Pepper Construction Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activities for interns. Meetings are very useful
Safety Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 24, 2016
I learned how to compile data from written surveys to ensure that safety requirements were updated. Attended inspections along side an assistant often.
Pros
Intern outings
Cons
Schedule changes often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Barrington, ILMarch 16, 2016
Great Company to work for This organization has been a real surprise for me. This is an organization that truly values it's employees and goes out of it's way to tell them how important they are to the organization. The pay and benefits are very good and the work environment is outstanding. It is rare in this day and age to still find an organization that functions this well and actually treats their employees as their most important asset
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Concrete Foreman (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 9, 2015
working for the state of florida or different counties met with good inspectors and sub contractors work was fast paced but able to have a good time with co-workers and still get the work done learned a lot about other phases of the job not just concrete the hardest was finding men willing to work in this fast pace job
Pros
paid vacation and holidays insurance
Cons
construction workers dying breed
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hire you and than let you go. No chance for growth. All politics
Laborer (Former Employee) –  ChicagoJuly 9, 2015
Company never answers calls. Left out in the dark wondering if your needed. A lot of politics have to watch your back.Short breaks. Treat employees like non union. Work twice as hard as sub contractors. Everything done wrong. Especially in the demo department. No leader ship.
Pros
Union shop
Cons
Short breaks. No lunch. Seem like non union.
Was this review helpful?Yes37No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and family environment
Senior Project Accountant/Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Barrington, ILNovember 4, 2013
Family oriented company with a 2 mile commute. Proper training and growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes34No28Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company and people to work for
Carpenter/Foreman (Former Employee) –  chicago land areaOctober 7, 2013
a company that gives you the tools and chance to grow in your field with great help and great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, great work environment
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Benton Harbor, MISeptember 17, 2013
a typical day at work was noisy and very fast paced. somewhat dusty and cold. I learned to work with others and patience among everything. Management was likable and put trust in me to carry out his/their wishes. the hardest part of the job was the long work week and long work days. the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the project that started off as a thought materialize and know that I had a part in i's production.
Pros
Great Benefits, Great Pay
Cons
No family time
Was this review helpful?Yes26No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality company with huge emphasis on safety
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2013
Job sites environments are professional, organized, and safe.
Pros
clean and safe work environment
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes36No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe company to work for
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Barrington, ILNovember 4, 2012
best cnstruction company to work for,very family friendly
Pros
keeping employees working
Was this review helpful?Yes21No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Experience
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2012
I am very fortunate to have served my apprenticeship and most of my career for a quality-demanding contractor. I have also seen the quality sacrificed for speed's sake.
Pros
strong union shop
Cons
nepotism runs rampant. despite effort and sacrifice, steady work only goes to family and clique members.
Was this review helpful?Yes39No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work enviroment. ability to learn, as well as develop new skills
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2012
Pepper's work day day starts out with a meeting to discuss the productivity we needed to achieve. Everybody gets their daily duties to perform. I learned how to be more productive, how not to get injured on a work site, as well as at home. Co-workers were very friendly and helpful with any questions i needed answering. the hardest part of the job was running up and the stairs before the elevator was put in. That goal was quick accomplished after a week. The best part of the job was learning new skills, and the sense of accomplishment.
Pros
learning experience
Cons
some days were short.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No12Report

See more Pepper Construction reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pepper Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Pepper Construction Reviews by Location