Penske Motor Group Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great experience working at Longo Lexus
Sales/Lease Sales (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAJanuary 18, 2016
Helped many guests with their purchase of new or preowned vehicles. It's a great place to work because everybody is happy helping guests with their purchases.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Tecnichan (Current Employee) –  El monte, CALIFORNIASeptember 29, 2015
Learning is continuous day to day always something new growing opportunities and challenges of each month to help super goals , I also want to mention that also takes into account the opinion of the staff .
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment with great co-workers all around
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAJuly 13, 2015
A typical day at work involves making sure that our guest's needs are fully satisfied. They are the reason why everyone in the dealership has a job to begin with, which is the reason why the company places so much emphasis on customer service. Everyone that works at Longo really takes it upon themselves to go far and beyond what they are asked of. Interacting with my co-workers is what makes the most enjoyable part of the job. I have learned so much that some times does not involve work since I began working at Longo. The owner of the dealership takes it upon himself to go and meet all of his employees when he has the chance and even remembers the slightest details about you. Such a remarkable owner and company to work for!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, straight forward no nonsense approach to the sales process
Finance Director (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 27, 2015
As the Finance Director at Lexus of Stevens Creek, I was responsible for overseeing over 400 loan applications per month. In addition I also prepared and executed over 85 contracts personally. Developed and trained the entire department, raised the per copy average by over 35% and also raised CSI scores simultaneously. I personally trained several top sales associates which later where promoted into management positions. Enjoyed working directly with my co workers in all areas of the dealership. We were able to develop very rewarding relationships with both the captive lender, as well as outside sources. The most challenging part of the job related to the increase in responsibilities due the elimination of direct business office and DMV support.
Pros
Excellant business model, honesty and integrity throughout the company
Cons
Trending towards consolidating office support which resulted in poor customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and demanding work place
Receptionist Manager (Former Employee) –  3534 N Peck Rd El Monte, Ca. 91731January 23, 2015
This is a team oriented company, everyone works together to accomplish world class service.
Pros
constant growth
Cons
demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet fun place to work at.
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CaliforniaJanuary 8, 2015
I learn a various amount of tasks which amplified my experience levels. Management positively works with employees to exceed their comfort zones.
Pros
gym available, friendly
Cons
work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company to work for
Service Administration Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAOctober 20, 2014
A very large company to work for long hours, but we spend a lot of time there so you make a family.
Pros
ok pay
Cons
longo hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced place to work
detailer (Current Employee) –  el monteOctober 16, 2014
non stop work. constantly busy. company is so larger personalities are bound to clash
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CaOctober 9, 2014
I am a Sales Consultant and have been with Longo for about four months. So far this is one of the best companies to work for.

One of the hardest parts of this position is the hiring process. There are a lot of candidates that apply for this position and only a few get selected. The whole hiring process took me 3-4 weeks. Some candidates in different departments took months to get hired. I had to go through several interviews: I talked to 3 sales managers, one with the general sales director and one with the general manager. After, I had to take an online assessment which consist of two parts:
first section is 10 minutes testing on knowledge like
-patterns 2,4,6 _?, 1/3 of 75 is?
-what is the opposite of good..... etc

second section was about company fit like
-How well do you work in teams?
-How well can you multitask?
-How well can you solve problems?

From what I heard, the assessment is another consideration. I don't know what exactly Longo looks for on the assessment. I knew people who applied and didn't get hired because of it.
Also, the manager who considered me called all my references and asked about my performance. I did have prior car sales experience(6 months at Nissan). I really didn't think I was going to get hired because of my short experience and people told me Longo only hires people with lots of experience. During the interview, I stressed how even though I wasn't top salesman, I enjoyed helping customers. So bottom line is you really don't need much experience to be a car salesman at Longo. By the way, I am only 22 years old, recently graduated with a degree
  more... in Business.

Hardest part of the job is long hours. If you want to make money, you have to commit to staying late nights and working weekends.

Company culture is awesome. Everyone always smile and wave to each other. Also, if I didn't know something, there was always someone to help me. All the managers are willing to help if you ask.

Good benefits and 401k.

Has a gym and college downstairs.

Free company lunches once every month.

Pay is good for someone who just recently graduated from college. Pay is really dependent on the cars you sell. Sell more, make more.
  less
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Office management is unrealistic, Really temp-to hire
Contract Clerk (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAAugust 12, 2014
I applied online for a position which was full time and with a certain pay. When I got hired they said I would be "temping" for just ONE MONTH with the pay from my previous job (which was not what it was advertised as). I agreed because I believed in their word that I would get hired and get my raise in one month. Surely that did not happen. I had to keep following up. The management at the business office is horrible! She wants you to work at the fastest pace and nags about every little thing she sees at your desk. She gives horrible critiques that make you feel like you are not valued and not worth working for her. I had never felt so unappreciated in my life! I could no longer stand working under her supervision. Beware the business office! THIS JOB IS ACTUALLY TEMP TO HIRE, BEWARE! THEY WILL NOT START THE PAY RATE AS WHAT IT IS ADVERTISED! YOU HAVE TO WORK THROUGH AN AGENCY FIRST.
Pros
monthly bbqs, good benefits
Cons
management, do not keep their word
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Delivery Specialist/salesman (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAJuly 16, 2014
very productive company and wont settle for second best and is always in the top competition
Pros
successfull at maintaing a great customer service
Cons
promoting within and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Internship
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAApril 24, 2014
I had an incredible time at Billabong that gave me the opportunity to learn much about how to manage clients, setting up, managing, and running public events, and how to market a brand.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing team
Front desk clerk (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 11, 2014
Amazing group of people to work with.Still currently working with Lexus and learning a lot from the the automotive industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Technology Specialist (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJanuary 9, 2014
They have some really great people that work there and it makes the work fun.
Pros
fun events
Cons
pay low
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place Good experience Nice People or tenants! Great Friends!
Guest Relations (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CANovember 18, 2013
Wonderful place to buy wholesale Furniture and Gifts for your Store.
Pros
good deals on items, and fun shows to work
Cons
new management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest Toyota Dealership
Ca, Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  ElMonte< CaliforniaSeptember 22, 2013
Managed two payroll clerks for 350 employees
there were 35 managers for 24 hour store and was a enjoyable place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Professional and Fun environment
Assistant Service Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAAugust 20, 2013
This company promotes from within. As an employee at Longo Lexus I always felt confident in asking questions. I learned all about the job and always kept learning. All my managers were great mentors.
Pros
family oriented company outtings, quarterly luncheons, raffles, monthly barbeques, health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Fun
Service Concierge (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CaJune 16, 2013
Start at 10:30, and greet guests and see if they have any questions.
I was taught how to manage a team and work as a team.
The people i work with are amazing and always working.
Pros
1 hour lunches, 1/2 off service and parts, and 3 weeks of vacation.
Cons
have to pay 60% of medical, work on the weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management has employees work with limited autonomy
Full charge ASE certified service consultant (Former Employee) –  san jose caApril 7, 2013
Not a happy place to work employee morale low toward the company. Most employees worked well together to watch each others back. The hardest part of the job was working with the management to matter how excellent the CSI ratings.
Pros
close to home, multiple healthcare choices
Cons
no cluture to work outside the box
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive high paced environment
Service Consultant (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAMarch 19, 2013
Productive and high paced environment. Great environment for advancement. You are able to work at your own pace. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work with our customers and build a relationship with them.
Pros
great employee benefits, barbecues and luncheons.
Cons
high stress at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2

Penske Motor Group Reviews by Location