Penn National Insurance Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penn National
Employee (Current Employee) –  Home-officeJuly 26, 2017
I have not been with the company long but I have more than enjoyed my time here. Many employees have been with the company for 25+ years which says a LOT about an employer. The benefits are great, the people are great, the communication is great. I took a pay cut doing a career overhaul to come to Penn National and it was the best decision I ever made.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional yet fun place to work
Underwriting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJuly 1, 2017
Professional workplace fast paced and caring. Lots of training and on the job training. Long term employees are walking books of knowledge and are all very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Senior Loss Control Consultant (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, SCMarch 21, 2016
Rank and file employees (the coworkers) are really wonderful people. All of them whether with underwriting, premium audit, loss control, claims, or support services seemed to share common problems and experiences but worked together and supported each other very, very well to make everything work. They basically had each others backs.
Pros
Good about providing job related education
Cons
Salary Increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PNI was a good company to work for.
Customer Service Representative - Finance (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAFebruary 23, 2016
PNI was a good company to work for. I worked in three different departments while employed with them. I enjoyed working in the claim department where I was consider the Workers' Compensation Bureau Doc queen as I knew the in's and out's of typing them. They had a good benefit package.
Pros
We would have off Christmas Eve and the day after.
Cons
Only 45 minute lunch on paydays. Previous employer gave us an hour on paydays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company loves to donate
Underwriting Technician (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAOctober 11, 2015
A typical day at work is very fast paced and rarely a down moment. I learned that hard work will eventually pay off. The hardest part of my job would be trying to accommodate a customer when you are not given all of the information that you need to process an insurance policy. it's not hard as much as it is time consuming to contact different individuals to get the needed information. As with all companies, you work well with some and not with others. For the most part, I get along very well with my co-workers and for the few that we just do not see eye to eye, I keep a very good, professional relationship with them and that is it. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing the I have provided someone with the services that they asked for.
Pros
Lots of volunteer work, Donating to outside agencies.
Cons
We could use sick days as a part of our benefits package.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penn National
Financial Service Represntative (Current Employee) –  HarrisburgJune 4, 2015
There is constant work to do with no opportunity to for advancement or learning. Co-workers are great. The management is scattered and run the team in complete chaos. The most enjoyable part of the day is the customers and the co-workers.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Uneducated management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAOctober 14, 2014
My co-workers were great to work with in every department. The work ethic and culture were impressive. It was a very rewarding experience for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work ethic, team player, dependable, productive, reliable, quick learner, and flexible
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAAugust 4, 2014
Taking inbound calls to file auto, property, or liability losses for agents and clients that call in. Research claim numbers and adjuster information upon request and help team members with assignments.
Pros
I can work through my lunches
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  harrisbug paFebruary 6, 2014
This is a very good company to work for. Plenty of room for advancement and compensation is fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very unsettled work atmoshphere, a lot of management problems
Claims Associate (Former Employee) –  Hunt Valley, MDAugust 26, 2013
I was a claims adjuster while I worked at PNI. There was a lot of transformation and revolving employees. Our office had major management issues which made it very uncomfortable to go to work every day. This was definitely not a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful envoronment to work in
Property Damage / Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCApril 27, 2013
The work days with this company were very stressful and demanding. The work load was so over whelming it consisted of one having to work well beyond a normal 8 hr. work day as well as requiring us to work from home on nights and a daily basis.
Pros
The benefits package is excellent
Cons
The demands of the job were over whelming
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I actually loved my job here at PNI
Receptionist Claims Service Rep. Claims Assoc. (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, NJMarch 25, 2012
I worked here for approx 10yrs advancing from receptionist to claims service representative to claims associate. training was great, co-workers were great unfortunetly the supervisors were not so great. And neither was the office manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penn National Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6