Find companies:
People's United Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

People's United Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not something I would consider again
Lead Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Bangor, MESeptember 17, 2013
Pros: great co workers and customers
Cons: no room for advancement, managers could not do their job
Typical day would be assisting customers with deposits, new accounts, loans and mortgages as well as coaching staff to sell, sell, sell.
I learned that even though I may have been told I would go higher it would never happen. I was made many promises and nothing ever came of it, In my last few years there management did not do their job and it made – more... more work for me. It also created tension in the branch but no one would listen to or fix the issues. Co workers were great - they put up with so many changes and issues but still continued to wait on their customers with a smile on their face.
Hardest part of my job was not having any help in my duties and still having to help others with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), MAAugust 28, 2013
It's a good bank. Management is always encouraging employee development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment.
CDD\EDD Compliance Analyst (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTAugust 27, 2013
Pros: flexible, volunteer opportunities
A typical day will include reviewing 200-400 new accounts to insure the branches are following bank policy\procedures. Some days we also reviews high risk business accounts to determine if the business would be a risk to the bank before the account is opened. My co-workers are a fun group of individuals, we keep each entertained with laughter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A driven, innovative Customer Service Manager
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Medford, N.YAugust 24, 2013
Cons: non competitive salary
10 Hour work day, seven day work week. Last of standing. The environment is very streesful being that it is very short staffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Bank to Work For
Customer Relations Manager (Current Employee), MassachusettsJuly 2, 2013
This institution exemplifies customer service and treats every customer like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job
Merchant Services Account Specialist (Former Employee), Rutland, VTJune 14, 2013
Pros: challenging and busy
Cons: negative work environment
My job consisted of taking and making phone calls. I did some data entry, financial research and supporting businesses. I learned a lot about the behind the scenes information of credit card processing.

The hardest part of the job was the lack of consistency. The rules were constantly changing and didn't apply to everybody equally.

