Find companies:
PENNDOT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

PENNDOT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place for the $
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Carlisle PAJuly 6, 2014
All it needs is more focus on employees and not self and get rid of the unions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy job
Flagger (Former Employee), Mifflintown, PAJuly 1, 2014
Easy but boring job. Standing the majority of the day as a flagger in the hot sun was tiresome some days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed areas of improvement
TCIS in Bridge Inspection (Current Employee), Dunmore, PaJune 11, 2014
Pros: being key personel which gives me job security
I do appreciate my employment here and do have great supervisors. However I have seen that previous and present inspectors do not complete the responsibilities of the given work. A typical day is one where much previously undocumented information is recorded during my inspections. The management here is great as they appreciate the work I accomplish. – more... My assistant is new but is also extremely thorough with great work ethics. The hardest part of my job is that I am aware that present and previous inspectors have not done the work to the best of their abilities. These inspections should be based on documentation of deficiencies and conditions of the elements so that future inspectors and inspections require minimum updates. It is a fact that I use much time during these inspections documenting information that should already be there. The most enjoyable part of my job is being responsible for the safety of traveling public. It is a responsibility that is and should be taken very seriously. I aslo enjoy the fact that I save taxpayers a lot of money due to my efficiency along with accessing structures that have not been accessed during previous inspections due to inspection conditions such as higher water and low underclearances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful experience aer so many years of earning aliving
Help Desk Security/I.T.T (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 15, 2014
Pros: proof of modern day slavery that could be televised
Cons: they force you tosee a psychiatrist to make you feel yu ae guilty
Very unfair work environment for minorities. Supervisor lied and reported she worked with personnel to set me up for termination after 16 years of earning a career there/and co workers knew of all this going on and would not come forth. The director who was married; was seeing an employee, and making them aware of this he then was out of a position – more... only 3 weeks after working with the supervisor to rid of my career. Union knew what was going on but could only do so much. I would have been eligible for full retirement benefits July 2019 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun enjoyable place to work
Intern (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAFebruary 17, 2014
I enjoyed learning new jobs and I enjoyed everyone at this work place. Everyone pulled their weight of the work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
ESTI - Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Hollidaysburg, PAFebruary 11, 2014
I learned a lot during this internship, great networking, and great pay for a college student!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job and full of good people
Internship (Former Employee), Towanda, PAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: worked at own pace and planned what you wannted to do for the day
Cons: wasn't related to my major of surveying
Drove around all of Bradford County inspecting drainage pipes, road shoulders, and guide rails and inserted all the data collected into the STAMPP program in laptop. Worked with another intern same age as me and got to know him pretty well and we worked well together and manage our time well to finish all routes assigned to us for the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working the 12am till 8am
Dispatcher for the winter program (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJanuary 12, 2014
I work 12am till 8am its pretty quite most am but when the weather is bad im full winter mode.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job
Temporary Tunnel Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Pittsburgh PaOctober 30, 2013
Cons: only temporary
great group of guys who worked together.Most work occurred at the Liberty tunnels but did some work at Fort Pitt and Squirrel Hill
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job.
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAOctober 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits
A typical day included paying all bills for the drivers license centers in Harrisburg Pa. I also did travel expenses for traveling Penndot employees. I also faxed, copies and filed each payment and travel expense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just not enough money for my daughter and i
highway forman2 (Former Employee), Washington, paOctober 16, 2013
Pros: had some easy days
Cons: watched over all the time
i got going 3 hours before work time started to make sure all signs were set and all equipment was fueled and ready for the day. then at the end of the day done the payrolls on my own for another hour . it was time to move on. i worked about 12 hours aday and only got paid 7.5 hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highschool Internship
Service Center Clerk (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PASeptember 4, 2013
I answered phones and did Data entry work for PENNDOT over the summer before my Senior year in highschool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place, good employees
Highway Maintenance Worker (Current Employee), Stroudsburg, PASeptember 1, 2013
Pros: great work environment, decent pay.
Cons: not enough hours, only a summer position.
repairing roads and bridges. motivational work environment. use of hand and power tools along with dealing with the public motorists of the state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work staff.
Clerk Typist I (Current Employee), Clearfield, PAAugust 20, 2013
A typical day is centered around answering and directing phone calls while performing other duties such as data entry and updating bulletin boards.

The most enjoyable part is the variation in extra duties on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, friendly place to work.
Government Service Intern Program (Former Employee), Monessen, PAMay 24, 2013
At PennDOT I learned how to take what I learned in the classroom and apply it to a real job. The time I spent here was very valuable in that it helped me develop myself professionally and it gave me a glimpse of what it is going to take to be successful in the real world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a great crew of workers
Temporary Highway Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Waymart, PAMay 9, 2013
Great place to work with good job security and a good group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
class a operator (Former Employee), Indiana, PAApril 29, 2013
Great place to work you keep busy my coworkers were great and my boss awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Butler, PAApril 4, 2013
Pros: independence, job education
Cons: mostly field work, weather dependent, close proximity to high speed/volume traffic
The internship was effective in teaching self management and working with a partner to accomplish the tasks at hand. The roadway systems were distributed throughout Butler County and were reviewed on three criteria: shoulder quality, guiderail quality, and drainage quality. Safety vest and helmets were required when surverying was taking place and all – more... records were recorded and reviewed for accuracy and checked when flagged as poor quality. The day began with meeting at the Butler County office and taking a state car to the required roadways for an 8AM-4PM shift and ended with returning the car with recorded mileage and heading to an evening shift at Red Robin. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer work for college student
Government service intern (Former Employee), Northumberland, PAFebruary 28, 2013
typical day involves laboring and flagging to ensure the safety of yourself and your crew.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok hours too hard.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Ridgway, PAFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: hours.
its ok the hours r too hard in winter with 3 kids and divorced. i like the summer hours. overall its a good place to work.

About PENNDOT

The Executive Office of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania governs the more than 12 million residents of the Keystone State. The – Read more