Find companies:
Pentagon Federal Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Pentagon Federal Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Teller (Former Employee), Highland Falls, NYDecember 11, 2014
The hours were ok, the management a little poor. Always a lot of work and very busy. But it was nice because all weekends were free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hanover MdDecember 3, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: good breaks
A typical day at work:
Very Busy

What you learned:
Set goals that are attainable.

Management:
Direct, controls, supervises, a group of people to coordinate and achieve a specific goal.

Your co-workers:
My department was small we had 4 man and 3 women. We all worker together as a Team.
Dependability
-Honesty
-Positive Attitude
-Willingness to Work
-Works – more... Independently
-Has Good Accuracy with Their Work
-Follows Directions
-Gets Along with Co-Workers and Customers
-Has Good Hygiene
-Is on Time for Work
-Has Good Attendance
-Is Cooperative
-Has a Positive Attitude
-Is a Team Player

The hardest part of the job.
When the main system goes down.

The most enjoyable part of the job:
I would recommend working at this company to anyone.
You don’t want to let your coworkers down.
You help without thinking.
You view success in terms of fulfillment and gratification – not just promotions and money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work
MSR (Former Employee), Omaha, NEOctober 2, 2014
Pros: hrs while in college
Cons: little opportunities for advancement
Good play to work while in college.

CEO comes every quarter just to meet the employees and chat. Very relaxed environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair job
Teller (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: training and skills gained
Cons: telephone marketing.
Good for people who are finding a path to travel on. They have good management teams at each branch. The job can get slow depending on your branch location. Other than that they are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loan processor Senior Branch Rep
Senior Branch Support Representative (Former Employee), Hanover, MDJuly 18, 2014
Pros: learned loan processing, loan reviews, debt to income ratios
Cons: headquartered out of virginia, too far for me to commute
Opened branch, Processed loan application submissions. Opened an processed loan/accounts. Verified submitted documents, reviewed Credit Reports, requested follow up documents. Achieved branch goals and met and exceeded required loan dollar goals. In charge of the teller line, supervisor duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun days
Loan Service Representative (Former Employee), Yigo, GUApril 16, 2014
Worked as an Loan officer also helped out as a Teller. Multitasking sometimes everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Staff Accountant III (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAApril 6, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very small chance to grow professionaly
Secure environment, friendly co-workers, skillful management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first time banking experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), overseasFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: work hours, and having a quota to meet every month
Cons: slow paced environment
A positive work environment, easy to get along with co-workers. Most enjoyable part of my job was helping customers with loans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Fulltime Teller II (Former Employee), Washington D.C.February 6, 2014
Pros: great company with great people
Cons: work life balance
Always busy
Excellent training programs
The boss and co-workers are nice and supportive
Hard balancing work and life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, serviced mainly military personnel in my office
Loan Officer 1-Branch Support Representative (Former Employee), West Point, NYDecember 18, 2013
Pros: manager always found ways to keep the team upbeat and knowledgable in products.
Cons: due to the area i lived in, positions were limited unless you wanted to relocate.
Approved, processed and disbursed loans within loan officer limits.
Opened member accounts, data entry, answer phones, process of teller functions, assisted head teller in proving of vault, teller audits, etc. Management was mainly via email conversation due to larger credit union staff, however, always helpful with any type of problem which the branch – more... encountered. I enjoyed working with my staff, always a team member. Hardest part of the job was leaving to move to another area and most enjoyable part of the job was the ability to help members reach their goals of obtaining credit approval and the knowledge of how to control financial situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Equity Loan Processor (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: have lots of potluck and birthday celebration
A typical work day will be co-worker working hard but also joking around with each other. I learned its okay to work hard but also have a good time at work with co-workers. My co-workers were fun and all got along doing after work activities and knew each other. There is no hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable part of the job is getting along – more... with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Guam U.SJuly 23, 2013
I enjoyed meeting people everyday. I loved my job as a teller.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, very stable, good enviroment
Bilingual First Mortgage Service Rep (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMay 13, 2013
A great place to work, the people are great and everyone helps each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Member Services Representive (Former Employee), Eugene, ORMay 11, 2013
Pros: pay, co-workers
Cons: management and trainers!
They say you get paid 12.41 an hour but its really 12.40 per hour. It is still decent pay but with dealing with some of the awful managers especially the main trainer, if you don't brown nose then you will not succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cronyism
Anonymous (Current Employee), AnonymousMarch 25, 2013
Pros: health/medical
Cons: cronyism
Let me first start off by saying that there are goo things about the company if you are not looking for any advancements whatsoever.

If you are an internal employee looking for advancement it is almost impossible to get into any management position and that's across the board. It makes it especially much harder if you are a minority looking for a move – more... up or advancement. I say this through experience; I attained my degree and had been working in this dept for over 5 years and a promotion came up and I was looked over. I am not griping but if you hire someone that hasnt worked in the banking industry whatsoever then yes I'll raise the flag. It was alarming to me and so I subtley asked around and my hunch was right. This isn't a joke to some people as they are working their behinds to get that promotion and doing everything they can possbily do and all they ask for is the same consideration as their counterparts regardless of color. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Ole Boys Club/ No growth if you are not favored or White
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Pentagon and Ft. MyerMarch 14, 2013
Pros: structured and organized
Cons: no growth, good ole boys club, caters to white members and staff
If you are Asian, Hispanic and Black do not count on getting beyond a Member Service Representative. I have seen Whites come into the company as tellers and PFCU has always found a reason to move them to work in HR or someother department....this happend five or six times within the five years I worked for PFCU. This company operates under the good – more... ole boys club. They have hired two people who had no credit union experience what so ever. They hired a Car salesman who they brought in as a Branch Manager and later promoted to a V.P. He was dumber then a box of rocks but he was a friend of a V.P. and number two they hired a Marketing asst who was also a friends of a V.P.'s daughter she was hired as a branch mgr as well and could not grasp alot of the functions we all had to train her. The company is ok to work for but again don't count on much advancement especially if you are a minority. PFCU is well strutured and organized however – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job. Ever.
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Eugene, ORDecember 15, 2012
Pros: decent hourly wage
Cons: terrible corporate culture, bad employee morale, high turnover
There is a reason PenFed has a high turnover rate and it is simple: the job sucks.

Sure the pay is a bit higher than most call centers but a decent hourly wage doesn't make up for low morale, sub-par technology and a corporate culture of favoritism.

There are no tangible means for upwards mobility at PenFed, although the upper management will say – more... "if you work hard, someone will notice." Sadly if you work hard your working for a pat on the back, not a promotion. Basically it's a job you do just for a paycheck and for me that makes PenFed fall into the "worst job ever" category. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Means to an end.
Anonymous (Former Employee), AnonymousNovember 27, 2012
Pros: colleagues
Cons: see above
If you think this company will further your career , you are absolutely mistaken. There is little to no internal advancement which is an issue. Little work/life balance - you only get two paid working holidays a year , TWO paid working holidays. Pay is extremely low poverty level low - do not be fooled with the per hr number as you only get paid 75hrs – more... and not the regular 80hrs. high 20's salary for a customer service rep. Ask a lot of questions and don't be fooled with the initial offers - further probe and ask questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Branch Member Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee), Alexandria, VANovember 16, 2012
its a nice place to work at. the managers can be bit bossy. the head tellers are very lenient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Loan Specialist (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAAugust 13, 2012
Pros: free lunches
A great place to work good family values. I work there for almost 9 years, I really like working there. Coworkers were really nice. I learned alot and got promoted a few times