Find companies:
Penn National Gaming
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Penn National Gaming Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toledo, OhioJuly 15, 2014
Hollywood Casino Toledo strives to take care of their team members on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Executive Director of Hospitality Operations (Former Employee), Joliet, ILJuly 1, 2014
Good Company overall corporate structure is not the same a local property level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run open door policy
EPIC Buffet Sous Chef (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 19, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: long hours
I work right next to my staff. I managed locations that have 3 shifts 6 days week operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my co works are great
Heavy Duty Environmental Services Attendant (Current Employee), Bay Saint Louis, MSMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
id rather not say
good thing i really need a job
me and my tram mates never seem to do anything right
but we do everything asked of us
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Food Attendant (Current Employee), Alton, ILMarch 14, 2014
It is a good to work at. My Co-workers are all very friendly. The supervisors are helpful. our customers are friendly. working here I have learned to have better customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beginners Paradise
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee), Aurora, IlFebruary 19, 2014
If you are looking for a place to start out dealing, Hollywood is the place to go. They hire frequently and train and license anyone that can pass a background check.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and not employee based
Table Games Supervisor (Former Employee), Larencwburg, INFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: short breaks or none, forced volunteer program, rude management, blame culture.
Penn National Gaming is not concerned with the people who work for them, nor are they concerned with their customers. The only thing that concerns Penn National is their bottom line. Bonuses where taken away for management and told that the only way to earn a bonus was to find ways to save money. Management's solution is to cut back on customer service, – more... and employees. In turn their casinos are dirty and give the appearance of a empty supermarket with nothing to purchase, because all you see are closed tables, and no customers playing on the ones that are open. They do no marketing, no specials or drawings. Customers rarely win at Penn National. Most of their staff is under paid and forced to work hours for free in their "volunteer program", another excellent money saving idea from management. They quick to assess blame for a problem instead of finding solutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino Industry
Compliance Clerk (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MoJanuary 25, 2014
This is a fast past atmosphere with on the job training and wonderful co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
floor tech/housekeeping (Former Employee), Lawrenceburg, INJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: two 15 min. breaks, one 30 min.lunch break
im a kind of worker that is very dedicated to my work, once i started i intend to finish it with pride and dedication to my co-workers and supervisors, best of all to the co. that im working wth. unfortunately management are not treating us fearly, they seems to practice still a silent prejodicesm. towards non- american workers especially from asia. – more... very sad. iam a very hardworker, and i take pride of my works. further more iam a very reliabe worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, never a dull moment
Promotions Representative, Marketing Dept (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MOSeptember 26, 2013
At Hollywood, my day consist of working with the marketing department making sure that the customers get the best experience when they come into the casino. Since I have started working I have learned how to present myself in a professional manner at all times, learning how to deal with customers who may have some complaints and being able to solve – more... the issue fast and in the best way possible. My managers are very concerned with how things go. They are always around and asking how we are doing and what they can do to make our job easier. My co-workers are very self motivated and responsible. They are amazing to work with. The hardest part about my job is when a guest is not happy with the casino and there is nothing I can do to fix it. The most enjoyable part is when we are giving away prizes, such as cars or money, and people are so excited when they win. The expression on their face is amazing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Websites
Hourly Employee (Current Employee), Perryville, MDSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: questions aren't always answered
The employee website does not work when needed. As a current employee, I find looking for other openings within the company on the website could be much easier to navigate. (The job postings in HR aren't always up to date.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioAugust 11, 2013
Pros: decent benefits, paid time off, healthy environment
Cons: a lot of hours, no set schedule, pay
I have learned a good amount of corporate knowledge working at the Hollywood Casino. They give managers a large amount of responsibility, which is good for growth, but a lot of hours come with that responsibility. Managers have a lot of flexibility, but it takes a long time to get this done because of all the checks and balances that come with every – more... decision. Big or small. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Times and Bad Times
Manager (Former Employee), Hobbs, NMJune 26, 2013
Pros: family environment with coworkers
Cons: work/life balance is horrible
First off it all depends on which property you choose to work for, but each property has their good moments and their bad moments. Its a roller coaster based on the upper management. It seems that no matter what property you are at - the managemet rotates in and out and that changes the time you are in. Each manager/ director/ GM comes in with a different – more... perspective and ultimatly changes the mood of the property. Love the good times - fear the bad times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low salary, negative working environment.
Table Games Dealer (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJune 10, 2013
Pros: uniforms provided (employee pays if ruined or lost), employee union voted in.
Cons: six day work week, minimal training, inexperienced management, no regard for employee comfort/convenience, poor communication between departments.
Management is not experienced. Quite honestly, the parent company, Penn National Gaming, has approximately 30 casinos and runs Hollywood Columbus as if it were their first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hollywood Casino Baton Rouge
Retail Clerk (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 5, 2013
I was responsible for either opening or closing the gift shop. I would get a bank from the cage cashiers on the boat. I would perform transactions with patrons. I was required to talk a "Red Carpet" class every year to enhance my customer service skills. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers when I was working alone. The best – more... part of the job was the lasting friendship between my coworkers and the overall atmosphere of the night-life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving it, living it, working hard at what you do!
Table Dealer (Former Employee), Charles Town, WVFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: get to meet people from all over the world
Cons: some times it was too cold in areas and hot in other areas
Clock in, go to assigned table,open table if needed, be happy and courteous to customers and co-workers. Made the day as productive as possible.

I learned never to put your hands in your pocket and be cautious of players. I also learned to always be aware of what's going on at your table and never look behind you while at the table. If you needed something – more... (like a Kleenex) always ask the floor. Also, when you made any mistake at the table, always to call the floor.

Management was always there to help in situations needed. They were good to me and customers.

The hardest part of my job was to wait at the table for customers
when the casino wasn't busy.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to watch customers win, getting tips, interacting with customers, and helping customers when needed.

I enjoyed working for Penn National and would like to work for them again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First opening
Stewarding Supervisor (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: knowledge
Cons: long days, instability
10hr days and 5-7 day weks were part of the normal schedule. Some weeks we would work anywhere from 60-80hr weeks. I gaoined more of an understanding on how the management side of a business interacts with employees. The hardest part of the job was the instability of rule application at the facility as well as the extremely long days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stop action
Department Manager (Current Employee), Kansas CityNovember 9, 2012
Good company to work for with growing opportunities across the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Using your time wisely
Kitchen Steward (Former Employee), Bay St Louis, MSNovember 7, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: i didn't have any
On a typical day I was required to clean seven ice wells on the salad bar in the Epic Buffet during the graveyard shift. That included chipping the ice in the wells, taking a bucket and dumping the ice into two 55 gallon trash cans and rolling them to the kitchen. After that I would wipe down the counter tops, cabinets, glass, and floors. I learned – more... that you can clean anything as long as you have HOT water. My supervisor was ok but could have been better at communicating with his employees. The hardest part of the job is chipping the ice from the wells. The enjoyable part of the job is I could take my time and complete the task and I LOVED my shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I could have stayed
Marketing Internship (Former Employee), Toledo, OHOctober 10, 2012
Pros: family type atmosphere
Worked here as an intern through college and they really try to promote from within and take care of their own, they moved to property and was no longer an option for me

About Penn National Gaming

This gaming company is no one-trick pony. Penn National Gaming owns, operates, and has ownership interestsĀ inĀ almost 30 horseracing – Read more