Penn Mutual Life Insurance Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Horsham, PANovember 1, 2016
no room to grow at all
management constantly changing
good culture but it is getting lost
change job roles whenever they seem fit
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my best experience
WEALTH MANAGEMENT ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 28, 2016
Great turnover of directors.Communication between management and employees is not the best and there is not a lot of collaboration between employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Products
Financial Advisor and Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Redwood Shores, CAMay 25, 2016
Penn Mutual has great insurance and annuity products relative to the competition which made things easier for me as a salesperson. Like all insurance companies, Penn compensates almost entirely via commission, which I was not a fan of.
Pros
great products
Cons
commission structure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old school conservative family oriented
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Horsham, PAMarch 24, 2016
old school moving to the new millennium, some really great people, some areas more open than others, good benefits, ok resources, onsite gym, cafeteria and associate community events
Pros
close early day before a holiday
Cons
not consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Laptop Technician (Former Employee) –  Horsham, PADecember 18, 2015
The best part of working at Penn Mutual was you can work without your manager around letting you work on your own which is more productive. The people are great, everyone treated you as part of a team.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Commute was too long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 7, 2015
Everyone seems to enjoy it here and has the right balance between fun and productivity. Penn Mutual s a fun and exciting atmosphere.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Low room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managament/benefits/is good/for me working at home is not an option
Life Insurance Representative (Current Employee) –  south bend, inSeptember 2, 2015
management/benefits/culture are all healthy

My personal ability to work from home is not an option like I thought it could be.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better Choices Than Penn Mutual
Manager (Current Employee) –  Horsham, PAJuly 14, 2015
There are much better choices than Penn Mutual!
Management does not respect their employees!
Thinks everything is great.
Stick their head in the sand!
Outdated computer systems
Instead of spending money on Rugby, should
put those dollars into health care costs for
the employees.
Pros
Nice Building, grounds and campus
Cons
Poor Mangement. Health care costs to the employee
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Agent.
Agent/Producer (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJJune 22, 2015
The day would start with 1 hour drive plus traffic. I would hit the phones upon arrival of my desk. Catch up with advisors which have appointments of mine coming up. Set up appointments with advisors. To attend Training typically a few hours a day. Back to the Phones whenever possible booking about 5-10 appointments a week. Seeing clients with advisors whenever possible.
Pros
Suit, nice office
Cons
Activities are draining. Mentally and physically.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, professional and nice co-workers.
Quality Assurance specialist (Former Employee) –  Horsham, PAMarch 13, 2015
Performing different tasks within a scope of software Quality Assurance engineer. Being involved in all stages of a SDLC and STLC. Management is professional, courteous and strong. Difficult 'crank' stages of a project. A great satisfaction when things get accomplished.
Pros
Satisfying work
Cons
Sometimes taxing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun day
Operations / Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJFebruary 19, 2015
a typical day at work would always be interesting.
I learned a lot of skills.
the management team was OK.
co-workers were great.
I never found anything "hard" about the job.
the most enjoyable part was the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Environment
Administrative Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Linwood, NJFebruary 13, 2015
I would assist two top agents with all aspects of new business with insurance and annuities. I would scrub and process applications to be sent to the carrier. The company was poorly managed. There appeared to be a lot of covering up when employees were treated poorly by the agents.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2015
My role at Penn Mutual was to help my clients find alternatives to foreclosure. I am single handedly responsible for 100+ clients across the United States. On a daily basis, I meet with clients, collect and review paperwork, manage a database, and negotiate with banks to seek resolutions for clients' mortgages. I also assist in short sales and some real estate transactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Burlington, MANovember 27, 2014
Good people that care about their clients
Good products that help clients
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with good product portfolio.
Associate Regional Director (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 5, 2014
Excellent company although numerous marketing personnel changes and territory adjustments made representation difficult.
Pros
Products and compensation model.
Cons
Peronnel changes in marketing as well as constant territroy changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Investment Accountant (Current Employee) –  Horsham, PAOctober 4, 2014
Penn Mutual is a great company! The culture at Penn Mutual is outstanding. There are some issues, but I believe that this is something that they are working to improving.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Practice Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Horsham, PASeptember 2, 2014
This was a work place that allowed me to go in everyday and get my job doone. No career growth and a glass roof.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first paying job!
Policy Forms Typist (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 27, 2014
I started at Penn Mutual, as a clerk-typist. It was a work-release program, that I participated in, in high school. Before the end of my senior year, I was working there, full-time.
Pros
Great benefits, opportunity for advancement.
Cons
Pay was not that great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penn Mutual
Practice Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Horsham, PAJuly 26, 2014
up beat enviorment
friendly co-works
value the employees and producers they employ
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skilled Investment Managers
Independent Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Glastonbury, CTJune 26, 2014
Hands on management of Security Investments and Life Insurance
Pros
Qualified staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penn Mutual Life Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.1