience
Resident Manager (Former Employee), Millers, MDApril 1, 2012
Focuses on patient reidential lives, goals, and dreams. Also allows employees to be apart of the changing formation of the individual patients goals, and aspirations.