Find companies:
Pep Boys Auto
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
406 reviews

Pep Boys Auto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No pay advancement or advancement period
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 9, 2014
Cons: no money no advancement
The pay is low, and there is no opportunity for advancement, management has a high turnover rate by far the worst employment experience, the only thing I got from this job was parts knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Pep Boys (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 31, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: compensation
Work on cars clean up when there is no vehciles in the shop
learned how to use new equipment
coworkers helpful half the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help customers
Mechanic, installer (Former Employee), Reseda, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: no
prepare to help customers, clean an stock store. help other co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me a job with dependable hours when I was in need of a position when I moved to Florida.
Sales Advisor and Mechanic (Former Employee), Panama City, FLJuly 28, 2014
Good place to work. Steady employment and the supervisors would work with me on hours. Management was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN JOB
Automotive Parts Consultant (Former Employee), Murray, UTJuly 24, 2014
LOTS OF PEOPLE LITTLE HELP BUT OVERALL A GOOD PLACE TO WORK AT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected at all
Automotive Technician (Current Employee), Lake Worth, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: management buys lunch often
Cons: pay
management is very dysfunctional, hardest part is working so hard and when its time to get your paycheck and it looks nothing like it should. The most enjoyable part is my co- workers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Write
Service Writer (Former Employee), Panama City FlaJuly 22, 2014
Pros: customer service training
Cons: pay, benefits
Not to bad a job as a service writer. You can learn customer service and learn about cars and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work
Cashier and sales floor (Former Employee), Trujillo Alto, PRJuly 18, 2014
Pep Boys was a good place for work. The work is hard but the compensations and benefits ar good. The co-workers treat you so good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting the customers and managing employees
General Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits, vacation pay
Cons: high turnaround of upper management, no room for advancement
One of the most enjoyable retail experiences overall.I learned all the aspects of the business as far as what is customer service and how to deliver it.How to manage your PN&L and to properly coach your employees in order to attain that goal of being the best.The only negative is that there is no room for advancement, for the District Managers will – more... just never retire in order to be considered for that position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Assistant Commercial Manager (Former Employee), Escondido, CAJuly 15, 2014
A typical day at work. A typical day at work. A typical day at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress/low support from leadership
Service Manager (Former Employee), Chicago ILJuly 12, 2014
Pros: uniform, takes an extreme act to lose job
Cons: no opportunity for advancement and leadership doesn't keep promises
You're held accountable to achieve results without the tools and resources required. Leadership doesn't work with store level management to ensure units are successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro manage, use job security to motivate
Store Manager (Current Employee), la, caJuly 11, 2014
Pros: close to hiome
Cons: expensive healthcare, long hours, dont care about you
Put 1000 lbs of work on you and you never feel safe with your position.You can work super hard and have on ebad day in sales and they are all over you. Work LOOOONg hours, except a the end of the each quarter where they need to show a profit for their share holders and cut the hours so you are extreamly short handed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
order selector (Former Employee), mesquite, txJuly 9, 2014
enjoyed the workin environment, and the management team were very professional and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad... I have worked for worse and better.
Service writer (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 6, 2014
Pros: locations
Cons: lack of pay, lack of longevity and recognition. lack of benefits package.
Not much to say here except, they have been around for a long time. They are finally starting to get the face lift they much needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the family
Driver (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 3, 2014
Pros: being in mangement
Cons: short breaks
I enjoyed my job as a assistant manager. The company was very reliable and did a great job at what we do. Our clients were very respectful and they enjoyed working with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A alot of postive energy
Service Advisor (Former Employee), Sunnyside, NYJuly 2, 2014
-A typical day at work is always busy.
-I learned a lot about cars, great customer service and maintenance.
-Overall management was great.
-My co-workers were all friendly and made working their a pleasure.
-The hardest part of the job is trying to lift a heavy car part or someone putting an item in the wrong place and not being able to find the part.
-The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things about car, meeting new people, interacting with individuals and helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place.
General Service Tech (Former Employee), Greensburg, PAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: good benefits, hours
The company itself was a good place to work at; definitely do not regret working there. Cars will come in and whoever is there will do it and get paid for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like working for this company.
Tire Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 30, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no medical benefits
I enjoyed working for this company but I got a better job with more money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General service tech
Lube Technician (Former Employee), lakealand, FLJune 29, 2014
I preformed oil changes and tires. I did multi point inspections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJune 23, 2014
Normally I just clean and maintain the store while handling the customers, no one day at Pepboys is ever the same as another. I learned how to have patience. The management is okay, a little unorganized but okay. I love my co-worker, they keep the day lively. The hardest part is the customers simply because some of them are absolutely terrible but the – more... most enjoyable is that theres always something new going on. – less

About Pep Boys Auto

An automotive paradise for do-it-yourselfers, The Pep Boys - Manny, Moe & Jack hears the cries of "Do it for me!", too. The company sells – Read more

Pep Boys Auto Photos