I loved working – more... with the customers and putting smiles on peoples' faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enriching workload with great individuals
Portfolio Manager- Commercial Real Estate (Current Employee), Stamford, CTMay 21, 2013
Review several loans based on compliance metrics and create annual or quarterly reviews. Learned about banking procedures and real estate lending transactions. Co-workers are a fun and knowledgeable. Hardest part of the job is preparing loan documents for internal or external audit at a moments notice. The most enjoyable part is the management of a – more... variety of real estate transactions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment
Financial Service Manager, AVP (Current Employee), ConnecticutMay 14, 2013
Everyday is filled with something new! No day is the same from the other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about Financial Services
Financial Service Associate (Former Employee), Hamden, CTMay 9, 2013
PUB is one of the strongest banks in the northeast. It's people are very knowledgeable on the best practices of Banking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Manager (Former Employee), ConnecticutApril 25, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: compensation, upper management, benefits
People's is an organization that could care less about most of their employees. Upper management only favors those who go above and beyond to get their sales goals, by the way they are unrealistic; even if that means you have to be unethical. The unethical ones are the ones that get praised, raises and are on the promotion platform. If you care about – more... your customers is not enough, you must be a SALES MACHINE. Upper management do not care about you or your family, nor work quality. You get paid to work 40hrs a week and they make you work 50+hrs a week, without paying you extra. This company is the worst place to work for. Then they wonder why they have so much turnover in branch manager and employees! In this place is who you know and not what type of employee you are. Good luck if you want to work here, unless you want to live a stressful life, where they treat you horrible and don't appreciate their employees! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I planned to retire from there
Customer Service (Former Employee), Dover, NHApril 5, 2013
Pros: loved the customers
Cons: they don't care - you are replaceable
You give them your life 10+ years great reviews have a couple of bad days and your gone - they don't care you are replaceable - oh make sure you cross sell
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The # of job openings=turnover. Just look at how long some jobs have been posted (and # of times the same job has been posted)
Would rather not share. (Former Employee), VermontMarch 31, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, learning & development
Cons: laughable pay scale, everyone is replaceable=no job security, training offered, but it's a joke- you can never go because you are usually short staffed
Worked for them for quite some time. Horrible management- ridiculous pay.
I worked for a successful department. What I saw over the years- they truly do not care about their employees. Everyone is replaceable (even the HR manager would tell branch managers that.)
They burn people out- and do not care, because they can be replaced. It sounds cliché, – more... but I guarantee you can even ask current employees and they would tell you the same (but may not out of fear of HR.) Example: Wilmington FSM job. They've been posting that since last August! Cannot fill it- people know what People's is like to their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Customer Service Associate and Banking Operations (Former Employee), Manhasset, NYMarch 7, 2013
Pros: good stability/benefits
Cons: lack of oppertunities/pay rate/poor working enviroment
A typical day at work was providing our customers with excellent customer service and welcoming atmosphere. I've gained a great amount of experience working at People's United Bank, especially when it came to reaching our quarterly goals. The hardest part of the job was being able to convince our customers to invest money to our products that we offered, – more... such as: Money market accounts, Home equity line of credits, mortgages, Cd's and etc.
Most enjoyable part of the job, being able to meet different customers each and everyday, and having our district meetings with our co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Senior Financial Customer Associate (Former Employee), Hicksville, NYMarch 4, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours
My typical day at work start out by planing out , How I would achieve my goals for the quarter. Make calls to generate business, keep a book of business, prospect in the aisle. Do transactions thru the day and make sure that I was am giving the best customer service that I can. cross sell and always asking for referrals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A buyer beware situation
Lead Customer Service Associate/Senior Adjuster (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: little room for growth, poor management, decline in benefits package
What was once an enjoyable place to work all around has become a hit or miss experience. The management team you have at this company can make or break your career. Most managers in the retail side of banking are constantly pushing sales goals. Managers on the corporate side are stretching employees too thin and then giving repremands for simple human – more... mistakes. Employees are so busy that time to learn and grow within the company is nonexistent. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with. Benefits are steadily declining. I recommend passing on making a career with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviornment
Bank Temp (Current Employee), Keene, NHFebruary 22, 2013
A nice place to work. Co-workers are friendly. The job is a little repetitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Financial Service Associate (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits and good work and personal life balance
It is a great place to learn, management is engage, co-workers are very cool to work with, the hardest part of the jobs is to maintain sales goals, and the most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction with customer and the learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy
SR Financial Service Associate (Current Employee), Norwalk,CTFebruary 16, 2013
I love Working for Peoples United Bank, especially my branch, its busy I interact with a lot of customers that always results in cross-selling, sales, booking the sales (business), close the business. The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with my customers, helping them and exceeds their expectations, I love my co-workers, we are a big family, – more... great team, we motivate each other for better results, and the hardest part for me will be when the branch is slow and not be able to achieve my daily goals. I have learned a lot throughout the years, I have been more motivated, more driven ambitious and more positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the company you think they are, and not the job you think it is...
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Fairfield, CTJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: good co-workers, somewhat flexible schedule.
Cons: poor management, poor communication, sneaky, terrible pay.
I am a CSA and let me start off by saying that when you interview for this job they will explain (if at all) that this job has LIGHT sales. They do not mention anything about sales goals, sales meetings, sales activities, or anything like that. They are sneaky right off the bat. First, after you get hired, you have to attend orientation for about 1 – more... 1/2 weeks, give or take a few days. On the first day of orientation they make you watch this video filled with employee's stating what an "amazing" and "great" company People's United Bank is to work for. I would love to know where these employees are working, because it's no branch that I've been in. Anyways, so you go through your training and not once do they ever mention one word about sales or sales goals. After you complete training you then go to your branch that you were hired at and they give you about 1 or 2 days before you are by yourself. Still, nothing mentioned about sales goals. After about a month or so, you will get called into your manager or sales manager's office and then that's where the real fun begins. They will give you these goals that you absolutely need to meet. Which are checking accounts, business accounts, LTI (long-term investments), life insurance or business services. When I first got all of these goals thrown in my face I had no idea what to say, because personally, I can't stand sales and I said to myself "wow, if they would've just explained to me that I was basically hired to be a sales person I would've never taken the job". But of course they keep that from you in the hopes that they will be able to intimidate you into being a sales person. If customer's already have a checking account your manager will suggest for you to ask them to open up a 2nd checking account. why? why would you really need a 2nd checking account? oh yes! to meet our branch goals. not for the benefit of the customer (even though they will make up little dumb reasons to try and make you think you are helping the customer when you're really just making a sale). One quarter it was very slow so we did not meet our impossible sales goals, so our manager decided to give the branch a nice gift and wrote everybody up for not meeting our goals. How sad is that? This company will literally do anything they can to get one measly $25 checking account. They constantly say 'we need to pick up the pace." I mean, what? Pick up the pace? You can't force people to open up accounts. Then, depending on your branch, you will have meetings every single Monday to talk about sales. If you have not met your sales goals for the week they will most definitely call you out in front of all the other managers and all of the co-workers to embarrass you, and trust me, it's not a good feeling to be put on the spot and basically laughed at. At the end of the year, after you go through all of this hell, you end up "maybe" getting a $100 bonus. Is it really worth all of the stress and corporate immorality? No, it's not. The managers will ALWAYS find a way to blame the poor sales results on the employee no matter what. Aside from sales, there is a CSM (customer-service-manager) this person is usually in charge of several branches and decides how we treat the customers. Their newest rule is that we cannot say "NO PROBLEM" to the customer. Am I joking? No. Branches literally have over 7 signs all over the break-room and inside doors that say "NO PROBLEM" with an "X" through it. How degrading is that? It's childish and absurd. The managers are also notorious for only acting like managers when the "higher-ups" visit the branch. This company is really not what they seem, they will do anything possible to brainwash you into thinking that you are doing right by the customer, when in reality all they care about is meeting their goals, no matter what the cost is. They also claim that you can move up in this bank and that anything is possible, yeah that's true, if you have 45 years to waste to move up 3 positions. – less

– January 26, 2013

I agree with you about companies only caring about their sales goals and not really caring about the customer's welfare...it is like that in many companies. My interview with Peoples' was absurd and it was obvious from the start that I was dealing with someone who knew, or did not want to reveal, anything about the job. Huge waste of my time...

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think it depends on the branch and managers
Senior Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Westport, CTDecember 31, 2012
Pros: anything better than nothing
Cons: poor management and hr. low pay. tuition is after one year of working, its about one class expense for the whole year, and they include it in your income so you will be taxed on it.
typical day at work: Managers attitude and deal with their mood at that day. I have learned good things but you reach a point that they dont allow you more.Poor management. HR against you, so dont ever call them. Co workers are nice, but managers put every worker to watch the other one in return they promise for promotion which they will never get.

About People's United Bank

People's United Financial is the holding company for People's United Bank (formerly People's Bank), which was founded in 1842. – Read more

People's United Bank Photos